7970-Lagging and stuttering and skipping frames,low usage,random FPS.

masakruwolverine

Distinguished
Sep 14, 2011
Brand new GPU bought from a trusted guy.
I used to have a 7850 which played games at lower FPS but no stutter was involved.
I can't play anything on this!
God damn it,please help me...
I run it with a Core i7 860 at 4.0Ghz and I can't play anything without lag or frame skipping or stutter and so on.
I have a PSU by Cooler Master,Real Power M620 80PLUS.
I've tried everything.
Windows reinstall,latest drivers,I get same scores in Fire Strike Extreme as people running better CPUs yet in games it goes crazy,everything's unplayable.
Yes,I do max the games at 1080p but no all the settings and there's no reason for havng 120FPS now and all of the sudden freezes,stutters,skips,etc..
I runs stable at 12V with drops of 11,6 max.
It also runs at the clocks it should run in games,it also has a nice temp of 60C.
There's nothing else I can try.
Runs good and cool in Windows and shows no errors.
I've checked everything.

What next?
Please,help me guys,just tell me what's wrong so I can buy or fix it.

Solution
I've just fixed it today,thank God.
My CPU overclock was really stable in stress tests yet in real life it needed more voltage to run properly,just a little so the stutter can go away . (as linpack tests confirm now).
Raised the voltage,lowered the multiplier and I've also raised my memory really close to their factory clocks and manually set latencies.(I was running them downclocked before).
Everything excellent now.
Crysis 3,max settings,50 FPS to 34FPS,that sounds decent,right?
I get slowdowns,but you can tell that it's not a stutter,it's caused by a really stressed GPU.
Cheers guys and thanks for all your help!
Happy,happy,happy ! :D

bero213

Honorable
Aug 5, 2013