Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question

Asus Z87M-PLUS.... Opinions needed

Tags:
  • Asus
  • Motherboards
  • CPUs
  • Socket
Last response: in Motherboards
Share
June 14, 2013 3:15:52 AM

I recently asked on this website regarding upgrading my old PC however it seems its a no-go as its CPU socket is past its sell by date *1156*; for reference on my old question Converting Old PC, I know people have gave me ideas for gaming build which one of them I'm keen on however, I'm trying to weigh my options.

So iv been trying to do some research regarding the new sockets 1150, and am keen on this following motherboard Asus Z87M-PLUS S1150 Intel Motherboard.

However seems to be a lack of builds regarding this motherboard and was hoping someone here could give there opinions on it if its a decent motherboard for the following requirements;

Able to fit in a small case, be able to allow plenty of upgrades in the future and be decent enough for gaming.

Last but not least I thank whoever replies to this... :) 

More about : asus z87m opinions needed

a b Ĉ ASUS
a b V Motherboard
a b à CPUs
June 14, 2013 3:27:51 AM

I've got the z87-pro (not m) and it is sweet. I would really recommend it so ii guess the same counts for the matx version :p .
m
0
l
June 14, 2013 3:41:25 AM

aatje92 said:
I've got the z87-pro (not m) and it is sweet. I would really recommend it so ii guess the same counts for the matx version :p .


Could you just tell me why you chosen this motherboard? Was it for gaming reasons and future upgrades? or something else?
Many thanks
m
0
l
Related resources
a b Ĉ ASUS
a b V Motherboard
a b à CPUs
June 14, 2013 3:46:47 AM

AsheyB said:
aatje92 said:
I've got the z87-pro (not m) and it is sweet. I would really recommend it so ii guess the same counts for the matx version :p .


Could you just tell me why you chosen this motherboard? Was it for gaming reasons and future upgrades? or something else?
Could you also tell me your build, may help me :) 
Many thanks

Best price / quality imo. Nice power design and good caps. Built in wifi is nice, cooling capabilities are awesome. Power saving features work very well. And I also use it alot for gaming and it's just flawless. Also the audio chip played a part (ALC1150) wich is ahead of it's competitors.

My build is in my sig ;) .
m
0
l
June 14, 2013 4:20:36 AM

Awesome just the words one needs to read when concerning a motherboard, I thank you Sir
m
0
l
June 14, 2013 10:56:06 AM

Be aware that this board does not support SLI. It does support Crossfire so you're fine with AMD graphics.
m
0
l
June 14, 2013 11:11:24 AM

SLI? Sorry you lost me
m
0
l
June 14, 2013 11:14:57 AM

SLI is the term for using two or more Nvidia graphics cards together. Crossfire is the same thing but for AMD graphics cards. This particular motherboard supports Crossfire but not SLI. I know this because I wanted to get this board too but the no-SLI-support is a dealbreaker for me. =( It may not be for you as long as you don't plan to use multiple NVIDIA graphics cards in the future.
m
0
l
June 14, 2013 11:59:57 AM

superglu said:
SLI is the term for using two or more Nvidia graphics cards together. Crossfire is the same thing but for AMD graphics cards. This particular motherboard supports Crossfire but not SLI. I know this because I wanted to get this board too but the no-SLI-support is a dealbreaker for me. =( It may not be for you as long as you don't plan to use multiple NVIDIA graphics cards in the future.


I just read more on SLI and at the moment am opting for a high end graphic card rather than two, however in the future who know's I would like that feature to be there rather than not, but am okay with the Crossfire route.

Could you tell me which motherboard you purchased in the end please?
Thank you

m
0
l
a b Ĉ ASUS
a b V Motherboard
a b à CPUs
June 14, 2013 12:07:19 PM

maybe you could buy the Asus gryphon z87? that's a nice board and has sli an crossfire support
m
0
l
June 14, 2013 12:14:25 PM

Yeah I am starting out with one high-end Nvidia card (GTX780) but want the option to be able to add a second one in a year or two. Right now I have narrowed my choices down to the ASUS Maximus VI Gene (~$200) and the ASRock Z87M OC Formula (price not yet announced but expected to be around $200 as well). The ASUS Gryphon and the Gigabyte G1 Sniper are also options but I really don't like either of those two color schemes.
m
0
l
June 14, 2013 12:21:32 PM

aatje92 said:
maybe you could buy the Asus gryphon z87? that's a nice board and has sli an crossfire support


Seems to be a good option :)  and not much difference in price.

m
0
l
a b Ĉ ASUS
a b V Motherboard
a b à CPUs
June 14, 2013 11:07:42 PM

AsheyB said:
aatje92 said:
maybe you could buy the Asus gryphon z87? that's a nice board and has sli an crossfire support


Seems to be a good option :)  and not much difference in price.



Go for that then! It's a really nice board :) .
m
0
l
!