1000$ Coding Laptop

Status
Not open for further replies.

pcfan1

Honorable
Jul 2, 2012
Hi everyone, i'm currently looking at buying a new laptop for the new school semester starting in 3 to 4 weeks. I Study computer science and need a pretty powerful laptop to do my work on when i'm not at home. I'm a guy that also likes a good gaming session with friends so if it could run some high-end content it would be nice! Thanks for the suggestions it is much appreciated :)

Also, i'm a student so I can use the "student rebate" some websites have!

Have a nice day!

Approximate Purchase Date: in the next 2-3 weeks

1. What is your budget?
Roughly 1000$ CAD

2. What is the size of the notebook that you are considering?
15-17" , the bigger the better programming-wise

3. What screen resolution do you want?
1920x1080

4. Do you need a portable or desktop replacement laptop?
Mostly desktop replacement + occasional movie watching in bed

5. How much battery life do you need?
3h+ , the more the better

6. Do you want to play games with your laptop? If so then please list the games that you want to with the settings that you want for these games. (Low,Medium or High)?
I'd like to run battlefield 3 on medium/high and battlefield 4 on medium (not a necessity but would like it)

7. What other tasks do you want to do with your laptop? (Photo / Video editing,watching movies, Etc.)
Coding, web surfing, HD movies

8. How much storage (Hard Drive capacity) do you need?
500GB+

9. If you are considering specific sites to buy from, please post their links.
www.ncix.ca , www.newegg.ca , dell.ca , any reputable website

10. How long do you want to keep your laptop?
3-4 years

11. What kind of Optical drive do you need? DVD ROM/Writer,Bluray ROM/Writer,Etc ?
DVD writer , Blu-ray reader (not a necessity)

12. Please tell us about the brands that you prefer to buy from them and the brands that you don't like and explain the reasons.
Intel processor would be appreciated but not needed.