Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question
Solved

Gaming System ( 1100 euros ) In need of opinions and advice .

Last response: in Systems
Share
August 23, 2013 4:42:47 AM

Approximate Purchase Date: 2 weeks


Budget Range: 1100 euros


System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming , Maybe streaming , Watching HD videos


Parts Not Required: OS , Mouse , Keyboard , Speakers .


Preferred Website(s) for Parts: e-shop.gr , plaisio.gr


Country: Greece


Parts Preferences: I would like an Intel CPU .


Overclocking: Yes , want to try it out


SLI or Crossfire: Maybe in the future ( Should i use double graphics or buy a new better card later on? )


Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080 , 1080p


Additional Comments:

As you read i live in Greece , the tax for electronics is 23% (ouch!) So the system is a bit overpriced . After tons of research i concluded in this


CASE : Fractal Design Define R4 w/ window e-shop 129
CPU : Intel i5 4670k 3.5 GHz e-shop 220
CPU COOLER : Coolermaster Hyper 212 EVO e-shop 35
MOTHERBOARD : ASROCK Z87 PRO4 e-shop 132
MEMORY : Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz (2x4) e-shop 78
GRAPHICS CARD : Gigabyte GTX 760 Windforce OC e-shop 290
HDD : Westerb Digital Caviar Green 1 TB e-shop 67
PSU : Corsair CX series Modulat 600w 80 plus bronze plaisio 75
Case Fans : BE QUIET! Silent Wings 2 120mm x 2 e-shop 46
BE QUIET! Silent Wings 2 140mm x 1 e-shop 25

TOTAL : 1095 euros

Reasons for my choices

CPU : I trust intel's products , I've never used an AMD CPU and i am not sure about their quaility , I chose Haswell over Ivy-bridge because It is newer and i consider it a better option .

Case : I love this case , everything in it is perfect , the airflow , the size , it's style !
Although it is a bit expensive .

CPU COOLER : I've read that this is the best budget CPU cooler.

Mobo: Read good reviews and ASROCK is a budget friendly reliable company .

Memory : 8 GB will be enough .

Graphics card : With tom's hardware review in mind i opted for gigabyte as it has the best cooling and is the fastest out of the other retails. Chose the GTX 760 because it is budget friendly and a good card for 1920x1080 gaming .

HDD : just wanted 1 TB HDD .

PSU : Corsair is a good brand , I've read good reviews about CX series and i think 600w will be enough ( should i buy a better PSU ? not really sure )

CASE FANS : After years of having a loud as hell pc i want to have a quiet pc this time , so i chose those fans after seeing noise levels and CMF . I am going to mount 1 120mm in the side , 1 120mm in the top and 1 140mm in the rear .






Best solution

August 23, 2013 7:02:40 AM

Looks like a very solid system :)  some thoughts: if you want to OC a bit, you'll benefit from 1866 ram instead of 1600, and you should probably get a little margin on your psu (700-750). But those are details, still a very nice build.
Share
a b 4 Gaming
August 23, 2013 7:14:26 AM

CPU - Fantastic choice!

Case - You stole my words. Seems like we both have an affinity for that case.

CPU Cooler - Great indeed. Considering its price!

Mobo - Fantastic company and model. I like both Pro4 and Extreme3 / Extreme4. But keep in mind, you need at least Extreme3 to SLI any card.

Memory - You are a wise guy indeed.

Graphics card - Windforce stays cooler and quieter than Twin Frozr / DirectCU II / Anything else so that is also something great you chose.

HDD - 1 TB is enough yes, you might want to consider an SSD later on?

PSU - Corsair is second only to Seasonic, but you don't need that much quality as its too expensive for most of the people.

Case Fans - Yeah they are good for that GPU.

-------------------------

You have decided an awesome build and I am wondering what makes you post a thread to get our advise? Everything is fantastic! :) 
m
3
l
Related resources
August 23, 2013 8:00:50 AM

Thanks for your feedback , mostly wanted opinions :)  . I will add an SSD later on but i dont have the money for it yet . I was thinking for 1866 Ram but i am not sure if i will benefit in gaming i've read it mostly helps when you render big HD videos . I will buy a TX corsair 750w PSU instead .

PS. Case <3
m
0
l
August 23, 2013 8:07:42 AM

Wouter Termont said:
Looks like a very solid system :)  some thoughts: if you want to OC a bit, you'll benefit from 1866 ram instead of 1600, and you should probably get a little marge on your psu (700-750). But those are details, still a very nice build.


Thanks for your advice regarding the PSU , can you explain me the advantages of higher MHz ram? Do they make a noticable difference?
m
0
l
a b 4 Gaming
August 23, 2013 8:08:49 AM

Ehh .. That guy probably has no clue of a system's power supply demands.

A 550W would be more than enough for an i5 4670K + GTX 760. What makes you buy 750? Are you going to SLI that card?
And for RAM, 1600 MHz is more than enough and a 1600 MHz Corsair Vengeance can be easily OCed to 1833 MHz. No games use anything more than that speed and buying faster RAM than that is a waste of money...

To be honest, no well known softwares use more than 1600 MHz of RAM.

Faster RAM makes very little difference in things as its just RAM. Its the quantity which matters. 1600 MHz is standard and plenty of speed and anything faster than that is not suggested for a PC with limited budget.
m
0
l
August 23, 2013 8:37:12 AM

About the psu: 550W would power your system, that's true, an this is thus what most people who don't have a clue about psu's would recommend. But in these modern times we like to plug an external HDD, some sound, maybe a phone in the USB, and when you do that all at the same time your 550W psu will be at 100% load or more. At such a point, about a quarter of your hard-earned money you spend on energy bills just evaporates in the air. In other words, your EFFICIENTY will be very low when using a psu without margin and this will lower the LIFESPAN of it, as well as making it impossible to upgrade or add a component later on.

About the memory: this is a more nitpicky subject, but if you like to try your hands on OCing, a lower speed ram will prohibit you to play with the FSB much, because of the integrated memory controller on the cpu. Knowing that 1600 ram and 1866 ram cost almost the same, one would be stupid not to choose the latter.

Oh, luckiest charm, I'm always polite on fora, but I can't stand personal attacks ... that's why it is a forum rule to 'attack the subject, not the person'.
m
0
l
a b 4 Gaming
August 23, 2013 8:44:15 AM

i7 3970X + GTX 660 Ti use 298W at their very peak (+ whole basic system).

Considering the calculations, no 550W would not run on its 100% and in fact would be very suitable. No sense to go for anything higher than that.

No 1600 MHz RAM prohibits you from OCing it. Corsair Vengeance certainly doesn't and prices hold around $10 difference on average. That is a pretty hefty amount, at least in India (Rs. 500) ..

And yeah, sorry for the words .. I too guess I was pretty harsh in there but that was just due to some personal issues on my side and the rage went on forums. My sincerest apologies regarding that.

Alright so here is how we can settle down on PSU requirements -

http://www.evga.com/Products/Product.aspx?pn=02G-P4-276...

Click Details. Minimum of 500W and that system would run very fine even on a 450W system.
A company always makes sure that system does not lack power with their cards installed to avoid lawsuits. That results in them listing minimum power requirement as more than adequate and required power requirement. They consider everything from SSDs to HDDs to external HDDs, to almost everything you can cram in into a system.
m
0
l
August 23, 2013 9:10:25 AM

luckiest charm said:
And yeah, sorry for the words .. I too guess I was pretty harsh in there but that was just due to some personal issues on my side and the rage went on forums. My sincerest apologies regarding that.


No probs :) 

Still, I'm staunch supporter of bigger psu's. They really operate much better with a margin (some test even show 50% load as optimal, so I'm not extreme :p ). Let's say were both equally far from optimal and say 600-650 is perfect. Besides, we can keep discussing, but in the end this is a question thread and the OP will decide based on the info we've given.

Have a nice day.
m
0
l
August 23, 2013 11:19:30 AM

I think i will opt for the higher Wattage PSU just to be safe for future updates .

EDIT: Actually as i cant upper my budget i will stick with 600 W PSU i beleive luckiest regarding that Graphics cards in order to be safe increase the needed wattage . Also in the future i think will buy a better card instead of using SLI
m
0
l
!