Solved

Transfering Data From One Hard Drive To Another.

So i used the software that is on the western digital website to make a copy of my primary hardrive(500gb) and put it on my 1tb other one. When i did so i also got a drive called System Reserved. How do i use the 1tb as my boot disc, and then would it be safe to delete the things off the 500 gb one so it was completely empty. Also how do i get rid of the System Reserved.
15 answers Last reply Best Answer
More about transfering data hard drive
  1. In the BIOS, change the boot order to have the 1TB first.
    To verify, disconnect the 500gb and boot it up. If it works, you're good, and can wipe the 500GB.

    Do not remove that System Reserved partition on the 1TB. That is boot information Windows needs to start.
    Don't remove anything until you verify that the 1TB will boot all by itself.
  2. Is there a way to hide it?
  3. Mrpot8ohed said:
    Is there a way to hide it?


    The only time you should see it is in Disk Management. If you see it elsewhere, something is not quite right.
  4. I see it when i am in computer. I see Local Disk(C:)-the 500gb, the Local Disk(F:)-the 1tb, and System Reserved(D:)
  5. those smileys are supposed to be ":
    "
  6. Mrpot8ohed said:
    I see it when i am in computer. I see Local Disk(C:)-the 500gb, the Local Disk(F:)-the 1tb, and System Reserved(D:)


    Go into Disk Management (as administrator)
    Right Click on that partition.
    Hopefully, you'll see "Change Drive Letter and Paths"
    See if there is a Remove option.

    NOTE: Tread carefully. You do not want to remove the partition, just the drive letter.
  7. I suspect this was a result of using the WD migration software. I've never seen the System Reserved get assigned a drive letter.
  8. i see the cdrive, f drive, system reserved, and system reserved(D":"). The : are in quotes b/c it would make a face, but they shouldnt be there.
  9. Did it maybe copy the system reserved from the original and now i have one for the c drive and one for the f drive?
  10. Mrpot8ohed said:
    i see the cdrive, f drive, system reserved, and system reserved(D":"). The : are in quotes b/c it would make a face, but they shouldnt be there.


    Right click on the one with the D drive letter. See if you can remove just the drive letter.
  11. Alright i got rid of the D and now it doesnt show up in computer now but i still have 2 of the System reserved?
  12. Best answer
    Mrpot8ohed said:


    OK...the "D" is the System Reserved (boot info) from your original installation on the 500GB.

    Power down, disconnect the 500GB, Power up. If it boots properly (and it should) then you can wipe everything on that 500GB drive.
  13. Yep, it all worked. Thanks a lot for the help.
  14. Mrpot8ohed said:
    Yep, it all worked. Thanks a lot for the help.


    Excellent!
Ask a new question

Read More

Western Digital Storage Hard Drives Software