Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question

My first build, looking for some opinions

Last response: in Systems
Share
June 11, 2013 3:53:13 PM

Well, I figured it's time to start fresh. After a little bit of research and budget orientation, I think this is my final spec layout.

i5 4670K - CPU
Corsair Vengeance C70 - Case
WD 1TB 7200RPM - HDD
Corsair Vengeance 8GB (4GBx2) 1600MHz - RAM
ASRock Z87 Extreme3 - MOBO
EVGA SuperClocked w/ ACX Cooling GTX 770 - GPU
SeaSonic S12II 620 - PSU
Corsair Hydro Series H60 - Heatsink

Basically, is this setup as good as it could be? I have a $1375 CAD (before taxes/rebate) budget for wiggle room if that helps. I'll be buying off of NewEgg Canada. My monitor is 1920x1080 and I'll be playing BF3, Crysis 3, Far Cry 3, etc.

More about : build opinions

June 11, 2013 4:01:42 PM

I would find a way to fit a $120 Samsung 840 Pro Series 128 GB SSD into the build, for extremely fast boot times. Also, go with the MSI Lightning 770; it is binned (meaning that they only sell cards which have been tested and they know won't break), as well as the fact that it has a higher core clock and MUCH better overclocking capabilities.
m
0
l
June 11, 2013 4:05:34 PM

Perfect

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i5-4670K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor ($249.99 @ Newegg Canada)
CPU Cooler: Corsair H100i 77.0 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler ($89.99 @ Canada Computers)
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD3H ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($174.86 @ DirectCanada)
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($64.99 @ Canada Computers)
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($64.99 @ Newegg Canada)
Video Card: MSI GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card ($476.99 @ Newegg Canada)
Case: Corsair 650D ATX Mid Tower Case ($149.99 @ Amazon Canada)
Power Supply: XFX ProSeries 750W 80 PLUS Gold Certified ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply ($119.99 @ NCIX)
Total: $1381.79
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2013-06-11 19:06 EDT-0400)
m
0
l
Related resources
June 11, 2013 4:11:40 PM

Marcopolo123 said:
Perfect

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i5-4670K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor ($249.99 @ Newegg Canada)
CPU Cooler: Corsair H100i 77.0 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler ($89.99 @ Canada Computers)
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD3H ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($174.86 @ DirectCanada)
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($64.99 @ Canada Computers)
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($64.99 @ Newegg Canada)
Video Card: MSI GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card ($476.99 @ Newegg Canada)
Case: Corsair 650D ATX Mid Tower Case ($149.99 @ Amazon Canada)
Power Supply: XFX ProSeries 750W 80 PLUS Gold Certified ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply ($119.99 @ NCIX)
Total: $1381.79
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2013-06-11 19:06 EDT-0400)


750W is excessive, as is the 650D (for a build of this price). I'd stick with the 500R. Also, the H100i is beyond unnecessary; an H60 is more than enough.
m
0
l
June 11, 2013 4:18:30 PM

Well 750w for sli
650d and h100i is within his budget
m
0
l
June 11, 2013 4:21:08 PM

Looks really good! If you are going to put a bit of money into your computer, one thing that really adds to the pc build - an SSD for a boot drive. I recommend a 120GB or larger.
m
0
l
June 11, 2013 4:21:44 PM

Marcopolo123 said:
Well 750w for sli
650d and h100i is within his budget


That doesn't mean he should do it. The least money you spend on unnecessary things, the better. That way, he has an extra $100 for his next upgrade cycle, when he wants (for example) a new GPU, which is much more important than having a case which is all brushed aluminum.
EDIT: Also, your build has no SSD.
m
0
l
June 11, 2013 4:31:03 PM

"Unnecessary things" , aestethics can be also a factor
Just showed whats possible in budget
m
0
l
June 11, 2013 4:36:52 PM

Marcopolo123 said:
"Unnecessary things" , aestethics can be also a factor
Just showed whats possible in budget


No I gotcha. It's just my opinion to save some money for later.
m
0
l
June 11, 2013 4:41:55 PM

These other options are looking great. The case and CPU are set in stone, though. I guess it's my bad for not mentioning that. As far as SSD goes, I may consider one down the line, but for now I'd like to focus on the rest of the build. Also left out of my original post, I will upgrade my PSU if I ever decide SLI is a feature I'd utilize.
m
0
l
!