Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question
Solved

$1500 Gaming PC (Help,Opinions)

Last response: in Systems
Share
August 4, 2013 5:35:47 AM

Hey guys,
In the near future (couple of weeks, maybe less) I will be purchasing a gaming computer. On PC Partpicker I have put together a PC that I would very much like to buy. But I am unsure if it is a good build and if i am getting the best bang for buck possible.
The link is: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/1o4P9

If you could have a look and tell me the pros and cons that would be great. All opinions are appreciated.

More about : 1500 gaming opinions

a b 4 Gaming
a b à CPUs
a b V Motherboard
August 4, 2013 5:42:11 AM

that look like an awesome build man
only thing i would change is make the RAM low profile and get a CPU Cooler to OC
m
0
l
August 4, 2013 5:51:13 AM

jinayhvora said:
that look like an awesome build man
only thing i would change is make the RAM low profile and get a CPU Cooler to OC


As i am new to building I dont really know what you mean by low profile (I assume just smaller in physical size?). I am not in need of a cooler yet. I will run all the stock coolers etc. Then when i have enough money again I will buy a custom water cooling system and some extra fans to pimp out the 650d.

Also just a quick question which is better?
3x gtx 760 cards, 2x gtx 770 cards or 1x 780 card.

For either setup i will get the 3-4gb ones because I am running the asus pb278q monitor at 1440p

m
0
l
Related resources
a b 4 Gaming
a b à CPUs
a b V Motherboard
August 4, 2013 6:23:26 AM

2x770 is the best IMO
low profile means low height so it doesn't block the CPU Cooler
warning-do not try overclocking on the stock cooler
m
0
l
a b 4 Gaming
a b à CPUs
a b V Motherboard
August 4, 2013 6:24:15 AM

Hd 7970 for 300$ has a good value.

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i5-4670K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor ($219.00 @ Amazon)
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD3H ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($154.99 @ NCIX US)
Memory: Corsair Vengeance Pro 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($69.99 @ NCIX US)
Storage: Samsung 840 Series 250GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($179.99 @ Adorama)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 3TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($119.99 @ NCIX US)
Video Card: PowerColor Radeon HD 7970 3GB Video Card (2-Way CrossFire) ($299.99 @ Newegg)
Video Card: PowerColor Radeon HD 7970 3GB Video Card (2-Way CrossFire) ($299.99 @ Newegg)
Case: Fractal Design Define R4 w/Window (Black Pearl) ATX Mid Tower Case ($99.99 @ Microcenter)
Power Supply: XFX ProSeries 750W 80 PLUS Gold Certified ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply ($109.99 @ Newegg)
Total: $1613.92
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2013-08-04 09:23 EDT-0400)


Nzxt 810 is good for custome watercooling

http://pcpartpicker.com/part/nzxt-case-casw810m1


System with 2 Gtx 690 use ~ 750w on load.
750w for sli/crossfire on a good quality psu is plenty.
m
0
l
August 4, 2013 2:27:40 PM

jinayhvora said:
2x770 is the best IMO
low profile means low height so it doesn't block the CPU Cooler
warning-do not try overclocking on the stock cooler


So I am going to get the Gigabyte GeForce GTX 770 OC Edition 4GB in sli, (i might have to get 3). The PSU should be alright if I am going to overclock everything to the max. I dont know what RAM to get though. Can you please help in which ram, I would like to try and get a 1x8gb kit but I dont ming if it is 2x4gb. I would like it a reasonable speed too.

Also will this computer be able to run most games on highest setting at 2560x1440 on my asus pb278q?
Cheers
m
0
l

Best solution

a b à CPUs
a b V Motherboard
August 4, 2013 7:28:42 PM

Those graphics cards will be obsolete within the next few months.

Currently the industry in based on the 28nm fab process out of TSCM(Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing). It's tech dating from late 2011. AMD(Volcanic Islands) and nVidia(Maxwell) will be making the switch to 20nm. This will be a (real) generation jump, so although current GPU's will still be ok; they will be graphically weak and inefficient(gigaflop per watt) compared to the new cards.

I'd cheap out, get one card(so you can junk it)... and buy a high end Maxwell GPU upon release(or two for SLI) and be "state of the art" for ~ 2 years:) 
Share
August 4, 2013 9:07:06 PM

wdmfiber said:
Those graphics cards will be obsolete within the next few months.

Currently the industry in based on the 28nm fab process out of TSCM(Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing). It's tech dating from late 2011. AMD(Volcanic Islands) and nVidia(Maxwell) will be making the switch to 20nm. This will be a (real) generation jump, so although current GPU's will still be ok; they will be graphically weak and inefficient(gigaflop per watt) compared to the new cards.

I'd cheap out, get one card(so you can junk it)... and buy a high end Maxwell GPU upon release(or two for SLI) and be "state of the art" for ~ 2 years:) 


Cheers
I was originally going to wait for the new AMD series GPUs to come out. However I don't really like the software and the way they run so I scratched that out. The only reason why I though 2x 770's would be good was so I could run my asus pb278q monitor at 2560x1440.

Now that you put it that way I am really unsure know. I mean, it is recommended that one 780 for 1440p and 2x 770 for 1440p for stable frame rates (that is also including the new wave of games coming).

I think I will still look around for the best card for money that can run my games at max (i am now leaning towards the 780 because it is high end and I can upgrade it latter to two).

When do you think these 'new' GPUs' will be released?

also on another note is the rest of the build good?
I have decided to get: http://pcpartpicker.com/part/gskill-memory-f32400c11d8g...

Also I am really torn between the 650d and 500r?
I want a case that is a good price and has good fans at front, back ,top and bottom. Good for cable management and good for a custom water cooling loop.

Cheers
Sorry if that is really long
m
0
l
a b 4 Gaming
a b à CPUs
a b V Motherboard
August 5, 2013 2:57:02 AM

yes, get the Gigabyte 4GBs, even if new ones come out the 770 is not gonna get obsolete so soon, for duall 770s and OC i would go for 850W
m
0
l
!