Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question
Solved

Need an experts opinion

Last response: in Motherboards
Share
June 30, 2013 5:04:35 PM

I recently purchased a asrock z-77 Asrock extreme6 from microcenter. I questioned the staff if it was an open box due to no seal, I was assured it was not. Later at home, I noticed a couple of inserts missing. Now I see that microcenter has discontinued this board. I am still within my return period and I am thinking about swapping to a gigabyte ga z77 ud5h. Which would be the better board coupled with a i7-3770k? used for light video editing and adobe cs6.. I also play with blender 3d quite a bit..I feel uncomfortable with the asrock mainly because I will not be assembling the system till august, (out of return period, and dealing with rma stuff should I encounter a problem). But mainly which is the better board?

More about : experts opinion

a b V Motherboard
June 30, 2013 5:11:36 PM

what are inserts?

and no motherboard boxes are sealed and I can't really remember ever seeing one sealed.
m
0
l
a c 169 V Motherboard
June 30, 2013 5:21:18 PM

You can't go wrong with the Gigabyte MB.
m
0
l
Related resources
June 30, 2013 5:23:55 PM

swifty_morgan said:
what are inserts?

and no motherboard boxes are sealed and I can't really remember ever seeing one sealed.


Thanks for the quick reply, There are brochures that are supposed to be in the box that are missing..I just have never been confident after seeing how the contents of the box were arranged..To me, no big deal, I was going to have microcenter assemble all components at the end of the month, and was reassured that if there was a problem a week or so out of the 30 day return period they would "take care of it". Now I see it is not sold there anymore. Makes me nervous. I was going to get the gigabyte board, but the asrock was a good deal and seemed, from reviews, a pretty solid board. The salesman suggested the asrock upon talking to him (he seemed quite knowledgeable). But, with that said, should I take the chance on the discontinued asrock, or just go ahead and get the gigabyte. I am willing to keep the asrock, what it boils down to, which one is better
m
0
l
a b V Motherboard
June 30, 2013 5:48:52 PM

Microcenter has (6) in Atlanta, Georgia> I wonder if they would bring in one from somewhere else if need be. You have your salesman's name.

ps It is illegal to sell anything opened/returned, as new in NY.
m
0
l

Best solution

a b V Motherboard
June 30, 2013 5:51:57 PM

I'd surf e-tail sites and see what owners have to say about the boards.

the booklets should not have been missing. If you keep the board see if you can get them........... booklets/paper work/cd driver and app disc/ sata cables/IO shield, etc. should all be there.
Share
a b V Motherboard
June 30, 2013 5:54:16 PM

swifty_morgan said:
I'd surf e-tail sites and see what owners have to say about the boards.

the booklets should not have been missing. If you keep the board see if you can get them........... booklets/paper work/cd driver and app disc/ sata cables/IO shield, etc. should all be there.


The CD has the manual on it. But there is always a book too.
m
0
l
June 30, 2013 6:02:21 PM

ur6beersaway said:
Microcenter has (6) in Atlanta, Georgia> I wonder if they would bring in one from somewhere else if need be. You have your salesman's name.


Yes, he is off today, the microcenter in tustin california is out with no orders pending to restock, per person I talked to today. I was a little uptight about the missing pamphlets, then a little pissed about them not even showing it as "out of stock" just straight deleted. Microcenter has always been great (I work right down the street) and this is the first time I am contemplating a swap on any of the components I have purchased for this build, For piece of mind I think i'll just get the gigabyte, the price difference is not a problem and they both seem to be about the same in performance for what I am doing with it.
m
0
l
June 30, 2013 6:21:18 PM

swifty_morgan said:
I'd surf e-tail sites and see what owners have to say about the boards.

the booklets should not have been missing. If you keep the board see if you can get them........... booklets/paper work/cd driver and app disc/ sata cables/IO shield, etc. should all be there.


I checked many sites, the asrock came in very solid overall, so did the gigabyte, the price is within 25-30 bucks, but I purchased the over the counter exchange warranty and plan on using a oem os program (windows7 pro 64 bit of course). But, that is a little difficult to utilize if they don't stock it at my local store, and then there is the fun of getting with microsoft to explain about a board replacement. Without wasting any more of your time, I believe i'll exchange for a gigabyte
m
0
l
a b V Motherboard
June 30, 2013 7:08:08 PM

gferrin2012 said:
swifty_morgan said:
I'd surf e-tail sites and see what owners have to say about the boards.

the booklets should not have been missing. If you keep the board see if you can get them........... booklets/paper work/cd driver and app disc/ sata cables/IO shield, etc. should all be there.


I checked many sites, the asrock came in very solid overall, so did the gigabyte, the price is within 25-30 bucks, but I purchased the over the counter exchange warranty and plan on using a oem os program (windows7 pro 64 bit of course). But, that is a little difficult to utilize if they don't stock it at my local store, and then there is the fun of getting with microsoft to explain about a board replacement. Without wasting any more of your time, I believe i'll exchange for a gigabyte


Windows-8 you can move from board to board, but can never be "activated" on two computers at the same time. No more OEM vs. Retail...just sayin..Micro center will make it right, there in it for the long haul.
m
0
l
June 30, 2013 7:29:25 PM

ur6beersaway said:
gferrin2012 said:
swifty_morgan said:
I'd surf e-tail sites and see what owners have to say about the boards.

the booklets should not have been missing. If you keep the board see if you can get them........... booklets/paper work/cd driver and app disc/ sata cables/IO shield, etc. should all be there.


I checked many sites, the asrock came in very solid overall, so did the gigabyte, the price is within 25-30 bucks, but I purchased the over the counter exchange warranty and plan on using a oem os program (windows7 pro 64 bit of course). But, that is a little difficult to utilize if they don't stock it at my local store, and then there is the fun of getting with microsoft to explain about a board replacement. Without wasting any more of your time, I believe i'll exchange for a gigabyte


Windows-8 you can move from board to board, but can never be "activated" on two computers at the same time. No more OEM vs. Retail...just sayin..Micro center will make it right, there in it for the long haul.


Yes,,ypu are absolutely right, manager called me back from microcenter, they are out of stock and fully intend on restocking. I bought motherboard when I saw it was "toms approved hardware". When I asked about pamphlets he explained a lot of people do open and look at motherboards before purchase, and most likely salesman did not put back. No other sealed items were opened (cords, sli piece, sata cables etc,,). I am going to keep it. I do thank everyone for their time. My main issue, again, is that I can only buy a part a month, tight budget, and they will all be out of 30 return period when it will be assembled in august. nervous..nervous..nervous.. Microcenter manager definitely renewed my confidence, and I thanked him.
m
0
l
!