Sign in with
Your question
Solved

HD 5770 Crossfire with Cooler Master 520w power supply

Last response: in Components
March 29, 2013 9:51:24 AM

Hi!

The short story. I have a Cooler Master Real Power M520 power supply.

My current config:

Mobo: AsRock Z75 Pro3
CPU: Intel Core i5 3570k (not overclocked, but I'm asking your opinion what would happen if I go for about 4Ghz)
VGA: Sapphire Radeon HD 5770 Vapor-X
RAM: 2x4GB Corsair DDR3
HDD: 1 Sata
SSD: 1
DVD: 1
Stock coolers
USB powered gaming kayboard, mouse and headset, XBox 360 controller reciever.

The main question is that would I be able to install another HD 5770 and run fine with the 520w power supply. Based on this website (http://www.extreme.outervision.com/PSUEngine) I need a 400w PSU. The CM's website says this PSU can give 600W at top, 520w continously.

Thanks the answers in advance!

Best solution

a c 1203 ) Power supply
a b À AMD
March 29, 2013 10:33:24 AM

For a system using two Radeon HD 5770 graphics cards in 2-way CrossFireX mode AMD specifies a minimum of an 600 Watt or greater system power supply. The power supply should also have a maximum combined +12 Volt continuous current rating of 32 Amps or greater and have at least two 6-pin PCI Express supplementary power connectors.

Total Power Supply Wattage is NOT the crucial factor in power supply selection!!! Sufficient Total Combined Continuous Power/Current Available on the +12V Rail(s) rated at 45°C - 50°C ambient temperature, is the most critical factor.

Overclocking of the CPU and/or GPU(s) will require an additional increase to the maximum combined +12 Volt continuous current ratings, recommended above, to meet the increase in power required for the overclock. The additional amount required will depend on the magnitude of the overclock being attempted.