Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question

Opinion about first Water Cooling unit - Page 3

Last response: in Overclocking
Share
April 18, 2013 10:31:12 AM

That's currently out of stock but I registered to be notified when it's available :)  hope it's getting restocked within few weeks.

Optionally I see it's in stock at Jimm's!
m
0
l
April 22, 2013 3:13:59 AM

Got the paycheck now so I will be ordering parts today. I was thinking if I should change to Intel now (LGA1155 with i5) or wait that the new LGA1150 sockets come out? Would probably save some money if I would wait. Though I have no idea how much the new Haswell processors will cost. If they're more like LGA2011 then I think I'll pass. 300 euros is the most I'm willing to pay for processor.
m
0
l
Related resources
a c 176 K Overclocking
April 22, 2013 3:34:45 AM

Look at the prices Sandy and Ivy bridge was at release, should be the same thing with Haswell.
Though really, would just get an FX-8350. Saves you buying a new mobo and its a fairly decent performance upgrade from your Phenom II.

Or if your set on Intel, would wait until you can assure compatibility with your water block.
m
0
l
April 22, 2013 7:16:09 AM

It seems like that. Cpubenchmark.net shows that it would more than double the performance from my Phenom II X4. And like you said, would save me a new motherboard.

I just read news that the Haswell-E will be released in Q4 2014 so I have plenty of time still with AMD. I actually haven't even payed attention to the newest AMD models lately.
m
0
l
a c 176 K Overclocking
April 22, 2013 7:23:41 AM

Haswell-E will take so long because were still waiting for Ivy Bridge-E .
Though the mainstream Haswell processors are releasing around this mid-year. Intel have already started shipping engineering sample CPU's to reviewers to start benching them, though the results wont be published until the embargo lifts, which is likely going to happen a week before the CPUs are actually available.

Funny thing about that actually, was watching a LinusTechTips live stream and he showed the i5-4670K (the 3570k of Haswell) he had received from Intel. Then lamented its completely useless as none of the motherboard guys would be sending out their LGA1150 boards for a couple of weeks :lol: 
m
0
l
April 22, 2013 7:30:10 AM

Yeah. Well on the other hand I haven't been really after the newest CPUs so I think I can upgrade to Intel on a later date. Just going to build this first water cooling unit around my AMD. I can still sell the Phenom II X4 for a good $80 price at least at online auction so the FX-8350 wouldn't feel like so big of an investment.

Hmm... I'm having hard time finding matching components (same developer). I'd like to go with only 1 or 2 brands only. I'm liking EK a lot, as well as XSPC and Alphacool. They have made every component I need but there's nothing in stock when I would need it :( 
m
0
l
April 22, 2013 8:40:14 AM

Just want your final opinion before ordering. Or more like an extra pair of (experienced) eyes to see if I forgot something.

Here's what I'll order from Jimm's:


^In order from top to down: Pump top, CPU waterblock, UNI holder for pump, 19/13mm compression fittings (x8 straight & x2 45 degree angle adapters), Corsair 650W power supply

Here's what I'll order from SpecialTech:


^I think that is all I need. Please tell me if I'm missing something. I can quickly order new stuff from Jimm's if I miss something but from SpecialTech it would be quite pain.

I was first going to add in the new processor (FX-8350) but it turned out that the water cooling parts and new PSU goes already to +500€ and that's quite maximum for me at the moment.

I added Mayhem Laser green dye what I will be using to color the distilled water.

I have some moddings in mind for the case in addition to those listed above (change the intake 230mm fan to LED as well, add a few LED stripes there etc.) but they will have to wait until I get the loop done.
m
0
l
April 22, 2013 9:12:06 AM

Noticed myself that I was missing the fan controller and the drain point.

Added:

- BitFenix Recon 5 Channel Fan and Temperature Controller £30
- Sealing Plug / Fill Port for 1/2" ID Tubing £3.40
- Bitspower 1/4" Thread T Fitting with 3 Female 1/4" Threads £9.30
- Additional 3 compression fittings for the filling point 15€

That sums the package at about 600€ now. It's feeling quite ridiculous since that's 50% of what I have paid for my whole computer so far :D  Well at least I can brag that I have 2000€ self-built computer with awesome moddings!

And I heard someone say "it's only money" :D 
Hope that is all and I didn't miss anything else.
m
0
l
April 23, 2013 6:16:43 AM

Quadruple post ftw! I ordered those parts in the evening yesterday. Hoping to receive them on Friday or Monday. I will start the build log probably during next week so stay tuned if interested :p 
m
0
l
a c 176 K Overclocking
April 23, 2013 6:21:40 AM

yay! :bounce: 
m
0
l
!