2004 PC died. New one on a budget

yorksir

Honorable
Apr 10, 2013
Hello everyone.

Since my mobo died on me, I need another pc. Going a budget route with the possibility of upgrading. Hoping to salvage some parts from my old pc. I am a complete noob to building pc's though so I am coming here 1st for advise.

Here is the list that I have come up with so far:

Approximate Purchase Date: ASAP! Not needed right away but would like to take care of this now while I have time (on vacation from work, 4 more days)

Budget Range: $300 - $325

Motherboard: Asus M5A78L-M/USB3 Micro ATX AM3+

Processor: AMD Athlon II X3 455 3.3GHz

Graphics card: Asus GeForce GT 630 2GB

Memory: Kingston Value 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3-1066

Storage: (salvaged) Western Digital 160GB WD1600AAJS
(salvaged) Seagate 80 GB ST3808110AS
Sandisk ReadyCache 32GB 2.5" SSD

Optical drive: (salvaged) LG DVD Burner

Power Supply: (salvaged) Kingwin ABT-5200MM

case: Fractal Design core 1000

The processor is AM3 while the mobo is AM3+ from what I understand AM3+ mobos are backward compatible with AM3 processors. May consider upgrading the processor at a later date. May consider upgrading the video card later too.

I am not planning to overclock at all, never have in the past either.

Call me stubborn but was looking to purchase a copy of windows xp. I know there are a lot of limitations such as the video card directx 11 not working but if directx 9 will work, thats fine with me.

Pretty much just looking to see if the build I put together will work or not.

yorksir

Honorable
Apr 10, 2013
Thanks for the suggestion. Did a quick search on google on "psu life" and the 1st couple pages basically stated average 7 years. So, yea. I will definately look into a power supply.

While we are on that topic though, the kingwin I am replacing was 520W that is probably overkill for this new build. I've used a couple of calculators online and it seems like a PSU of 350W would be fine. What do you think.

yorksir

Honorable