Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question
Solved

Plan on building a new pc, need advice/opinions.

Tags:
  • Asus
  • ASrock
  • Intel i5
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
Share
July 4, 2013 5:16:55 AM

Hey guys I'm planning on building a new pc & it's specs will be:
i5 3570k
Asrock z77 extreme6(maybe extreme4)
Asus gtx 670 2gb
8gb kit Kingston hyper x
Cosair tx750 psu
HAF 912 case
CM hyper 212 evo air cooler
Hdd, DVD drive, monitor etc. I'll decide on later.

Can you guys give me your advice/opinions on this build if it's good or not, needs improving etc. this will be primarily for gaming & my budget will be say $1100 - $1200.

Any kind of help/advice/opinion/criticism would be much appreciated.

Thank you in advance :) 


More about : plan building advice opinions

a b Ĉ ASUS
July 4, 2013 5:23:23 AM

750W is for 2xGPUs. Are you really gonna do that? Most people don't. If not, grab a 600W PSU.

Go Extreme 4 unless price difference is less than $10.

Make sure to get 2x4GB, not 1x8GB RAM.

Save a little money and grab a ASUS 760.
m
0
l
July 4, 2013 5:30:31 AM

Thanks for the quick reply champ (y)
So a 600w psu can run all those specs efficiently?
Yeah I did some research on the 2x4gb stick instead if the single 8gb stick.
I read that the gtx 670 is better?
m
0
l
Related resources
July 4, 2013 5:40:55 AM

I would take advantage of the newest tech (Haswell and GTX 7xx).

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i5-4670K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor ($199.99 @ Microcenter)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($29.98 @ Outlet PC)
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87-D3HP ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($124.99 @ Newegg)
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($68.46 @ NCIX US)
Storage: Samsung 840 Pro Series 128GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($129.97 @ Outlet PC)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($64.98 @ Outlet PC)
Video Card: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 760 2GB Video Card ($259.99 @ Amazon)
Case: Corsair 300R ATX Mid Tower Case ($49.99 @ Newegg)
Power Supply: SeaSonic 650W 80 PLUS Gold Certified ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply ($108.98 @ Newegg)
Optical Drive: Asus DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS DVD/CD Writer ($18.98 @ Outlet PC)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 8 (OEM) (64-bit) ($87.98 @ Outlet PC)
Total: $1144.29
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2013-07-04 08:39 EDT-0400)
m
0
l
July 4, 2013 5:50:21 AM

if u will be doing mild overclocking than i will suggest getting haswell i5-4670k it has better single core performance and lga1155 is a dead socket whereas there will be a better upgrade path with haswell
and yes a 600 watts psu will be more than enough
also if u can invest a bit more money u can get a hd 7970 it is a great card and its performance is a bit less when compared to gtx 770 but is cheaper and beats both gtx 670 and 760
m
0
l
a b Ĉ ASUS
July 4, 2013 6:32:32 AM

4670k vs 3570k? If you can get the 3570k for more than $10 cheaper get it. Also, Z77 motherboards have all the bugs worked out. 1155 is dead, but 1150 will be dead in 3 years too. So, irrelevant.

I've seen 3570k + Extreme 4 selling for $40-50 less than Haswell. Not worth it to get Haswell yet.
m
0
l
July 4, 2013 6:37:09 AM

it is better to have three years than to have nothing
m
0
l
July 4, 2013 7:30:23 AM

So pretty much, the i5 3570k is similar to i5 4670k but the i5 4670k can be ungraded in the future while the i5 3570k/1155 socket is dead and cannot be upgraded? Sorry guys I'm kind of confused.
m
0
l
a b Ĉ ASUS
July 4, 2013 7:42:35 AM

Mickey Shen said:
So pretty much, the i5 3570k is similar to i5 4670k but the i5 4670k can be ungraded in the future while the i5 3570k/1155 socket is dead and cannot be upgraded? Sorry guys I'm kind of confused.


Every 3 years the CPU socket dies. But it doesn't matter cuz most people don't upgrade the CPU every 2 years. The socket only pertains to the CPU. If you plan on building a system for at least 3 years then socket doesn't matter. (also there has been talk about Intel fixing the CPU to mobo...meaning you can't upgrade like now) Cuz by the time you upgrade the new socket is released.

3570k n 4670k perform so close that gaming performance is the same. If the CPUs are the same price then I'd recommend the 4670k, if not then 3570k.
m
0
l
July 4, 2013 7:58:38 AM

envy14tpe said:
Mickey Shen said:
So pretty much, the i5 3570k is similar to i5 4670k but the i5 4670k can be ungraded in the future while the i5 3570k/1155 socket is dead and cannot be upgraded? Sorry guys I'm kind of confused.


Every 3 years the CPU socket dies. But it doesn't matter cuz most people don't upgrade the CPU every 2 years. The socket only pertains to the CPU. If you plan on building a system for at least 3 years then socket doesn't matter. (also there has been talk about Intel fixing the CPU to mobo...meaning you can't upgrade like now) Cuz by the time you upgrade the new socket is released.

3570k n 4670k perform so close that gaming performance is the same. If the CPUs are the same price then I'd recommend the 4670k, if not then 3570k.


Isn't Haswell supposed to be at least 10 percent faster than Ivy Bridge?

m
0
l
July 5, 2013 2:00:51 AM

you say the i5 4570k will have a better upgrade path? how so?
because from my understanding, the i5 3570k & i5 4670k are very similar in speeds(does one overclock better/more then the other? i know the i5 3570k when overclocked to the max gets very heated but what about the i5 4670k?) but which ever cpu i get, won't i eventually have to replace it? or are you talking about motherboard to? e.g. i buy i5 3570k with a z77 mobo, it will last me for say 2 to 3 years but after that i'll have to buy a whole new set up since right now the z77 1155 socket mobos are dead? & if i buy a i5 4670k with a 1150 socket mobo, i can still upgrade it after 2 to 3 years right?
m
0
l
a b Ĉ ASUS
July 5, 2013 2:41:43 AM

jryder said:
envy14tpe said:
Mickey Shen said:
So pretty much, the i5 3570k is similar to i5 4670k but the i5 4670k can be ungraded in the future while the i5 3570k/1155 socket is dead and cannot be upgraded? Sorry guys I'm kind of confused.


Every 3 years the CPU socket dies. But it doesn't matter cuz most people don't upgrade the CPU every 2 years. The socket only pertains to the CPU. If you plan on building a system for at least 3 years then socket doesn't matter. (also there has been talk about Intel fixing the CPU to mobo...meaning you can't upgrade like now) Cuz by the time you upgrade the new socket is released.

3570k n 4670k perform so close that gaming performance is the same. If the CPUs are the same price then I'd recommend the 4670k, if not then 3570k.


Isn't Haswell supposed to be at least 10 percent faster than Ivy Bridge?



Mickey Shen said:
you say the i5 4570k will have a better upgrade path? how so?
because from my understanding, the i5 3570k & i5 4670k are very similar in speeds(does one overclock better/more then the other? i know the i5 3570k when overclocked to the max gets very heated but what about the i5 4670k?) but which ever cpu i get, won't i eventually have to replace it? or are you talking about motherboard to? e.g. i buy i5 3570k with a z77 mobo, it will last me for say 2 to 3 years but after that i'll have to buy a whole new set up since right now the z77 1155 socket mobos are dead? & if i buy a i5 4670k with a 1150 socket mobo, i can still upgrade it after 2 to 3 years right?

We aren't sure about 1150s lifespan. I'd guess that if you bought Haswell now and in 3 years you wanted a new CPU then you'd have to get a new mobo too. The 1155 socket is dead, in the sense that new CPUs will not work on a 1155 socket mobo.

The performance difference isn't much moving to Haswell. It is better at stock, but costs more too. Is overclocking the 4670k better than 3570k? Not sure yet. Not a lot of data yet.
m
0
l
July 5, 2013 2:55:13 AM

yeah i was thinking that, both eventually would be dead within 3 years from now & you're gonna have to upgrade either way, so now i just need to decide which one to get
m
0
l
a b Ĉ ASUS
July 5, 2013 8:31:09 AM

Mickey Shen said:
yeah i was thinking that, both eventually would be dead within 3 years from now & you're gonna have to upgrade either way, so now i just need to decide which one to get


You can't go wrong with either choice. Just ask yourself how much you are willing to spend. I was in the same conundrum, the 3570k was released and I saw the reviews. In the end I bought the 2500k for $15 less and I'm happy with my choice. I have a good overclock and in games and what I do, the 2500k n 3570k are essentially the same.
m
0
l
July 7, 2013 3:11:23 AM

Okay, I've settled on these specs:

Asus p8z77-v
i5 3570k
Asus gtx670 2gb
Coolermaster Hyper 212 EVO
8gb kit 2400 Kingston HyperX
Corsair TX650(will this psu run this setup efficiently?)
Seagate Barracuda 1tb
Asus SATA DVD RW
Thermaltake Commander MS-III(will everything fit into this case?)

What do you guys think of this setup? It's gonna cost me just under $1200, about $1195, please say it's good LOL omg all this research is doing my head in lol
m
0
l
a b Ĉ ASUS
July 7, 2013 4:04:29 AM

650W is plenty for this system. However, I'd look for a modular PSU made by Antec or Seasonic. Antec HCG 620 is a good choice.

No SSD? The build is excellent though. If you dropped down to a MSI 760 you could use the money to get a 120GB SSD.

Not really a fan of that case. Your cables will be a mess inside. If so try to get a case that allows you to put cables behind the motherboard so you can improve case flow.
m
0
l
July 7, 2013 4:15:46 AM

What's the difference between the psu I picked & a modular psu? Lol sorry, I'm bad I know lol
What's so good about a SDD over a HDD?
& with that case, can't i just use cable ties & position the cables so it doesn't effect airflow?
m
0
l
a b Ĉ ASUS
July 7, 2013 5:07:45 AM

Modular allows you more flexibility in the build. A non modular PSU has all the cables stemming from one hub. But modular allows you to plug in cables to your PSU instead of one vine. This helps to keep your cables from cluttering your case.

SSD is great for making your system snap to life. It boots faster, but most importantly all your programs will load faster. Essentially a SSD is a HDD on steroids. Nowadays people buy a SSD and put OS and all programs on it, then use a HDD for all the files (movies, music...)

You want to get cables behind the motherboard and with a modular PSU it's easier to do this. If you look at some pictures of builds you might ask where are the cables cuz their is so much space inside? Well, they are behind the mobo and hidden well in a good case. Then look at another case that has cables everywhere. That's cuz you can't hide them anywhere.
m
0
l
July 7, 2013 7:24:50 AM

Okay, I'll settle on the antec hcg 620w m, I'll get the ssd later on but could you recommend me a good case for under $60? Which will keep the cables neat & tidy with good air flow?
m
0
l
a b Ĉ ASUS
July 7, 2013 5:48:01 PM

Mickey Shen said:
Okay, I'll settle on the antec hcg 620w m, I'll get the ssd later on but could you recommend me a good case for under $60? Which will keep the cables neat & tidy with good air flow?


http://pcpartpicker.com/part/corsair-case-300r

Look at the pics on the bottom left. Notice how the cables disappear? That's what you want.
Good choice with the Antec 620. It is plenty of power for your system and you won't go crazy dealing with the cables.
m
0
l
a b Ĉ ASUS
July 8, 2013 5:22:28 AM

Something to consider: instead of a 670, could get a MSI 760 and a 128GB M4 for about the same price.
m
0
l
July 11, 2013 2:57:19 AM

Okay I recently found out that the asus p8z77-v has been discontinued so I need advice on a good board that's similar to that
m
0
l

Best solution

a b Ĉ ASUS
July 11, 2013 3:06:58 AM

ASRock Extreme 4
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H
MSI Z77A-G45 Gaming
Share
!