Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question

This is the first time building a pc and want opinions on my setup that im looking at. All suggestions are welcome

Tags:
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
Share
July 26, 2013 8:50:48 PM

This is the first time building a pc and want opinions on my setup im looking at. All suggestions are welcome. Also can someone make sure that all these parts are compatible
NZXT Crafted Series Phantom Black/Green Steel / Plastic ATX Full Tower Computer Case

Seagate NAS HDD ST2000VN000 2TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s Internal Hard Drive

EVGA SuperClocked 02G-P4-2765-KR GeForce GTX 760 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 SLI Support w/ EVGA ACX Cooler Video Card


Rosewill BRONZE Series RBR1000-M 1000W

CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)

ASUS Z87-PRO LGA 1150 Intel Z87 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Intel Core i5-4670K Haswell 3.4GHz LGA 1150 84W Quad-Core Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics

COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 EVO RR-212E-20PK-R2 Continuous Direct Contact 120mm Sleeve CPU Cooler


Instead of the Cooler Master 212 Evo i changed it for a COOLER MASTER Seidon 120M RL-S12M-24PK-R1 Performance All in One Liquid/Water CPU Cooler

More about : time building opinions setup suggestions

July 26, 2013 8:58:34 PM

That's a good build, except for the power supply. I would advise sticking to Corsair, Antec, XFX, or Seasonic. Are you planning on future SLI??
m
0
l
July 26, 2013 9:05:43 PM

do you intend to overclock? if so you might want to get the i5-3570K, in benchmarks its a little slower but in games and other real world application its just as fast, as your gonna need something much more powerful than CM hyper 212 evo with 4670K.

also you aren't gonna need a 1000W PSU for this build. drop down to something like Seasonic S12II 520W PSU. its much more reliable than the one you picked and probably cheaper.

you also won't need a 180$ mobo for this build if you are going with 3570K, go with Asrock Z77 extreme 4 to save some cash.

finally with all these cost saving's you might be able to get a GF GTX 670 which performs much better than GTX 760 and costs arround 330$
m
0
l
July 26, 2013 9:08:00 PM

Rosewill afaik doesn't make their own hardware they just put a sticker on it. Many of their psu's are made by reputable companies and are excellent. There was an article on toms little while ago about this and they had a chart where you could look up most psu and see the actual manufacturer. I think you did a great job with this build but that way to much power if your not gonna overclock and sli.
m
0
l
July 27, 2013 1:26:10 PM

Im most likely going to overclock and I was looking around again and Im looking at the asus maximus vi hero or the Z87-GD65 GAMING mobo
m
0
l
July 27, 2013 1:29:46 PM

If i overclock should I get a stick with the psu that was originally picked or lower it
m
0
l
July 27, 2013 1:42:03 PM

I have changed the heat sink I was thinking about getting and now im looking at the COOLER MASTER Seidon 120M RL-S12M-24PK-R1 Performance All in One Liquid/Water CPU Cooler
m
0
l
July 27, 2013 1:42:05 PM

I have changed the heat sink I was thinking about getting and now im looking at the COOLER MASTER Seidon 120M RL-S12M-24PK-R1 Performance All in One Liquid/Water CPU Cooler
m
0
l
July 27, 2013 4:19:51 PM

thasan1 said:
do you intend to overclock? if so you might want to get the i5-3570K, in benchmarks its a little slower but in games and other real world application its just as fast, as your gonna need something much more powerful than CM hyper 212 evo with 4670K.

also you aren't gonna need a 1000W PSU for this build. drop down to something like Seasonic S12II 520W PSU. its much more reliable than the one you picked and probably cheaper.

you also won't need a 180$ mobo for this build if you are going with 3570K, go with Asrock Z77 extreme 4 to save some cash.

finally with all these cost saving's you might be able to get a GF GTX 670 which performs much better than GTX 760 and costs arround 330$


Im most likely going to overclock and I was looking around again and Im looking at the asus maximus vi hero or the Z87-GD65 GAMING mobo. Also if I am going to overclock do I need a 1000w psu?
m
0
l
July 27, 2013 8:00:56 PM

That would perform well, but not as well as the cooler master seidon. If you can squeeze it, i recommend the larger cooler.
m
0
l
July 27, 2013 8:14:48 PM

expl0itfinder said:
That would perform well, but not as well as the cooler master seidon. If you can squeeze it, i recommend the larger cooler.


by larger cooler do you mean a cooler with a larger fan
m
0
l
July 27, 2013 8:15:58 PM

Larger all around, the fin array, heat pipes, and fan size. That is why i recommended the Phanteks PH-TC14PE.
m
0
l
July 27, 2013 8:18:29 PM

11239679,0,1323927 said:
Larger all around, the fin array, heat pipes, and fan size. That is why i recommended the Phanteks PH-TC14PE.[/quotems


in the specs for this cooler it says it is compatible with a LGA 1155. Is it also compatible with a LGA 1150 motherboard


m
0
l
July 27, 2013 8:24:47 PM

Yes, as 1155 and 1150 have the same cooler mounting mechanism. Any cooler that is compatible with 1155 is automatically compatible with 1150.
m
0
l
July 27, 2013 8:28:31 PM

expl0itfinder said:
Yes, as 1155 and 1150 have the same cooler mounting mechanism. Any cooler that is compatible with 1155 is automatically compatible with 1150.


o ok. I had no idea about the compatibility betweeen the two sockets. I will be getting the Phanteks PH-TC14PE. Thank you for your help
m
0
l
July 27, 2013 8:35:18 PM

expl0itfinder said:
Yes, as 1155 and 1150 have the same cooler mounting mechanism. Any cooler that is compatible with 1155 is automatically compatible with 1150.


I just walched a vid on this cooler and it covers the ram slots and ram height is now an issue. if I use the CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) should I be fine or should I look for one that is lower
m
0
l
July 27, 2013 9:16:19 PM

TheGamerInside said:
expl0itfinder said:
Yes, as 1155 and 1150 have the same cooler mounting mechanism. Any cooler that is compatible with 1155 is automatically compatible with 1150.


I just walched a vid on this cooler and it covers the ram slots and ram height is now an issue. if I use the CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) should I be fine or should I look for one that is lower


I would get corsair vengeance low profiles:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
They will perform the same, they just won't be as flashy. (which won't matter anyway if they are covered by a heatsink.)
m
0
l
!