$900 Bet: First Time Build General Questions

autotroph

Honorable
Jul 22, 2013
Hello! Long story short: if I can put together a working computer by the end of the year, I win a $900 bet. I’ve spent a lot of time considering my build, but I’d really appreciate it if someone could give it a sanity check. Your feedback would be invaluable as I have little hardware experience.

Budget: < $1400 would be excellent but nothing set in stone

Usage: StarCraft 2, misc other games, lots of Adobe CS6, Java/Python/R development, some video editing, maybe live streaming in the future

Notes: My peripherals are taken care of. I only use internal storage as a cache to dump files into external storage (close to 2 TB available), so that’s why I plan to get the 240GB SSD instead of a traditional hard drive. A year or two from now I’d consider adding in another GPU. I’d love to hear advice on the processor/mobo pairing as my heart isn’t too set on what I have down. Overclocking is something I’d like to have available in the future but don’t plan on messing with for now. Will the stock heatsink and case fans be enough cooling in the meantime?

Click me to see the parts list

Also, is the compatibility note simply saying that I need to find some sort of USB 3.0 to 2.0 adapter cable? How should I deal with this?

Thanks for reading, and I’m open to whatever suggestions you may have!

Solution
here is a slight changeup. I changed the case to another edition of the 300, one with usb 3.0 plugs, changed the gpu... it's a lateral move that saved some cash, saved a little cash with the ram, and an ssd change, used most of the saved cash to give you a solid cpu cooler.

All together this is a slightly better build, for a little less money.

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.5GHz Quad-Core Processor ($319.99 @ Newegg)
CPU Cooler: Corsair H80i 77.0 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler ($83.99 @ Amazon)