Sign-in / Sign-up
Your question
Solved

My i5 4670K build quick review before i buy it!

Tags:
  • Gaming
  • Build
  • Intel i5
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
October 19, 2013 12:02:17 AM

if this looks good and there isnt anything i should really change im buying it now!


http://pcpartpicker.com/parts/partlist/

More about : 4670k build quick review buy

a c 233 4 Gaming
October 19, 2013 1:10:55 AM

You need to provide the permalink for others to see it. That link only works on your own account.
m
0
l
October 19, 2013 1:30:49 AM

sorry.. its late.. here is my finalized list!

PCPartPicker part list: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/1QyG7
Price breakdown by merchant: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/1QyG7/by_merchant/
Benchmarks: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/1QyG7/benchmarks/

CPU: Intel Core i5-4670K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor ($227.48 @ Outlet PC)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($29.98 @ Outlet PC)
Motherboard: ASRock Z87 Extreme4 ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($144.99 @ Newegg)
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($93.99 @ Newegg)
Storage: Samsung 840 EVO 120GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($99.99 @ Amazon)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($59.99 @ NCIX US)
Video Card: Zotac GeForce GTX 760 2GB Video Card ($232.98 @ SuperBiiz)
Case: Cooler Master Elite 431 Plus (Black) ATX Mid Tower Case ($44.99 @ Newegg)
Power Supply: Corsair RM 650W 80 PLUS Gold Certified ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply ($118.34 @ Amazon)
Optical Drive: Asus DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS DVD/CD Writer ($16.98 @ Outlet PC)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium Full (32/64-bit) ($189.00 @ Adorama)
Total: $1242.71
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2013-10-19 04:30 EDT-0400)
m
0
l
Related resources
a c 233 4 Gaming
October 19, 2013 1:36:50 AM

Yeah; it looks good. An option that you can consider is swapping the GPU to a HD 7970, which costs a little more, but you get the AMD Never Settle FOREVER Gold bundle that allows you to choose 3 out of a selection of 11 games that you want for FREE. And comparatively, the HD 7970 is also a tad faster (5%). Something to consider.
m
0
l
October 19, 2013 1:41:21 AM

other than that it looks good? i have all the items ready to be purchased.. would i need any thermal compound, fans for my case, anything that isnt a major component?
m
0
l

Best solution

a c 233 4 Gaming
October 19, 2013 1:49:50 AM

The Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO comes with a Cooler Master branded thermal compound. So you do not need to purchase one. Only those picky about the 1-3C difference between top-end thermal compound would care to purchase one. But 1-3C is negligible in my book.

As for fans, you should be good. The case comes with one 120mm in front and that is it. But you can just have your Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO be in push configuration and blow it towards the rear so you don't need a fan for the rear, but it can't hurt to put an additional 120mm fan there to do a pseudo push/pull on the heatsink. You don't need fans on top because hot air naturally goes upward.
Share
October 19, 2013 1:51:30 AM

i appreciate it! im gunna add another fan... and i decided im just gunna splurge and go with the evga gtx 770
m
0
l