1500$Desktop Please point me in the right direction

Ollie Cottam

Honorable
May 13, 2013
Hey guys,
as you will obviously guess just from reading this thread I am new to this custom desktop building. Although I am new I would like to have a decent desktop, I have a 1500$ budget but I can add a few dollars here or there. I am abroad so all of my components are coming from amazon, so my budget includes shipping fees and such. I am aiming to have a heavy gaming desktop that can just survive anything I throw at it. Also I want this thing not to go out of date as soon as I get it.
Here is my build that I have selected.

So starting off with the case I have chosen a Cooler Master Haf-X full tower with side panel and usb 3.0 (I know people do disagree about the look of this case but I like it so the case for me probably won't change)

Next the CPU - I have chosen the Intel Core I5 3750k over the i7 3770k because I don't do a lot of editing or videos.

For the GPU I chose the 660ti Nvidia 3072MB

now the motherboard, for this I chose the Asus Sabertooth Z77 HDMI SATA 6GB/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel motherboard

For the RAM I chose Corsair Vengeance Blue 8 GB (2x4GB sticks) 1600 MHz with heat spreaders

For the CPU cooler I chose a Cooler Master 212 EVO, I didn't want to get in with liquid cooling because this is my first build and I would rather get my confidence up before I get a bit more fancy.

The PSU im using a Corsair 750w modular 80 plus Gold (AX750)

Im also buying 2 more 200mm fans from cooler master with red LEDs

For the storage Im using a 1tb Western Digital. I didn't go with a SSD because of the price but once I have everything up and running I will hopefully upgrade.

Im getting an Asus (PCE-N15) Wifi Adpater

And for the Optical Drive im getting a Desktop DVD writer for desktop SATA internal

Please give me some suggestions and advice, I need it and would appreciate it so much if you did, also could you tell me if everything was compatible with each other.