HD 7750 turned HD 7770?? HELP!!

Gfought

Honorable
Aug 27, 2013
Has anyone every heard of a gpu being detected as something other than what it is? My sapphire HD 7750 1gb gddr5 is showing up as a 7770, which normally wouldn't be a big deal, But Its messing with the dual graphics.

system
A10-6800k
GA-F2A85X-UP4
Kingston Hyperx 1600 2 x 8 16g
sapphire hd 7750 igb gddr5
850w psu
the only thing i can think is the card went bad? idk
I'm pretty new to the whole pc building.

was working fine, But I updated Bios, "bad idea" windows wouldnt load, so i re-installed windows and instead of doing the install like i should of, "like a noob" i skipped the original drivers for apu & gpu, went strait to beta 13.8 "yet another bad decision" i deleted drivers and manual installed catalyst 13.4 drivers. it showed up as a 8670 & 8670 dual graphics in devices manager. but catalyst didn't recognize them as compatible
so i stared over. cleared cmos, just to be safe, re re-installed windows, started with the original drivers, first the on board 8670, and then 7750, and it worked. But is showing up as 7770, itll go into dual graphics but its not working like it was, before i would get average 100 fps "dfuw only thing i really have as a comparison to the before and after issue" where now i'm getting around 50 in dual mode, and 60 with the narcissistic 7750

Solution

Actually, it's not just something you should 'try'. The profiles are necessary for the driver/GPUs to handle CF in most games. Without the profiles, some (most?) games may not recognize CF and just run off one GPU.
http://sites.amd.com/us/game/downloads/Pages/crossfirex-app-profiles.aspx

Also, you may want to try one more thing. Uninstall the driver and profiles once again and run Driver Sweeper from safe mode. Have it remove any remnants of old Nvidia, AMD, and ATI graphic drivers it can find in the registry that may be conflicting. Then re-boot and install the latest driver and profiles again.