Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question
Solved

Gaming pc build. need opinions

Last response: in Systems
Share
September 1, 2013 4:43:06 AM

hello,

so my buddy decided to get a new rig and enlisted me to help him build it. he's greener than grass at the whole building thing and i'm a few tones above him, so we gathered the stuff that we think is right and would like opinions on our build:

MOBO: GIGABYTE GA-H87-D3H
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

CPU: Intel Core i5-4670 3.4 GHz
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

CPU Cooler: ZALMAN CNPS5X Performa
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

GPU: MSI GeForce GTX 760 2GB
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

RAM: Crucial Ballistix Sport 8GB
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

HDD: Western Digital WD Black 500GB
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

PSU: Nexus NX-5000 Silent PSU (not a newegg or tiger, but stocked at local shop ~80usd here)
http://www.silentpcreview.com/article1012-page1.html

CASE: Fractal Design Core 3000
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

we would prefer not to lift the costs any higher.

Thanks in advance to whoever spends their time to answer :) 

More about : gaming build opinions

September 1, 2013 5:04:07 AM

Actually you have done a great job putting together a budget gamer. While I'm not familiar with the Nexus psu brand, the 41a rail is more than enough to run what you have and still have good headroom.

Well done!

Mark
m
0
l
September 1, 2013 5:05:29 AM

thats a very solid and clean build, good job :-)
m
0
l
Related resources
September 1, 2013 5:16:08 AM

Here is better buy parts.
PCPartPicker part list: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/1yEv6
Price breakdown by merchant: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/1yEv6/by_merchant/
Benchmarks: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/1yEv6/benchmarks/

CPU: Intel Core i5-4670K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor ($219.99 @ Newegg)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($29.99 @ Microcenter)
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87-HD3 ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($119.98 @ SuperBiiz)
Memory: A-Data XPG Gaming Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($57.99 @ Newegg)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($59.99 @ Newegg)
Video Card: Asus GeForce GTX 760 2GB Video Card ($255.66 @ Newegg)
Case: Fractal Design Define R4 w/Window (Black Pearl) ATX Mid Tower Case ($79.99 @ Newegg)
Total: $823.59
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2013-09-01 08:10 EDT-0400)

For PSU price was not listetd so here is couple good deals now.
http://pcpartpicker.com/part/seasonic-power-supply-ssr7...
http://pcpartpicker.com/part/seasonic-power-supply-ss75...
http://pcpartpicker.com/part/seasonic-power-supply-ss85...

That mobo you can get getter. Gigabyte X-D3H is best value vs price mobo. But that is bit out your price range.
m
0
l
September 1, 2013 6:00:26 AM

thanks for the feedback :) 

the parts i'm personally not sure about are cpu cooler, mobo and psu.

i didn't actually research the motherboards before picked one, so maby i should upgrade for X-D3H (this one http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168... right?) ? and by the way, in what way is the D3H is better than current one? i'm not really familiar with the finer details of mobos but i just read through a comparison on gigabyte's page and i couldn't see anything seriously better in the suggested board.


The psu was a choice because of the review i posted for it. I do not know whether i need a +80 gold and 750 or more Watts that AxlFone is suggesting.

cooler. well considering my build won't be overclocked, even a stock intel heatsink should suffice but i hate them so i picked a custom cooler. it's not the most silent, not the most efficient but better than stock.

so these three things are my main concerns.
m
0
l

Best solution

September 1, 2013 6:31:35 AM

Gigabyte GA-Z87X-D3H do have SLI support H87 do have only CF support.
better VRM components in Z87 (this you can OC H87 you can not)
But then you need 4670k cpu. and cpu cooler.

If you are 100% sure that you do not OC. Then better choice (cheaper) is take intel xeon 1230V2 and B75 mobo.
Then you get kind or free SSD to your build.
PCPartPicker part list: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/1yFak
maybe not free But good buy. Leave the SSD and buy it later if you do not have budget now. Still SSD is good have in new build.
It makes programs run really much faster than old HDD.

750 psu is now just so cheap that there is not better choice in smaller ones.
Good 450-550w psu is enough for this buld.

Like this: http://pcpartpicker.com/part/rosewill-power-supply-caps...

Look review http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/Rosewill-CAPSTON...
Share
September 1, 2013 6:36:10 AM

The CPU Cooler is not needed if your not planning to overclock. The stock one will do fine.

EDIT: I saw some people even overclocked their 4670K with the stock cooler. So its perfect lol.
m
0
l
!