Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question
Solved

Building a Custom Gaming PC-- Need Opinions!

Last response: in Components
Share
August 21, 2013 1:17:23 AM

So I have been thinking about building my own custom gaming PC and I'd like to receive opinions via the web on whether my hardware & specs are good. I'm looking to build a solid rig that can play games like Battlefield 3, COD Black Ops I & II, Modern Warfare, Skyrim, GTA, Madden 12+, Counter Strike: Global Offensive, World of Warcraft, Outlast, and even the infamous Crysis series on MAX settings SMOOTHLY averaging 60 to 100fps.

Here is the list of hardware I have chosen for my budget. (My budget is roughly $2500 - $2850)


Here's the hardware I have listed to buy via Newegg:

Computer Case: Antec 1200 V3 ATX Full Tower
Power Supply: Antec HCP-1300 Platinum 1300W ATX12V
Motherboard: MSI Z87-GD65 LGA HDMI SATA 6Gb/s ATX Extreme OC Triple CFX/SLI
CPU/Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K Ivy Bridge 3.5GHz (3.9GHz Turbo) Quad-Core
RAM: Corsair Dominator Platinum 16GB (4 X 4GB) 240 pin DDR3
Hardrive: Western Digital Black WD2002FAEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s

Graphics Card: Nvidia EVGA GeForce GTX 670 FTW Signature 2 2GB (x2 with SLI)
Optical Drive: LITE-ON Black SATA DVD-ROM Drive
Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium (64bit)

So I'm wondering, most of all-- whether the graphics card I selected would run a lot of those games at max settings between 60fps to 100fps and maybe greater

Obviously I am planning on purchasing two GTX 670s so I can hook em' up with SLI and get even greater performance- and of course overclock them.

If anyone has ANY idea what performance I'll have with the following hardware, PLEASE let me know! I want suggestions as well! If the graphic cards won't get my desired job done, which cards will??

Thanks!

Best solution

August 21, 2013 1:28:50 AM

Three things caught my eye:

1) Your motherboard is for Haswell CPUs and won´t work with your selected CPU. Either choose another CPU or another board.
2) What do you need a 1300W PSU for? You might need something like that for x4 SLI but not for one GPU.
3) As for your GPU: I personally would rather go for a single 7** GPU with an option of adding another one later on should you really need more power.


One more thing - but that´s a highly subjective opinion - I´d probably also downgrade the HDD to something like the WD reds or something and get a SSD for the saved money.
Share
August 21, 2013 1:40:40 AM

Som3one said:
Three things caught my eye:

1) Your motherboard is for Haswell CPUs and won´t work with your selected CPU. Either choose another CPU or another board.
2) What do you need a 1300W PSU for? You might need something like that for x4 SLI but not for one GPU.
3) As for your GPU: I personally would rather go for a single 7** GPU with an option of adding another one later on should you really need more power.


One more thing - but that´s a highly subjective opinion - I´d probably also downgrade the HDD to something like the WD reds or something and get a SSD for the saved money.


Thanks!

I actually realized a bit after I posted this that I had the wrong CPU component. I meant to type in Intel Core i7 4770K Haswell 3.5GHz processor. My bad.

And as far as the GPU goes; does having two 670s honestly really improve my performance? Again, I'm trying to max out my settings- that's why I seek two GTX 670s rather than one.
m
0
l
Related resources
August 21, 2013 2:07:35 AM

It sure does. But I forgot to ask what your monitor setup is or will be.

For a single monitor, a single GPU will be enough to max out most games.
m
0
l
August 21, 2013 2:26:52 AM

Som3one said:
It sure does. But I forgot to ask what your monitor setup is or will be.

For a single monitor, a single GPU will be enough to max out most games.


I have single monitor setup. I will be using the same monitor I've been using for the last 5 years-- it's a 22" Hanns G. LCD Monitor that has a 1080p resolution ready. I mean I think my monitor settings usually go up to something like 1220x1400 (Something around there) when ever I browse the resolution options.

m
0
l
August 21, 2013 3:04:06 AM

If you stick with a single monitor setup, I really wouldn´t advice going SLI.

Just get one GPU, maybe one from the next generation.
m
0
l
August 21, 2013 11:46:20 AM

Som3one said:
If you stick with a single monitor setup, I really wouldn´t advice going SLI.

Just get one GPU, maybe one from the next generation.


What would be the cons in getting SLI with a single monitor? Doesn't it ensure max framerate either way?
m
0
l
August 21, 2013 2:10:31 PM

I´d say there are two cons:
1) I don´t know about the pricing at your location but I guess two 670 would be more expensive than a 770 or 780, right?
2) If you really feel like two 670s won´t suffice anymore in 2 years when you got your quad monitor setup (exaggerating here ;)  ), adding another one to 3x SLI would become tricky. If you get a 770/780 or whatever now, that is capable of playing all the current games at max. settings, you can easily go 2x SLI then. Don´t get me wrong, going 670 SLI now will be enough power, too.
m
0
l
August 21, 2013 6:43:47 PM

Som3one said:
I´d say there are two cons:
1) I don´t know about the pricing at your location but I guess two 670 would be more expensive than a 770 or 780, right?
2) If you really feel like two 670s won´t suffice anymore in 2 years when you got your quad monitor setup (exaggerating here ;)  ), adding another one to 3x SLI would become tricky. If you get a 770/780 or whatever now, that is capable of playing all the current games at max. settings, you can easily go 2x SLI then. Don´t get me wrong, going 670 SLI now will be enough power, too.



Hey, thanks for the info. I needed it. So it looks like I'll probably stick to the 670 4GB Sig. 2 cards with 2x SLI. Or I can go for the 770s with SLI. I know it seems kinda stupid to buy two of the same cards for SLI , but with that power, I'll be well assured to play modern games at Max settings.
Thanks for the suggestions and further information! It's well appreciated!
m
0
l
August 21, 2013 8:28:52 PM

Dan Wijas said:
Som3one said:
I´d say there are two cons:
1) I don´t know about the pricing at your location but I guess two 670 would be more expensive than a 770 or 780, right?
2) If you really feel like two 670s won´t suffice anymore in 2 years when you got your quad monitor setup (exaggerating here ;)  ), adding another one to 3x SLI would become tricky. If you get a 770/780 or whatever now, that is capable of playing all the current games at max. settings, you can easily go 2x SLI then. Don´t get me wrong, going 670 SLI now will be enough power, too.



Hey, thanks for the info. I needed it. So it looks like I'll probably stick to the 670 4GB Sig. 2 cards with 2x SLI. Or I can go for the 770s with SLI. I know it seems kinda stupid to buy two of the same cards for SLI , but with that power, I'll be well assured to play modern games at Max settings.
Thanks for the suggestions and further information! It's well appreciated!


I suggest you go with a single gpu for now, something like the gtx 780, later on if you feel you want a triple monitor setup, go sli with the 780.
m
0
l
August 22, 2013 1:35:24 AM

Dan Wijas said:
I know it seems kinda stupid to buy two of the same cards for SLI [...]

Eh...what do you mean?
m
0
l
August 22, 2013 9:01:09 AM

Som3one said:
Dan Wijas said:
I know it seems kinda stupid to buy two of the same cards for SLI [...]

Eh...what do you mean?


Huh... that just caught my eye. Its stupid to buy 2 DIFFERENT cards for sli, but eh, your choice.
m
0
l
!