FX-6300 high cpu temp causing stress test to abort

ankken

Honorable
Oct 9, 2013
Hello I'm an absolute beginner to overclocking. I've been using this guide (http://www.overclock.net/t/1348623/amd-bulldozer-and-piledriver-overclocking-guide-asus-motherboard) to get started.

Following the guide it told me to start with the stock voltage, I wasn't sure where to see this so I set it at 1.3V @ 4.2ghz. Run prime95 and got an error on core1. Put voltage to 1.325V and prime95 passed 6 tests (wasn't sure how long to let it run).

What I've noticed is that the cpu temperature seems to be going much higher than the core temperature. When running prime95 core temp was 53C max while cpu temp was around 65C. I read around online and most people were telling to ignore cpu temp and focus on core temp.

Anyway I started a test on OCCT and cpu temp went to 66C and the test was aborted. Is it normal that the cpu temp goes this high, and is much higher than the core temp?

Just did a quick look around and saw that for your CPU 62 degrees Celsius is probably the max temp you want to reach. If your still using the stock cooler you will want to replace that immediately, I never recommend over clocking without that essential component.

Raising the voltage in the bios will increase the heat generated, so what you want to do is increase the multiplier so your core clock is where you want it to be and run your benchmarking software. If you get blue screens you want to bump up the core voltage slowly until it becomes stable, all the while monitoring temperatures making sure you never exceed your threshold. If you can't become stable without increasing your temperature safely back down your multiplier.

Just remember not all chips are created equal and you may have one that over clocks easy or doesn't. Keep your system dust free and tuck your cables away so the air doesn't get blocked.

ankken

Honorable
Oct 9, 2013