HD 6950 Refuses to Work with Any OS

NullCoding

Honorable
Aug 12, 2013
I recognize the title may be a bit confusing, so allow me to elaborate:

I have built two custom machines and am currently accruing parts for a third. I also work as a professional computer repair technician and have for several years now. I'd like to say I know what I'm doing...but right at this moment, I kinda don't anymore.

I have an XFX HD-695A-CNFC HD Radeon 6950 I got as a gift at the end of 2011. It worked great until one of the 250mm side fans in its surrounding case died and I de-commissioned it for fear it would overheat. The second 250mm fan died a week later (don't buy XClio I guess?) and I am just going to sell the case for scrap now.

I also have two Gigabyte HD 6850s that run considerably cooler. I had them CrossFire'd in my second build until the PSU quite literally blew up after two months and the manufacturer generously replaced it for only half the original cost. I smartly removed the two GPUs and replaced them with the single 6950 that still draws much less power than two cards!

This machine runs Windows 7 Home Premium x64, or at least it's meant to. It will only boot to Safe Mode. I initially blamed drivers, but after much fussing and fighting with stupid automatic driver installations, I managed to get the latest Catalyst installed only to have the machine BSOD after the Windows splash screen just as it did every time I tried to boot anything but Safe Mode.

Tried to install Ubuntu onto another HDD. Couldn't even get past GRUB - apparently Linux + Radeon = lol black screen nice try though. No onboard graphics on this Phenom II X4 965 or the motherboard itself, so that experiment ended fast.

Tried to install Windows 8 on yet another HDD and it failed horribly. Screen glitches and artifacts up and to add insult to injury, "the installation could not be completed, please restart installation." The graphics card is causing some sort of fatal error. But why?!