7950 Sapphire Vapor X Overclocked - Texture Issue

dsr07mm

Distinguished
I'm new with overclocking so I just listened my friend and I tried to overclock my new 7950.

I started by adding 50mhz after every 30-50min of playing Crysis 3 / Heaven Benchmark while my GPU was on 100% usage, my temperature with 100% usage was locked on 65c which is I guess ok ?

Those are stable settings in MSI Afterburner so far

zzw-test.png

Issue is that I'm getting random square textures in white/yellow/blue colours while I'm playing games. It's completely random for example during test in Witcher 2 on maxed out settings I had that issue always but while I was doing Crysis 3 test with 100% usage I noticed that only 2 or 3 times during 6 hours of playing, earlier today in The Raven - Legacy of a Master Thief Chapter III A Murder of Ravens (game use only 20-30% gpu) I had same textures but only on some areas, game is really not gpu/cpu intense but I experianced same textures. Also during test in State of Decay Early Access I'm experiancing those textures a lot while in PES2014, Dota 2 I dont have issues at all.

I'm wondering can that be something caused by overclocking ?

Solution
When you are overclocking you have to take small steps to be you are not jumping too far. Use known safe settings for the cpu or memory while doing this.

Every GPU has a different tolerance for voltage. You do not seem to be that hard on it voltage wise. Just keep those temps in check and you should be ok. I do allot more cpu overclocking than video card overclocking.
Overclocks can have very strange side effects from what you mentioned to full out drivers/system crashes.

I would play at stock and see if the issues still happen. If they do not, chances are that your overclock is the issue. Back the clock speeds down a bit and try again. Near the top speed for a card 50mhz is quite the jump.

at least you did not get to this point. This was a factory overclock gone bad.
sj3l.jpg

dsr07mm

Distinguished