360 Radiator fans

Solution
Noctua NF-F12's, Silverstone Air Penetrators and Scythe Gentle Typhoons 1850's are the typically recommended radiator fans, their pretty good.
Though what fan to get depends on your radiator. If your talking a slim low FPI rad, you really dont need anything special in terms of fans. Get yourself a High FPI 80mm thick rad, you better get good fans or you will get nowhere near its potential performance.

elgydium

Honorable
Jul 14, 2013

I've tried 3x scythe gentle typhoon @ 1850rpm and wasnt too happy about them. The noise was fine but the power was kind of low for my taste. So I have a 5400rpm now, and they're like a jet engine.

Can they be fan controlled, having only 3 pins? Do the fan controllers on the market convert that? I know I need to have the 4th pin for temperature, thus manipulating the speed.
I'm not good with soldering like this guy explains.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L1vNo2CRlcs

oczdude8

Distinguished
oh yes they can! you don't need 4 pins for control. Get a good fan controller and you can adjust those babies to any speed you wish.

the 4th pin is for PWM (pulse width modulation) and its sort of a pulsing signal that mobos use to control fan speeds based on temps.

3 pin fans can be controlled the old fashioned way. Voltage. this is how fan controllers work, they send a low voltage for slow speeds and high for fast speeds.

you can get something like this:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811998100

or this with a touchscreen:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811992004

elgydium

Honorable
Jul 14, 2013

Noctua NF-F12's, Silverstone Air Penetrators and Scythe Gentle Typhoons 1850's are the typically recommended radiator fans, their pretty good.