2133 vs 1600 RAM + Cooling?

AIATimmyJ

Honorable
May 22, 2013
I am going to be building my first PC this summer and just trying to get some of the finer details together. The question is:

I wanted to know differences if any really major in 2133 vs 1600 for RAM. I hear the 2133 is faster but how much?

Also I plan on getting the I7 3770k or 4770k, not sure which exactly yet. But i do not plan to overclock that much, probably to around 4.0Ghz if I do. Don't really know if that is relevant but there it is.

Finally I am planning on getting fans for cooling, mainly because I am new to building a PC and don't want to deal with liquid really yet. Iv read that 2133 RAM gets hot? Will air cooling be good enough? I am looking into the Noctua NH-DH14.

Ultimately I would like to go get 16 GB of ram of 2133 with the Noctua NH-DH14 as my cooler will it work?

Intel has excellent RAM controller and caching. It is marginally faster above 1600MHz. You are better off not going that fast and letting your CPU run cooler and use the heat loading on the core speed which is much more important. I'd recommend a Noctua NH-C14 cooler. It blows the air down on the motherboard cooling your RAM and regulators. Get two 8GB RAM modules and make sure they have no heat spreaders (low profile) That way your CPU cooler can fit no problem.

What do you intend to do with that setup? If its gaming you can save quite a lot of a money by just grabbing 1600 without cooling and an i5 4570k. (1600mhz ram doesn't get hot enough to really need cooling, even heatsinks are more of a fashion statement than a required thing)

AIATimmyJ

Honorable
May 22, 2013

Ok thanks and It should fit, Im getting the nzxt phantom 820

Tradesman1

Legenda in Aeternum