Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question

GTX TITAN upgrade questions & opinions

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
Share
April 30, 2013 5:28:48 PM

So one of my 7970s is starting to give me problems, it keeps crashing and glitching etc etc.. it has never been able to overclock since i bought it, always crashed. but didnt really matter to me with crossfire i didnt need to overclock.
What really bugs me is my minimum fps of 50 in BF3!! I am pretty sure a single 680 never drops below 60!

Anyway I have been looking over as many reviews and benchmarks as I possibly can of the GTX TITAN and it seems to me that, despite having a lower average fps, it has a higher minimum fps than crossfire 7970s (in bf3) and WAY less frame variance. Both of which are very important to me. Of course all of the benches are single player... :/  But I have pretty much decided I am going to upgrade to the GTX TITAN, I MIGHT actually have enough $ for two of them, I've been pretty financially lucky lately.

So what my question is is does the GTX TITAN hold BF3 @ 60fps @ 1080p in 64player mulitplayer?
It is actually pretty common that the 7970s drop to 50, you can tell when they do, looking across Gulf or Canals or... well most of the maps. If ur in a high up spot the fps drops to 50. And since I am thinking about increasing resolution I want something powerful enough to not have a 50fps minimum at 'only' 1080p.

One more question, will my i7 3770K @ 4.5GHz bottleneck SLI GTX TITANS?
April 30, 2013 5:39:43 PM

iyzik said:
So one of my 7970s is starting to give me problems, it keeps crashing and glitching etc etc.. it has never been able to overclock since i bought it, always crashed. but didnt really matter to me with crossfire i didnt need to overclock.
What really bugs me is my minimum fps of 50 in BF3!! I am pretty sure a single 680 never drops below 60!

Anyway I have been looking over as many reviews and benchmarks as I possibly can of the GTX TITAN and it seems to me that, despite having a lower average fps, it has a higher minimum fps than crossfire 7970s (in bf3) and WAY less frame variance. Both of which are very important to me. Of course all of the benches are single player... :/  But I have pretty much decided I am going to upgrade to the GTX TITAN, I MIGHT actually have enough $ for two of them, I've been pretty financially lucky lately.

So what my question is is does the GTX TITAN hold BF3 @ 60fps @ 1080p in 64player mulitplayer?
It is actually pretty common that the 7970s drop to 50, you can tell when they do, looking across Gulf or Canals or... well most of the maps. If ur in a high up spot the fps drops to 50. And since I am thinking about increasing resolution I want something powerful enough to not have a 50fps minimum at 'only' 1080p.

One more question, will my i7 3770K @ 4.5GHz bottleneck SLI GTX TITANS?


I have two 7970s and even while playing at 2560x1600 my gameplay is never anything less than buttery smooth in BF3. If one of your 7970s is artifacting at stock settings, RMA it!
April 30, 2013 5:49:38 PM

BigMack70 said:
How the heck do you have a minimum fps of 50 in BF3 with CF 7970s? I never see sub-60fps framerates at 1440p maxed out in BF3 on my rig... I don't even usually see GPU usage go above 70% each on my GPUs. Weird.

Anyways, a single Titan should also keep you above 60fps at 1080p in BF3. SLI Titans is a waste of money at 1080p.


Yeah I don't really know, been trying to figure that out for months. I rarely see gpu usage over 50% except when shit really hits the fan it might pass 70%. When I get 50fps the cards are only at 40% load too...
Overclocking the cpu doesn't really make a difference and overclocking the video cards just causes it to crash.

p.s. no artifacting at stock settings, just the occasional crash in bf3
Related resources
April 30, 2013 6:12:45 PM

BigMack70 said:
iyzik said:
When I get 50fps the cards are only at 40% load too...

That indicates either a CPU bottleneck or a driver/game optimization problem.


Quote:
p.s. no artifacting at stock settings, just the occasional crash in bf3


If you think it is the fault of your hardware (and not software/drivers) that this is crashing, you should RMA/warranty your card.




Just did a little test, opened noshahr canals and just used the loadout screen that has a camera view across the map. here are results;

ONE 7970 overclocked to 1125/1575;
Fps: 50
Gpu load: 99% (100%)
Gpu temp: 52C
Cpu load: 32%
Cpu speed: 4523MHz
Cpu temp: 62C

Crossfire enabled, no overclock;
Fps: 52
Gpu1 load: 51%
Gpu2 load: 51%
Gpu1 temp: 52C
Gpu2 temp: 51C
Cpu load: 60%
Cpu speed: 4523MHz
Cpu temp: 67C


EDIT: the crashing is not what bothers me bc overclocking gives no performance increase as the cards are never at full load anyway. what bothers me is the minimum fps i get from these cards
April 30, 2013 6:19:22 PM

BigMack70 said:
That's really weird that your CPU load doubles while your GPU load and framerate stays about the same. I would honestly try a driver reinstall to either the 13.4 or 13.5 betas following these steps:
http://www.overclock.net/t/988215/how-to-properly-unins...

Then disable ULPS and try again.


Have tried this several times before. Have even done a clean install of windows. And ULPS is already disabled.

But I am currently using 13.1 so I will try this and report back in a few minutes.
April 30, 2013 6:40:53 PM

BigMack70 said:
Hm... yeah that's weird and unfortunately I'm not sure I can be too much more help on it :\

I mean you could always sell your 7970s and move to a Titan... it's still plenty of power for 1080p.


Yep getting the same thing with 13.5
50% load on the cards, 60% cpu, and low 50s fps

i am worried if i have some weird problem with the motherboard or cpu or psu or something that is causing this and i will get the same issue with the TITAN
April 30, 2013 7:09:50 PM

why dont u wait for the gtx 780? its almost comparable to the gtx titan at nearly half the cost. its coming out in like month
May 1, 2013 9:53:52 AM

Existenz214 said:
why dont u wait for the gtx 780? its almost comparable to the gtx titan at nearly half the cost. its coming out in like month


That's like what everyone said when someone posted a thread about wanting to but a GTX 680. "Just get a 670"

And answer is simply cause its not as powerful. Sure the TITAN is overpriced and not as good bang for buck. But it is more bang.
May 1, 2013 10:00:57 AM

Existenz214 said:
why dont u wait for the gtx 780? its almost comparable to the gtx titan at nearly half the cost. its coming out in like month


coming out in a month? do u have any sources? last I heard it was supposed to be Q1 2014
May 1, 2013 10:11:10 AM

gevo12321 said:
Existenz214 said:
why dont u wait for the gtx 780? its almost comparable to the gtx titan at nearly half the cost. its coming out in like month


coming out in a month? do u have any sources? last I heard it was supposed to be Q1 2014


http://videocardz.com/41002/nvidia-geforce-gtx-titan-le...

May 1, 2013 1:02:21 PM

iyzik said:
BigMack70 said:
Hm... yeah that's weird and unfortunately I'm not sure I can be too much more help on it :\

I mean you could always sell your 7970s and move to a Titan... it's still plenty of power for 1080p.


Yep getting the same thing with 13.5
50% load on the cards, 60% cpu, and low 50s fps

i am worried if i have some weird problem with the motherboard or cpu or psu or something that is causing this and i will get the same issue with the TITAN


The 13.5 betas are very buggy right now. I reverted to 13.4 WHQL
!