£1000 gaming computer initial build, advice wanted!

Twixamot

Distinguished
May 26, 2011
http://uk.pcpartpicker.com/p/117KI

That is my build initially, now i must say i am a complete novice to building computers and managing parts so i have no idea whether or not these are compatible, let alone are good together. I have the mouse, keyboard and all peripherals, all i need is the monitor and the actual computer itself. It will be about 90% gaming and 10% work, the games i would want to run are the like of Call of Duty and League of Legends at a high quality and speed would be preferable. Ive left some room for money for improvements but as i said none of this is static, you're free to make any adjustments whatsoever. Thanks!

X79

Honorable
You're wanting to OC?

You picked some good parts though mate.

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i5-4570 3.2GHz Quad-Core Processor (£154.79 @ Aria PC)
Motherboard: Asus H87-PLUS ATX LGA1150 Motherboard (£81.99 @ Dabs)
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory (£41.77 @ Amazon UK)
Storage: Samsung 840 Series 120GB 2.5" Solid State Disk (£74.20 @ Amazon UK)
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive (£49.99 @ Dabs)
Video Card: Zotac GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card (£319.99 @ Dabs)
Case: Cooler Master HAF X ATX Full Tower Case (£128.23 @ Aria PC)
Power Supply: XFX 550W 80 PLUS Bronze Certified ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply (£52.59 @ Dabs)
Monitor: Asus VE247H 23.6" Monitor (£129.99 @ Amazon UK)
Total: £1033.54
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2013-06-19 13:09 BST+0100)

Better CPU and GPU.

Either of our builds will obliterate league of legends though.

Twixamot

Distinguished
May 26, 2011

Yeah i read that overclocking gets you the best value for money so i figured if i do it safely then it should be good to have that extra speed on board

Twixamot

Distinguished
May 26, 2011