DS 1813+ RAID Question

elite-fusion

Distinguished
Dec 16, 2011
Hello everyone,

Please help me with my setup. I am new to this, but I do not quite a bit about computers and such. I do not know much about RAID setup though. I currently have a Synology DS 1813+ and am looking to purchase 8 x 4TB Seagate ST4000DM000 drives.

Once I do purchase them, I was just wondering which RAID I should go with. I have tried reading up on all different types of RAIDs, but still sort of tough to understand. I came to a conclusion that RAID 10 (1+0) is the best one to go with, but just wanted to confirm with you guys.

I am mostly going to be using NAS for my MAIN backups from a few years back, along with using it for the main download destination for all my new files, which include movies, music, apps, etc...
All 6 of my Samsung TVs stream movies off the server on the network.

Not sure how the RAID works though. Say I have 8 drives with 4TB each which equals to 32TB, if it is in RAID 10 (1+0) I am assuming that I will only have use of 16TB and the rest will be used as "mirror" which will increase the read speed, but slow down the write speed, if I understand correctly that is.

What if a drive fails in either of the RAID 1's though? Will the system tell me? how easy/hard would it be to restore the system to working order? Just purchase a new drive, swap it out with the one that crashed, and pop the drive in and it will do the rest for me?

Also, not sure what exactly a Hot Spare is and/or if it can be used with RAID 10 (1+0) or not? Because I do not mind having additional drives hooked up via USB to one of the ports in the back.

I hope someone can shine some light on this.

Thank you in advance.

Solution
Hopefully your needs of fast transfer rates are not on top of your overall needs.

NAS devices are ALL using software RAID. The bigger is the volume you are going to build, the powerful it must be the NAS processor and its available RAM.