First pc $1200 ish

h3arts

Honorable
May 19, 2013
I'm going to build my own computer.. yay! I've never done it before and I need some help. I'm going to be going to school for film so I'll be editing, rendering and using visual effects etc. I'm also a hardcore gamer and want a pc to fit my needs for both. So far I think I picked out some nice parts but, it would cost approx. $2115 dollars lol. I want to spend maybe around $1200 or less maybe more idk.
These are the parts I have so far
--
cooler master haf x - full tower computer case blue
intel core i7-3770k
asus sabertooth z77 lga 1155 atx motherboard
evga geforce gtx670 2048mb
corsair dominator platinum 16gb (2x8gb) ddr3 1866mhz
wd velociraptor wd1000dhtz 1tb 3.5" sata hard drive
corsair force series gs red 480gb (6gb/s) sata 3 ssd
thermaltake toughpower grand 1050w tpg-1050m sli & crossfire x ready atx12v

Solution

Kingbob

Honorable
Apr 30, 2013
Here are two builds that I usually recommend for the $1,200 range. You can modify to fit your needs:

AMD: http://pcpartpicker.com/user/Kingbob/saved/1xZC

Intel:http://pcpartpicker.com/user/Kingbob/saved/1y4g
-id probably swap the 7950 for a 670

Note: the AMD build has a much better graphics card because the build allows it.
You can also get a better case, like the HAF 922 if you want to spend a little more (both builds are a little under so you do have some room).

This would be my suggestion, at that price range:

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor ($209.99 @ Amazon)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($29.98 @ Outlet PC)
Motherboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6 ATX LGA1155 Motherboard ($154.99 @ Newegg)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($67.19 @ Outlet PC)
Video Card: Sapphire Radeon HD 7970 GHz Edition 3GB Video Card ($433.98 @ SuperBiiz)
Case: NZXT Phantom 410 (Black) ATX Mid Tower Case ($69.99 @ Newegg)