Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question
Solved

Four MoBo's side by side review. Need help Picking one.

Last response: in Motherboards
Share
July 22, 2013 11:47:45 AM



I’m trying to decide if I want to keep the Mobo I have listed or switch. Obviously it has to be compatible with the CPU and such. In the near future I plan to OC if needed or just to get as much juice as I can. I’m a little lost when looking at mobo’s. Newegg seems to be the only site that has reviews I could find so far ( still looking) or has more than 4 reviews.

Thanks in advance for the help. If you have a recommendation for a Mobo that’s not one of these 4 please post link.

http://tinyurl.com/kmu7uob - 4 Mobo’s

My system specs with 1 mobo.

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i5-4670K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor ($199.99 @ Microcenter)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($29.98 @ Outlet PC)
Thermal Compound: Arctic Cooling MX-2 4g Thermal Paste ($4.98 @ Outlet PC)
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD3H ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($159.99 @ Amazon)
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($69.98 @ Outlet PC)
Storage: Samsung 840 Pro Series 128GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($126.99 @ NCIX US)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($67.98 @ SuperBiiz)
Video Card: MSI GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card (2-Way SLI) ($403.98 @ SuperBiiz)
Video Card: MSI GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card (2-Way SLI) ($403.98 @ SuperBiiz)
Case: Cooler Master HAF X ATX Full Tower Case ($169.99 @ NCIX US)
Case Fan: Cooler Master Megaflow 110.0 CFM 200mm Fan ($8.99 @ Newegg)
Power Supply: SeaSonic X Series 850W 80 PLUS Gold Certified ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply ($156.98 @ SuperBiiz)
Optical Drive: LG UH12NS30 Blu-Ray Reader, DVD/CD Writer ($49.99 @ Amazon)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 (OEM) (64-bit) ($89.98 @ Outlet PC)
Monitor: Asus VS247H-P 23.6" Monitor ($129.99 @ Newegg)
Keyboard: Microsoft SIDEWINDER X4 Wired Gaming Keyboard ($44.24 @ Amazon)
Mouse: Gigabyte GM-FORCE M7 THOR Wired Laser Mouse ($29.99 @ Amazon)
Total: $2148.00
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2013-07-22 14:44 EDT-0400)
a b V Motherboard
July 22, 2013 12:19:22 PM

Dude, sweet, I personally could not have picked better parts. I have the same keyboard, it's quite good.
But in all honesty, unless you're planning 3 monitors this is overkill. Seriously, you will MAX all games without even trying with just 1x GTX 770, unless the 3 monitors in which case 2x GTX 770's will perform awfully compared to 2x HD 7970's. So if you are planning just one then I would just get one GTX 770 and a TX 650, or XFX XXX Pro series 650W.
m
0
l
July 22, 2013 12:31:52 PM

I upgraded my Monitor to a 27" ( http://pcpartpicker.com/part/asus-monitor-ve278q ) . I'll drop the second card, I'm gunna see if there is a PSU thats 100% modular ( good cable management ). Will Edit this and put revised build in.

The Antec a good PSU? And is Crucial a good SSD brand? I double my SSD drive capacity for like $50 more than the 128GB i had


PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i5-4670K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor ($199.99 @ Microcenter)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($29.98 @ Outlet PC)
Thermal Compound: Arctic Cooling MX-2 4g Thermal Paste ($4.98 @ Outlet PC)
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD3H ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($159.99 @ Amazon)
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($69.98 @ Outlet PC)
Storage: Crucial V4 256GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($164.98 @ SuperBiiz)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($67.98 @ SuperBiiz)
Video Card: MSI GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card ($403.98 @ SuperBiiz)
Case: Cooler Master HAF X ATX Full Tower Case ($169.99 @ NCIX US)
Case Fan: Cooler Master Megaflow 110.0 CFM 200mm Fan ($8.99 @ Newegg)
Power Supply: Antec High Current Gamer 620W 80 PLUS Bronze Certified ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply ($79.99 @ Amazon)
Optical Drive: LG UH12NS30 Blu-Ray Reader, DVD/CD Writer ($49.99 @ Amazon)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 (OEM) (64-bit) ($89.98 @ Outlet PC)
Monitor: Asus VE278Q 27.0" Monitor ($257.98 @ Outlet PC)
Keyboard: Microsoft SIDEWINDER X4 Wired Gaming Keyboard ($44.24 @ Amazon)
Mouse: Gigabyte GM-FORCE M7 THOR Wired Laser Mouse ($29.99 @ Amazon)
Total: $1833.01
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2013-07-22 15:32 EDT-0400)
m
0
l
Related resources
July 22, 2013 12:35:08 PM

Some of the reviews I read said the motherboard I have picked isn't really top of the line. Some say it's Middle to low end, not too sure as I've never bought one from Gigabyte before.
m
0
l
a b V Motherboard
July 22, 2013 12:40:04 PM

jjg2013 said:
I upgraded my Monitor to a 27" ( http://pcpartpicker.com/part/asus-monitor-ve278q ) . I'll drop the second card, I'm gunna see if there is a PSU thats 100% modular ( good cable management ). Will Edit this and put revised build in.

The Antec a good PSU? And is Crucial a good SSD brand? I double my SSD drive capacity for like $50 more than the 128GB i had

That's a beautiful combination, Modular PSU' are generally more expensive. But I like them too. Antec makes some of the most reliable PSU's you can buy. And Crucial is an awesome SSD brand.
PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i5-4670K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor ($199.99 @ Microcenter)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($29.98 @ Outlet PC)
Thermal Compound: Arctic Cooling MX-2 4g Thermal Paste ($4.98 @ Outlet PC)
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD3H ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($159.99 @ Amazon)
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($69.98 @ Outlet PC)
Storage: Crucial V4 256GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($164.98 @ SuperBiiz)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($67.98 @ SuperBiiz)
Video Card: MSI GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card ($403.98 @ SuperBiiz)
Case: Cooler Master HAF X ATX Full Tower Case ($169.99 @ NCIX US)
Case Fan: Cooler Master Megaflow 110.0 CFM 200mm Fan ($8.99 @ Newegg)
Power Supply: Antec High Current Gamer 620W 80 PLUS Bronze Certified ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply ($79.99 @ Amazon)
Optical Drive: LG UH12NS30 Blu-Ray Reader, DVD/CD Writer ($49.99 @ Amazon)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 (OEM) (64-bit) ($89.98 @ Outlet PC)
Monitor: Asus VE278Q 27.0" Monitor ($257.98 @ Outlet PC)
Keyboard: Microsoft SIDEWINDER X4 Wired Gaming Keyboard ($44.24 @ Amazon)
Mouse: Gigabyte GM-FORCE M7 THOR Wired Laser Mouse ($29.99 @ Amazon)
Total: $1833.01
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2013-07-22 15:32 EDT-0400)


m
0
l

Best solution

a b V Motherboard
July 22, 2013 12:53:36 PM

I don't know what happened to that last reply that i posted, but here is what I said:

That's a beautiful combination, Modular PSU' are generally more expensive. But I like them too. Antec makes some of the most reliable PSU's you can buy. And Crucial is an awesome SSD brand.
Share
July 22, 2013 1:13:12 PM

I love the modular PSU's less clutter and if a wire goes bad I don't need to shell out for a who new one. Cool that def saves me some money too. I plan to get BF4 and update my Skyrim, still waiting to see what EA plans to charge $60 or $70 for BF4 =/
m
0
l
a b V Motherboard
July 22, 2013 1:49:06 PM

Don't forget to pick the best answer, man.
m
0
l
July 22, 2013 3:23:02 PM

My bad, I thought I did.
m
0
l
a b V Motherboard
July 22, 2013 3:24:05 PM

jjg2013 said:
My bad, I thought I did.


Rock on, bro.
m
0
l
!