Solved

$400 system build vs buy?

Ok so my nephew asked me to build him a computer. His budget is only $400 firm.(he is 14 and has no job) He mostly will be using it for minecraft and games like Tropico/sim city, ect. He might try and play call of duty too.

I can get windows 8 for $70. So my budget is only really about $330. I've never built a computer this cheap before. I live near a microcenter.

What do you suggest? I don't care what parts as long as its not more than $330 with tax/shipping.

Instead of building I thought about even buying this pc:
http://www.microcenter.com/product/408364/H520s_Desktop_Computer

and putting in this video card:
http://www.amazon.com/Sapphire-Profile-PCI-Express-Graphics-11202-10-20G/dp/B0095MRLJ2/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1368326694&sr=8-4&keywords=low+profile+video+card

EDIT
Had to change video card because the case is low profile.
23 answers Last reply Best Answer
More about 400 system build buy
  1. It should work. At 1080p he will be able to play minecraft and games like sim city no problem. Mode graphically demanding games will run at low settings at 1080p but will work. Call of duty should be playable at medium settings or low depending on the resolution of the monitor.
  2. If you're really looking for dirt cheap, then buying the prebuilt is probably the best option, especially since he's not wanting to play hardcore games. Because of how cheap OEMs get their copies of windows, really low end prebuilds are actually better options.

EDIT: It's more than enough for 1366x768, and an overclocked A10 with fast ram would probably beat it, but it would also be more expensive.
  3. Thanks, I figured that would work ok. I should mention he is only going to play at 1366x768.
    This would be faster than an A10/A6 APU build right?