Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question
Solved

Need an opinion between these two computers

Last response: in CPUs
Share
August 13, 2013 4:01:44 PM

Now I know these arent the best options for the money,but I have a qvc gift card and want to use it on a computer. Both models are the same except for the CPU.Which one would be better for gaming? I obviously will be upgrading to a video card that will be more than enough. Here are both options. Im guessing most will say the i5 but I just wanted to get a second opinion

Thanks!!


http://www.qvc.com/HP-Envy-700-Desktop-PC---AMD-Elite,-...$uslarge$




http://www.qvc.com/HP-Envy-700-Desktop-PC---Core-i5,-8G...$uslarge$







More about : opinion computers

a c 161 U Graphics card
a c 210 à CPUs
August 13, 2013 4:28:49 PM

Unfortunately they seem to be having technical issues, can not get on the site.
m
0
l

Best solution

a c 91 U Graphics card
a c 79 à CPUs
August 13, 2013 4:31:31 PM

the i5 will be much better for gaming. the A-series are for when you don't have the money to buy a cpu and gpu, then you buy one of them and get middling cpu performance with a middling integrated GPU. If you're putting a discrete GPU in, definitely go with the i5.
Share
Related resources
a b U Graphics card
a b à CPUs
August 13, 2013 4:36:12 PM

Jaxem said:
the i5 will be much better for gaming. the A-series are for when you don't have the money to buy a cpu and gpu, then you guy one of them and get middling cpu performance with a middling integrated GPU. If you're putting a discrete GPU in, definitely go with the i5.


+1, this is on the money. Go with i5 with a dedicated GPU, A10 with no dedicated GPU if you plan on gaming.
m
0
l
a c 161 U Graphics card
a c 210 à CPUs
August 13, 2013 4:40:23 PM

OK i still can not see the links. LOL

Anyway, I can see these are HP machines?

DO NOT GO FOR PREBUILDS. You can get BETTER, cheaper and more reliable machine by building one yourself.
m
0
l
a b U Graphics card
a b à CPUs
August 13, 2013 4:45:42 PM

Novuake said:
OK i still can not see the links. LOL

Anyway, I can see these are HP machines?

DO NOT GO FOR PREBUILDS. You can get BETTER, cheaper and more reliable machine by building one yourself.


I agree, but the OP has gift cards. That is the only reason they are buying these PCs
m
0
l
a c 161 U Graphics card
a c 210 à CPUs
August 13, 2013 4:48:15 PM

kirilmatthew said:
Novuake said:
OK i still can not see the links. LOL

Anyway, I can see these are HP machines?

DO NOT GO FOR PREBUILDS. You can get BETTER, cheaper and more reliable machine by building one yourself.


I agree, but the OP has gift cards. That is the only reason they are buying these PCs


Still would not TOUCH prebuilds. :)  Just not worth the trouble. Get them, sell them still in the box and get new ones.
m
0
l
a c 91 U Graphics card
a c 79 à CPUs
August 13, 2013 4:50:17 PM

For HP's the main issue is usually just weak PSU's, the boards are usually ASUS made and good quality.
m
0
l
a c 161 U Graphics card
a c 210 à CPUs
August 13, 2013 4:51:17 PM

Jaxem said:
For HP's the main issue is usually just weak PSU's, the boards are usually ASUS made and good quality.


You mean Foxconn made? :D 
And not weak PSU, DANGEROUS PSUs.
m
0
l
a c 91 U Graphics card
a c 79 à CPUs
August 13, 2013 4:55:27 PM

I've never had one Foxconn made...then again, i haven't had one in quite a while, i guess it would make sense that they would go to a cheaper company. But yeah, the PSU's are trash, so if OP insists on buying/keeping the HP, replace the PSU before you even think about the GPU upgrade.
m
0
l
a b U Graphics card
a c 145 à CPUs
August 13, 2013 6:10:36 PM

yes you will need a new better power supply if you want to install a gaming class gpu.

QVC needs to be put out of business, both these desktops are $200 cheaper at bestbuy, brand new. I'd sell the giftcards at 90 cents on the dollar and buy elsewhere or, better yet, build my own.
m
0
l
!