Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question
Solved

New Graphic/Gaming Rig Build. Opinions wanted.

Last response: in Systems
Share
August 30, 2013 12:43:16 PM

I'm be ordering parts for my build in about a week and I'm finishing up the concept of it. I'm designing it for gaming and rendering (Cinema4D/3DSMax, After Effects)

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Case: Corsair Obsidian 800D
Motherboard: MSI Z87-G45 GAMING

PSU: Corsair HX Series HX850 V2 850W
or
Corsair HX Series HX100 V2 1050W

CPU: Intel Core i7-4770K 3.GHz LGA 110
Water block: Ray Storm CPU Water block

GPU: EVAG Super Clocked GTX 770 2GB
Water block: XSPC Razor GTX 770

RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
HDD/SSD: Samsung 840 PRO Series 128GB SSD (Got a spare 1TB HDD in my current PC)
Storage bay adapter for SSD: Cooler Master 3.5" to 2.5"

Optical Drive: Lite-On IHBS312-98 12X SATA Internal Blu-Ray Writer Drive
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64bit (I plan on getting another 16GB of ram in the future)

Cooling Specs:
Rad: XSPC RS360 Triple Fan Radiator
Res/Pump: XSPC X20 750 Dual Bayres/Pump
Fan controller: NZXT Sentry 2 Touchscreen Fan Controller
Fans: NZXT FZ-120mm LED Airflow Fan, Blue (x3)
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Do I plan on overclocking? More than likely. So yes.
Do I plan on SLI-ing? In the future maybe.

The triple fan rad and 850w PSU should be able to handle the CPU overclocked and a GPU. But I doubt a OC CPU and SLI GPU. I know you can fit a single fan rad at the back of the 800D and a 240mm Rad at the bottom with some moding.

And what are your opinions on this build? Is everything in this going to work?

I'm looking towards also getting a 1920x1080 monitor with it.
a b 4 Gaming
a b à CPUs
a b U Graphics card
August 30, 2013 12:48:47 PM

All looks solid and very powerful, there should be no problems there at all. Don't know why you have such a complicated CPU cooling system though when OCing a CPU usually doesn't make a huge amount of difference. Maybe consider getting a cheaper cooling option if you want to save some money. Apart from that, it looks like an awesome build :D  Hope this helps.
m
0
l
a b 4 Gaming
a b à CPUs
a c 134 U Graphics card
August 30, 2013 12:57:51 PM

I do like your build quite a lot. Only thing I would possibly change is from your power supply angle. I'd go to the AX860 a little cheaper but a bit closer to what you'd use you don't need a 1 KW PSU with your graphics card. Plus the power supply is fully modular. Plus I would also say that the likelihood that you would need 2x GTX770's is fairly small. At 1080 stick with a single card till you find the need to go out and purchase the next best single card you can afford.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

As a note with the blu ray drive. I don't know if you intend to watch blu rays at all but if you do MAKE sure you get a playback software for it. PowerDVD comes to mind it is the best I've used with my own personal rig.
m
0
l
Related resources
a b 4 Gaming
a b à CPUs
a b U Graphics card
August 30, 2013 1:02:35 PM

I agree that there is no reason for the water cooling unless you are trying to get the last 0.5% of speed out of it. The Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO is the best value and a nice Nocuta NH-C14 / D14 will give you the best in air cooling at a lower cost and higher reliability.

Frankly, for that rendering, I'd recommend a massive 32GB of RAM. You simply cannot have enough.

If you can swing it, a nice Samsung 840 EVO 250GB will allow you to put more apps on it. If you can afford even more, the EVO comes in sizes all the way up to 1TB so you could put everything on the SSD for some real performance.

I would highly recommend you get a larger monitor. At least a 24 inch 1920X1200 disply. The 27 inch 2560X1440 displays will give you a lot more working area. Again, if you can afford it, the premium 30 inch displays with a full 2560X1600 displays are perfect.

Oh, be sure to go with a low profile/no heat spreader typ RAM so any cooler will fit over it.
m
0
l
a b 4 Gaming
a b à CPUs
a c 134 U Graphics card
August 30, 2013 1:07:36 PM

babernet_1 said:
I agree that there is no reason for the water cooling unless you are trying to get the last 0.5% of speed out of it. The Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO is the best value and a nice Nocuta NH-C14 / D14 will give you the best in air cooling at a lower cost and higher reliability.

Frankly, for that rendering, I'd recommend a massive 32GB of RAM. You simply cannot have enough.

If you can swing it, a nice Samsung 840 EVO 250GB will allow you to put more apps on it. If you can afford even more, the EVO comes in sizes all the way up to 1TB so you could put everything on the SSD for some real performance.

I would highly recommend you get a larger monitor. At least a 24 inch 1920X1200 disply. The 27 inch 2560X1440 displays will give you a lot more working area. Again, if you can afford it, the premium 30 inch displays with a full 2560X1600 displays are perfect.

Oh, be sure to go with a low profile/no heat spreader typ RAM so any cooler will fit over it.



While I do agree that yes a custom water loop at this point is a bit overkill. I wasn't going to argue it really because if its something he wants to do as a personal project I wasn't going to tell him not to. Also considering the case that he is looking to purchase I can fully see why he is going water cooling the 800D is more of a water cooling case honestly.

For a professional screen I'd look towards the ASUS PB278Q 27 Inch, IPS, 2560x1440, has a stand, can pivot, rotate, height adjust just a very strong display.
m
0
l
a b 4 Gaming
a b à CPUs
a b U Graphics card
August 30, 2013 1:14:35 PM

Well, there are other valid reasons to water cool beyond overclocking. The primary one is quiet cooling, but a single 360 rad might not be able to cool both the CPU and GPU without higher RPM fans and so more noise.

The 800D should accommodate multiple rads, but since you haven't listed a budget I will go ahead and recommend a better case:
http://www.caselabs-store.com/
m
0
l
a b 4 Gaming
a b à CPUs
a c 134 U Graphics card
August 30, 2013 1:17:28 PM

Well when you break down into case labs money area you wise as well fork out for the 900D which can put rads pretty much anywhere.
m
0
l
August 30, 2013 1:32:20 PM

Proximon said:
Well, there are other valid reasons to water cool beyond overclocking. The primary one is quiet cooling, but a single 360 rad might not be able to cool both the CPU and GPU without higher RPM fans and so more noise.

The 800D should accommodate multiple rads, but since you haven't listed a budget I will go ahead and recommend a better case:
http://www.caselabs-store.com/


My budget is $3500NZD. Which I've pretty much hit. I could get a single fan rad and mount it at the back, would be a bit extra but not much. Or according to what I've found, I could mod the case and fit a duel fan rad on the bottom.

m
0
l
a b 4 Gaming
a b à CPUs
a c 134 U Graphics card
August 30, 2013 1:40:49 PM

Jesse Davie said:
Proximon said:
Well, there are other valid reasons to water cool beyond overclocking. The primary one is quiet cooling, but a single 360 rad might not be able to cool both the CPU and GPU without higher RPM fans and so more noise.

The 800D should accommodate multiple rads, but since you haven't listed a budget I will go ahead and recommend a better case:
http://www.caselabs-store.com/


My budget is $3500NZD. Which I've pretty much hit. I could get a single fan rad and mount it at the back, would be a bit extra but not much. Or according to what I've found, I could mod the case and fit a duel fan rad on the bottom.



I guess the question the other people though that have responded would be do you need a customer water loop setup?
m
0
l
a b 4 Gaming
a b à CPUs
a b U Graphics card
August 30, 2013 1:46:34 PM

Yes, it's totally fine if you just want it for looks or whatever. Just a matter of knowing what you want so we can strike the right balance.

I know that New Zealand doesn't have the best prices.
m
0
l
August 30, 2013 1:52:54 PM

bigshootr8 said:
Jesse Davie said:
Proximon said:
Well, there are other valid reasons to water cool beyond overclocking. The primary one is quiet cooling, but a single 360 rad might not be able to cool both the CPU and GPU without higher RPM fans and so more noise.

The 800D should accommodate multiple rads, but since you haven't listed a budget I will go ahead and recommend a better case:
http://www.caselabs-store.com/


My budget is $3500NZD. Which I've pretty much hit. I could get a single fan rad and mount it at the back, would be a bit extra but not much. Or according to what I've found, I could mod the case and fit a duel fan rad on the bottom.



I guess the question the other people though that have responded would be do you need a customer water loop setup?


In my opinion yes. I plan on SLI-ing in the future, and OC-ing the CPU. And I'd rather play it safe and with style. Sure in some opinions people would call it "useless" in this setup or "overkill". But since I'm going with this case, I'd rather have this "overkill"
m
0
l
a b 4 Gaming
a b à CPUs
a b U Graphics card
August 30, 2013 1:54:57 PM

Oh, and you could probably get away with a good 750W if you needed to. I would still stay with the 850W if you are certain about SLI and water cooling, but anything more is overkill.

http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages/geforce_gtx_770_sl...
505 peak watts with an overclocked i7 and SLI GTX 770s
m
0
l
August 30, 2013 2:10:50 PM

Proximon said:
Oh, and you could probably get away with a good 750W if you needed to. I would still stay with the 850W if you are certain about SLI and water cooling, but anything more is overkill.

http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages/geforce_gtx_770_sl...
505 peak watts with an overclocked i7 and SLI GTX 770s


Yeah I'm pretty solid on the 850w.

"a single 360 rad might not be able to cool both the CPU and GPU without higher RPM fans and so more noise."
So if I stay with the water cooling, what would be your suggestion on a rad? Get a 120 rad for the back or get a 240 and put it in the bottom, or go with fans with a higher RPM?
m
0
l
a b 4 Gaming
a b à CPUs
a c 134 U Graphics card
August 30, 2013 2:16:30 PM

Google Image searching 800D water cooling you'll find an assortment of different setups. Ones with one top rad one back rad or one bottom rad one top rad or one front rad one top rad. At least from my limited search.

here is an example:
http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=105739
m
0
l
August 30, 2013 3:19:56 PM

bigshootr8 said:
Google Image searching 800D water cooling you'll find an assortment of different setups. Ones with one top rad one back rad or one bottom rad one top rad or one front rad one top rad. At least from my limited search.

here is an example:
http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=105739


Yeah I'd either mount a 120 at the back or mod the case for a 240. But I'm still wondering if the 360 can cool the GPU and CPU. What do you think? Would a 360 be enough to cool those two? I know I'd need a secondary rad for the SLI.

m
0
l
a b 4 Gaming
a b à CPUs
a c 134 U Graphics card
August 30, 2013 4:32:34 PM

I would really suggest posting int he water cooling section I would think so? I'm not sure its hard for me to say because I don't have any experience in customer loops. Although I would say that I would pick up performance fans I.E., NF-12s from Noctua to pair with a radiator.
m
0
l
a b 4 Gaming
a b à CPUs
a c 134 U Graphics card
August 30, 2013 4:32:34 PM

I would really suggest posting int he water cooling section I would think so? I'm not sure its hard for me to say because I don't have any experience in customer loops. Although I would say that I would pick up performance fans I.E., NF-12s from Noctua to pair with a radiator.
m
0
l
a b 4 Gaming
a b à CPUs
a b U Graphics card
August 30, 2013 5:07:27 PM

I can give good advice on water cooling, but you should start a thread over there, specific to your loop.

If you have a good Corsair presence there in NZ, I would suggest the same fans I'm using for a quiet setup:

http://www.corsair.com/us/cpu-cooling-kits/air-series-f...

Edit: You can save some money and use low speed Yate Loon fans, but they will get loud or die after a year or two.

Then if you want to start with one rad do a push/pull on something fairly thick and serious
http://www.performance-pcs.com/catalog/index.php?main_p...
m
0
l
August 30, 2013 6:42:43 PM

Proximon said:
I can give good advice on water cooling, but you should start a thread over there, specific to your loop.

If you have a good Corsair presence there in NZ, I would suggest the same fans I'm using for a quiet setup:

http://www.corsair.com/us/cpu-cooling-kits/air-series-f...

Edit: You can save some money and use low speed Yate Loon fans, but they will get loud or die after a year or two.

Then if you want to start with one rad do a push/pull on something fairly thick and serious
http://www.performance-pcs.com/catalog/index.php?main_p...


Would the water cooling forum be the over clocking one? I don't see any "Water cooling" forums, but I see the OC forum has alot of water cooling related stuff. I made a post over on it.
m
0
l

Best solution

a b 4 Gaming
a b à CPUs
a c 134 U Graphics card
August 30, 2013 6:47:38 PM

Yea that may be your best bet here I guess they don't have one on toms. I know they do on linus's forum linustechtips http://linustechtips.com/main/forum/36-water-cooling/
Share
a b 4 Gaming
a b à CPUs
a b U Graphics card
August 30, 2013 10:10:19 PM

We used to have a specific sub-forum, but since we use the tag system now it works differently. All the water cooling stickies are in the overclocking forum, so yes that's the place to go.

For lots of comparisons and data Martin is the go to guy
http://martinsliquidlab.org/
m
0
l
!