Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question

Help reviewing/revising my $1000 gaming build before purchase

Last response: in Systems
Share
April 27, 2013 9:53:21 PM

Approximate Purchase Date: Monday, 4/29/13

Budget Range: Under $1000 Before Rebates; After Shipping

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, Fraps Video recording, creating and uploading Fraps videos, surfing the internet, watching movies

Are you buying a monitor: Not yet, buying a new one in the future.

Parts to Upgrade: Fresh new build.

Do you need to buy OS: No.

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: I've only used newegg.com in the past so that's my go to at the moment I suppose.

Location: USA, no viable local purchase for parts available.

Parts Preferences: A good part is a good part. ;) 

Overclocking: Definitely.

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe.

Your Monitor Resolution: I plan on buying a 1920x1080 monitor.

Additional Comments: No preference on looks, and noise isn't so much an issue as I have headphones on half the time or the volume up and listening to music. Specific software and games, Guild Wars 2 is the main game I've been playing, I also plan to run fraps video recording off and on at times and then create video clips out of game play, and frequently run voice communications while playing such as team speak 3 and ventrillo.

And Most Importantly, Why Are You Upgrading: Been using a 1500$ laptop for a few years now and just recently began to game on it and it is severely lacking haha, time to step it up.

This is what I have picked out for parts after reading and researching for a few weeks and although I feel confident it is a somewhat solid build staying under my max budget of $1000, I am having trouble making a decision on a few of the components due to lack of knowledge and such a massive selection of components to choose from.

$71.99 with promo code and $20 instant savings, $10 mail in rebateCorsair Carbide Series 300R Windowed Black ATX Mid Tower Case

$124.99 with $5 instant savings, $10 mail in rebateASUS P8Z77-V LX LGA 1155 Intel Z77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

$219.99 with $10 instant savingsIntel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz (3.8GHz Turbo) LGA 1155 77W Quad-Core Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 4000 BX80637I53570K

$34.99 with $3 instant saving, $5 mail in rebateCOOLER MASTER Hyper 212 EVO RR-212E-20PK-R2 Continuous Direct Contact 120mm Sleeve CPU Cooler Compatible with latest Intel ...

$7.99 with $4 instant savingsArctic Silver 5 High-Density Polysynthetic Silver Thermal Compound AS5-3.5G - OEM

$71.99 with promo codeCORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2133 Desktop Memory Model CMZ8GX3M2X2133C9R

$139.99 with $10 instant savingsSAMSUNG 840 Pro Series MZ-7PD128BW 2.5" 128GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

$179.99, $10 mail in rebateEVGA 02G-P4-3658-KR GeForce GTX 650 Ti BOOST SuperClocked 2GB 192-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 SLI Support Video Card ...

$19.99ASUS DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS Black SATA 24X DVD Burner - Bulk - OEM

$79.99, $10 mail in rebateCORSAIR CX600M 600W ATX12V v2.3 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply

Shipping $7.47

Grand total $959.37(slight wiggle room, extra fans? am I missing anything?)

I would greatly appreciate any constructive feedback on this build if you can think of a better component I can fit in and stay under my 1000$ ceiling great, see any conflicts or something that doesn't look like it would work well together let me know you wont hurt my feelings any, the only items I'm dead set on are the processor and getting an ssd, other than that I'm open to adjustments just please have some reasoning as to your suggestions not just a blind list of alternatives as I'm trying to learn as I move through this experience. Thanks in advance guys and gals. ;) 
April 27, 2013 9:58:09 PM

Looks like a good standard build. I would recommend getting an HDD (500GB-2TB) for storage so that your SSD is free for programs and programs only (the real point of having an SSD is its rediculously fast loading time).
m
0
l
April 27, 2013 10:06:23 PM

Kjwinden said:
Looks like a good standard build. I would recommend getting an HDD (500GB-2TB) for storage so that your SSD is free for programs and programs only (the real point of having an SSD is its rediculously fast loading time).


My plan is loading windows and programs and a couple games on it, I currently have a 2 TB networked storage drive that I think will be sufficient but if I run out of room I will definitely buy another HDD for this build in the future.
m
0
l
Related resources
April 27, 2013 10:09:30 PM

If thats the case then you are rocking and rolling. Though I'd try to squeeze a few bucks out of somewhere to get a better video card. Is there a microcenter near you?
m
0
l
April 27, 2013 10:15:49 PM

Unfortunately no, I checked after seeing there prices haha. Which card would you suggest trying to bump upto? Might be able to play with a couple other parts to make room for it, I had already wondered if the card I choose was enough for this build but selected based off its performance vs cost until I got close to my budget limit best I could.
m
0
l
April 27, 2013 10:41:50 PM

Slightly cheaper case:http://www.amazon.com/Cooler-Master-Elite-431-Plus/dp/B...

$30 savings

Equally good and slightly cheaper cooler:

http://www.amazon.com/Cooler-Master-Hyper-Plus-RR-B10-2...

$6 savings.

Cheaper and still good PSU:

http://www.amazon.com/Corsair-Builder-Watt-EPS%C2%A0-CX...

$15 savings.

SSD: Same product better deal, http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-Electronics-2-5-Inch-SATA...

$10 savings.

RAM thats not as good but will still serve to your purposes quite nicely:

http://www.amazon.com/Crucial-Ballistix-DDR3-1600-240-P...

$13 savings.

With these savings and your current budget brings you to about 284 you can spend on your GPU. With this new budget you could get this GPU:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
m
0
l
April 28, 2013 12:34:59 AM

Ok so based on your suggestions I've tweaked a bit to fit the upgraded graphics card ;)  only major difference is I did keep the power supply as it is modular which in my opinion is worth the extra for less hassle with cable routing especially since from what I can see in picture this other case has slightly lower quality for cable management.

New parts list

$124.99 with $5 instant savings, $10 mail in rebate: ASUS P8Z77-V LX LGA 1155 Intel Z77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

$219.99 with $10 instant savings: Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz (3.8GHz Turbo) LGA 1155 77W Quad-Core Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 4000 BX80637I53570K

$7.99 with $4 instant savings: Arctic Silver 5 High-Density Polysynthetic Silver Thermal Compound AS5-3.5G - OEM

$19.99: ASUS DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS Black SATA 24X DVD Burner - Bulk - OEM

$79.99, $10 mail in rebate: CORSAIR CX600M 600W ATX12V v2.3 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply

$289.99 with $20 instant savings, $20 mail in rebate: ASUS GTX660 TI-DC2O-2GD5 GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB 192-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card

$56.99: Crucial Ballistix Sport 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model BLS2KIT4G3D1609DS1S00

$29.99 with $5 instant savings, $10 mail in rebate: COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus RR-B10-212P-G1 "Heatpipe Direct Contact" Long Life Sleeve 120mm CPU Cooler Compatible with Intel ...

$129.99: Samsung Electronics 840 Pro Series 2.5-Inch 128 SATA_6_0_gb Solid State Drive MZ-7PD128BW

$39.99: Cooler Master Elite 431 Plus - Mid Tower Computer Case with USB 3.0 and X-Dock (RC-431P-KWN2)

Shipping From Newegg:$2.99
Shipping from Amazon:$0.00

Newegg total: $832.91
Amazon total: $169.98
Grand total: $1002.89!

So I broke my ceiling by a couple bucks but I'm ok with that at this point as I can split the purchase on 2 cards and only went over $3 and will be getting $50 back in rebates. Still set on making this purchase on monday so any helpful input from the community would be great, Kjwinden I thouroughly appreciate you taking a bit of time to help revise with me I think over all these changes will have my build seeing some improvement, especially with the beefier graphics as I hadn't even looked at anything higher end because I figured it was way out of my range on a budget.
m
0
l
April 28, 2013 12:45:55 AM

No complaints here!
m
0
l
!