Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question

opinions on 2000-2500 gaming build.

Tags:
Last response: in Systems
Share
September 7, 2013 12:59:33 AM

Hi all,

I posted this in the component section a week ago but am looking fore more opinions. I am getting a system built primarily for gaming (along with some photo editing) and a budget of $2000-$2500 AU without the keyboard, mouse, headset or screen. It is primarily for FPS and will be operating at 1080p or higher screen resolution with settings on ultra in single screen configuration. I know its impossible but i want to future proof the system a little so i can upgrade sensibly and hopefully not a for a little while. This is the system i have put together but i have limited technical it knowledge and keen to know any other opinions.

CPU: intel i7 4770k 3.5GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA Z87x OC
GPU: Geforce GTX770 2GB
RAM: 2x8gb of single stick 1600MHz
SSD: Samsung 256gb 840 pro
Storage Drive: WD 2TB hard drive
Cooling: Corsair hydro H60-SE CPU cooler
Power Supply: Corsair HX-750, 750 WATT Modular 80 Plus Gold (changed to 2nd tier PSU from Casecom after reply in other post)
OS: Microsoft window 7 home premium
Case: Corsair 600T case

Any thoughts would be fantastic. I have been debating the GTX780 but the performance per dollar doesn't match the GTX770. I think i would have to increase the power supply with the GTX780 as well. Please let me know anything you think of.

Thanks in advance.
September 7, 2013 1:10:48 AM

Unless you're doing rendering, video editing etc, I would get the i5 4670k. They overclock a bit better as they run cooler (lack of HT) and if you're not doing the aforementioned, you won't notice the difference between the two when gaming. Also, it would allow you to get the better graphics card.

Oh and the 750watt PSU is more than enough for the 780.
m
0
l
September 7, 2013 1:20:50 AM

I give you an option to play at 2560x1440 (1440p) resolution with Asus PB278Q 27.0" Monitor
You can go one step foward with that.

PCPartPicker part list: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/1ATRc
Price breakdown by merchant: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/1ATRc/by_merchant/
Benchmarks: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/1ATRc/benchmarks/

CPU: Intel Core i7-4770K 3.5GHz Quad-Core Processor ($334.97 @ SuperBiiz)
CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-C14 CPU Cooler ($73.00 @ NCIX US)
Motherboard: ASRock Z87 Extreme6/ac ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($208.49 @ Newegg)
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($142.74 @ TigerDirect)
Storage: Crucial M4 128GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($139.29 @ Amazon)
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($84.98 @ Outlet PC)
Video Card: MSI GeForce GTX 770 4GB Video Card ($450.91 @ Newegg)
Case: NZXT Switch 810 (White) ATX Full Tower Case ($149.98 @ Outlet PC)
Power Supply: XFX ProSeries 750W 80 PLUS Gold Certified ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply ($89.99 @ NCIX US)
Monitor: Asus PB278Q 27.0" Monitor ($553.99 @ Amazon)
Total: $2228.34
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2013-09-07 04:20 EDT-0400)
m
0
l
Related resources
September 7, 2013 1:43:07 AM

3Dns said:
I give you an option to play at 2560x1440 (1440p) resolution with Asus PB278Q 27.0" Monitor
You can go one step foward with that.

PCPartPicker part list: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/1ATRc
Price breakdown by merchant: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/1ATRc/by_merchant/
Benchmarks: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/1ATRc/benchmarks/

CPU: Intel Core i7-4770K 3.5GHz Quad-Core Processor ($334.97 @ SuperBiiz)
CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-C14 CPU Cooler ($73.00 @ NCIX US)
Motherboard: ASRock Z87 Extreme6/ac ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($208.49 @ Newegg)
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($142.74 @ TigerDirect)
Storage: Crucial M4 128GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($139.29 @ Amazon)
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($84.98 @ Outlet PC)
Video Card: MSI GeForce GTX 770 4GB Video Card ($450.91 @ Newegg)
Case: NZXT Switch 810 (White) ATX Full Tower Case ($149.98 @ Outlet PC)
Power Supply: XFX ProSeries 750W 80 PLUS Gold Certified ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply ($89.99 @ NCIX US)
Monitor: Asus PB278Q 27.0" Monitor ($553.99 @ Amazon)
Total: $2228.34
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2013-09-07 04:20 EDT-0400)


The OP's budget was in Australian Dollars, so I'm assuming he'll only be purchasing from Australian retailers.
m
0
l
September 7, 2013 1:49:14 AM

Its 2440.41 in austalian dollars he is not off the budget
m
0
l
September 8, 2013 2:36:56 AM

Thanks for the reply. I will look into the i5 option. Thankyou for confirming the power source will be sufficient. I have been recommended against benq because of difficulty with warranties in Aus but i do like the monitor. I also have read that their gaming monitor are overpriced compared to similar options. The increased resolution would be great. I am keen on an ips screen though.
m
0
l
September 8, 2013 2:50:14 AM

Is hard to find IPS monitor 1440p for a good price is to expensive.
Here is my final offer for your budget :) 

PCPartPicker part list: http://au.pcpartpicker.com/p/1Bjpl
Price breakdown by merchant: http://au.pcpartpicker.com/p/1Bjpl/by_merchant/
Benchmarks: http://au.pcpartpicker.com/p/1Bjpl/benchmarks/

CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor ($264.00 @ PLE Computers)
CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-U9B SE2 37.9 CFM CPU Cooler ($65.00 @ PCCaseGear)
Motherboard: ASRock Z77 OC Formula EATX LGA1155 Motherboard ($199.00 @ Mwave Australia)
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($230.76 @ Mwave Australia)
Storage: Samsung 840 EVO 120GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($124.00 @ PLE Computers)
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($95.00 @ PCCaseGear)
Video Card: MSI GeForce GTX 770 4GB Video Card ($579.00 @ PCCaseGear)
Case: NZXT Switch 810 (White) ATX Full Tower Case ($199.00 @ PCCaseGear)
Power Supply: OCZ ZT 750W 80 PLUS Bronze Certified ATX12V Power Supply ($116.00 @ Mwave Australia)
Monitor: Asus PB278Q 27.0" Monitor ($625.00 @ Mwave Australia)
Total: $2496.76
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2013-09-08 19:49 EST+1000)
m
0
l
!