Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question
Solved

Review/tips/opinion about my build

Last response: in Systems
Share
August 12, 2013 6:49:43 AM

Mobo: Gigabyte Z77-ud3h
CPU: 3570k *stock*
GPU: gigabyte gtx 670 sli
RAM: 8GB Corsair vengeance 1600 c9
PSU: Corsair ax860
HDD: WD caviar blue 2gb

Here are photos.

http://postimg.org/gallery/71hsmm1e/

Only just got the new motherboard and extra 670 so the photos are without the other GTX 670 installed.

I will be getting a SSD soon.

I plan on overclocking the CPU to about 4.2 since in using a Master Cooler V6GT for aesthetics. Any tips, opinions or thoughts?
August 12, 2013 7:00:05 AM

Sounds like a solid build. The PSU confuses me in terms of having probably twice as much power as you need, but it doesn't hurt anything to have too much power. If you have an aftermarket cooling system for that CPU overclocking it should be pretty easy.

Best solution

a b U Graphics card
August 12, 2013 7:08:16 AM
Share

Yea seems great. Except getting the SSD like you are already doing, I don't think you have much room to upgrade. I mean obviously you can upgrade CPU's but for gaming you won't really notice a change. Your system is already about as good as you are going to get.
Related resources
August 12, 2013 7:13:02 AM

ncasolo said:
Sounds like a solid build. The PSU confuses me in terms of having probably twice as much power as you need, but it doesn't hurt anything to have too much power. If you have an aftermarket cooling system for that CPU overclocking it should be pretty easy.



I actually was stressing about if I had enough power in my PSU to run 2 670's and an overclocked 3570k haha
a b U Graphics card
August 12, 2013 7:25:59 AM

lol yea you aren't way over cutting your power requirements. If you have 860w I would say you will be fine, but if you had very much less at all I would be worried about having enough power too.
August 12, 2013 7:40:31 AM

Replace your HDD with a Seagate Barracuda 1TB. Its cheaper and is faster.
Also why not get 2 760's in SLI rather then 670's? 760 performs betters then 670.
a b U Graphics card
August 12, 2013 7:44:34 AM

The 670 actually still performs better than the 760 but only by a small amount. I would agree it better still to get dual 760's. Newer and less power usage, overclock well.
August 12, 2013 9:01:12 AM

O g blayzie said:
ncasolo said:
Sounds like a solid build. The PSU confuses me in terms of having probably twice as much power as you need, but it doesn't hurt anything to have too much power. If you have an aftermarket cooling system for that CPU overclocking it should be pretty easy.



I actually was stressing about if I had enough power in my PSU to run 2 670's and an overclocked 3570k haha


I actually overlooked the SLI. I guess I would have expected to see 2x or something eventhough SLI is obviously 2 cards. Yeah 860 is more than enough, but not nearly as excessive as I initially thought.

!