<$3000 Gaming Computer Build Help

KarelC

Honorable
Jun 11, 2013
I'm new to the PC building world so I was wondering if everything is compatible. (I chose low profile ram for the large cooler).

Also if you have any ideas of if I should switch some parts out for others.

And if I were to do 2-way sli in the future, would I have to do water cooling?

Thanks in advance! :)

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i7-4770K 3.5GHz Quad-Core Processor ($349.99 @ Newegg Canada)
CPU Cooler: Phanteks PH-TC14PE_BL 78.1 CFM CPU Cooler ($89.99 @ Canada Computers)
Motherboard: Asus Z87-DELUXE ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($283.38 @ DirectCanada)
Memory: Corsair Vengeance LP 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3-2133 Memory ($164.99 @ Amazon Canada)
Storage: Samsung 840 Pro Series 256GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($244.99 @ NCIX)
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($64.99 @ Newegg Canada)
Video Card: Asus GeForce GTX 780 3GB Video Card ($644.80 @ DirectCanada)
Case: Cooler Master HAF X ATX Full Tower Case ($161.50 @ Vuugo)
Power Supply: Corsair Professional 850W 80 PLUS Silver Certified ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply ($129.88 @ Canada Computers)
Optical Drive: LG UH12NS29 Blu-Ray Reader, DVD/CD Writer ($48.99 @ Newegg Canada)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 8 (OEM) (64-bit) ($97.99 @ NCIX)
Monitor: Asus VG248QE 144Hz 24.0" Monitor ($279.00 @ Canada Computers)
Keyboard: Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2013 Wired Gaming Keyboard ($119.99 @ Canada Computers)
Mouse: Razer DeathAdder 2013 Wired Optical Mouse ($58.00 @ Vuugo)
Total: $2728.48
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2013-06-11 17:33 EDT-0400)

If you plan to overclock and go SLI, I'd recommend a 1000W PSU. Also, for an easier time installing the cooler, I'd get two 8GB RAM sticks so you have an empty slot next to the CPU. Of course, go low profile/no heat spreader.