Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question
Solved

Case fan opinions needed before I buy

Last response: in Systems
Share
March 24, 2013 2:46:05 PM

I need to know if there are any better red LED fans out there than the ones I've chosen before I decide to buy them. I'm looking for fans to go in the top of the case which I believe is 200mm. Here is my build just for reference

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.5GHz Quad-Core Processor ($229.99 @ Microcenter)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($29.99 @ NCIX US)
Thermal Compound: Arctic Cooling MX-2 4g Thermal Paste ($4.98 @ Outlet PC)
Motherboard: MSI Z77 MPOWER ATX LGA1155 Motherboard ($179.99 @ Newegg)
Memory: G.Skill Sniper Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-1866 Memory ($111.01 @ NCIX US)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 3TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($129.99 @ NCIX US)
Storage: OCZ Vertex 4 128GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($112.50 @ Newegg)
Video Card: Gigabyte Radeon HD 7970 3GB Video Card ($389.99 @ NCIX US)
Sound Card: Creative Labs Z PCIe 24-bit 96 KHz Sound Card ($89.99 @ Newegg)
Case: Cooler Master Storm Enforcer ATX Mid Tower Case ($79.99 @ Newegg)
Case Fan: Apevia CF4SL-URED 25.6 CFM 80mm Fan ($5.79 @ Newegg)
Case Fan: Apevia CF4SL-URED 25.6 CFM 80mm Fan ($5.79 @ Newegg)
Power Supply: Corsair Professional 850W 80 PLUS Silver Certified ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply ($156.98 @ Newegg)
Optical Drive: Lite-On IHBS312-98 Blu-Ray/DVD/CD Writer ($89.97 @ Outlet PC)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 8 Professional Full (64-bit) ($139.99 @ Newegg)
Monitor: Asus VH238H 23.0" Monitor ($157.58 @ Newegg)
Mouse: Cooler Master CM Storm Sentinel Advance II Wired Laser Mouse ($39.99 @ NCIX US)
Total: $1954.51
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2013-03-24 17:43 EDT-0400)
March 30, 2013 1:32:35 PM

Where are the 80mm fans going? If it's for the back, a 120mm would push more air, while being quieter. These Enermax fans are fantastic, quiet, push a lot of air and best of all they look sweet (just check out a review on YouTube): http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

For 200mm red LEDs the Cooler Master Megaflow is the best out there. I think there's on already in the front of the case, so you just need one for the top: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168... I have 2 in my 650D. The look nice, are quiet and seem to push a fair amount of air. You can get any idea of how they look when installed if you have a peep at my build log (in sig).

All the best,

M
m
0
l
March 30, 2013 2:04:29 PM

marshallbradley said:
Where are the 80mm fans going? If it's for the back, a 120mm would push more air, while being quieter. These Enermax fans are fantastic, quiet, push a lot of air and best of all they look sweet (just check out a review on YouTube): http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

For 200mm red LEDs the Cooler Master Megaflow is the best out there. I think there's on already in the front of the case, so you just need one for the top: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168... I have 2 in my 650D. The look nice, are quiet and seem to push a fair amount of air. You can get any idea of how they look when installed if you have a peep at my build log (in sig).

All the best,

M


Yeah it'll be for the top of the case, I have been suggested the SickleFlow as well. I also have a question, I heard some people say that in a space for a 200mm fan you can put two 120mm fans? How would that work?
m
0
l
Related resources
a b B Homebuilt system
March 30, 2013 2:14:01 PM

Please read the forum rules , Bumping is not allowed.
m
0
l
March 30, 2013 2:16:31 PM

inzone said:
Please read the forum rules , Bumping is not allowed.

Oh okay sorry, so would I just make another thread then?
m
0
l

Best solution

March 30, 2013 2:22:49 PM

Have a look at this picture of the top mounting slot:



As you can see there are outer mounting holes (if you want a 200mm) or the inner ones towards the middle of the mesh, if you want 2 side by side 120mms. Personally I'd recommend going with just one 200mm. Since it has a larger surface area, it can blow more air well running at a lower RPM, which results in both lower noise and better temperatures in most cases.

The SickleFlows (which I have heard being called SicklyFlows) are to my knowledge not the highest quality of fan, the tend to be quite weak at pushing air and noisy at the same time. I'd recommend going with a MegaFlow for the top 200mm, and an Enermax for the back 120mm, but it's your call.

M
Share
a b B Homebuilt system
March 30, 2013 2:37:01 PM

Shatto said:inzone said:p lease read the forum rules , Bumping is not allowed.
Oh okay sorry, so would I just make another thread then?


What you do is if nobody is answering your thread you let it go to the second page because it takes about a week depending on how popular the section is and after two weeks if still no replies alert the Moderators that you want to close the thread and we will do so. Then you can make a new thread and maybe change it up a bit or give it a new title to attract an answer. Some times a thread will just not get an answer and if everybody were bumping their threads then we would have a chaotic forum.
m
0
l
a b B Homebuilt system
March 30, 2013 2:45:03 PM

I have the CM HAF-X and that case came with 2x 200mm fan and a 230mm fan and I have to agree with marshallbradley in that the 200mm CM fan is very quiet, you don't know it's even on and it pushes a lot of air. I would go with the one 200mm fan in the top of your case.
m
0
l
March 30, 2013 2:45:46 PM

marshallbradley said:
Have a look at this picture of the top mounting slot:



As you can see there are outer mounting holes (if you want a 200mm) or the inner ones towards the middle of the mesh, if you want 2 side by side 120mms. Personally I'd recommend going with just one 200mm. Since it has a larger surface area, it can blow more air well running at a lower RPM, which results in both lower noise and better temperatures in most cases.

The SickleFlows (which I have heard being called SicklyFlows) are to my knowledge not the highest quality of fan, the tend to be quite weak at pushing air and noisy at the same time. I'd recommend going with a MegaFlow for the top 200mm, and an Enermax for the back 120mm, but it's your call.

M


Sounds good thank you :) 

@Inzone Okay I'll remember that for next time thank you
m
0
l
!