FX-8150 Water Cooling and Prime95

raginghobo32907

Honorable
Apr 22, 2013
I'm brand new to OC'ing processors and wanted to get some advice on stability and general knowledge about this processor's capabilities with the AMD-brand liquid cooling.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819106011

^this is what I have installed, along with:

ASRock 970 Extreme 3
G.Skill Ripjaws X series DDR3 1600 4 x 1Gb
Sapphire Radeon HD 7850 1Gb OC version
Kingston HyperX 3K 120Gb

The BIOS is fully updated to v1.7 and all drivers are up-to-date. I am running the processor at 20% OC (4.32 GHz) and had to manually set the RAM to DDR3-1599 and am getting temps no higher than 63*C. Games like Bioshock Infinite and Battlefield 3 run max with no issues...

However, when I run Prime95 (blend) I receive fatal errors (possible hardware failure!) on cores 4-7, while cores 0-3 run without a hitch. I realize that this isn't a "true octo-core," yet I don't believe I should be seeing these errors. Vcore runs between 1.10V-1.19V according to ASRock Extreme Tuning Utility (I'm sure this is slightly off).

As I said, I'm new to OC'ing and really don't want to mess up any expensive hardware, which is why these errors have me worried. Could I have not applied enough thermal compound, is there a BIOS setting I'm not seeing, or something else? Thank you for your replies in advance.

chrisafp07

Distinguished
Nov 27, 2012
You shouldnt be reaching 63c with that overclock. If Prime is not stable than your overclock is not stable, the max temp for your chip is 62c on the cores. I would go back and lower your voltages and start your overclock over, post here if you need any further help. Please read the overclocking stickies it is important to have a moderate idea of what you are doing so you dont destroy your precious hardware :) What were your temps on cores in Prime?

raginghobo32907

Honorable
Apr 22, 2013