Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question
Solved

Budget Build for Rendering - Architectural/3d Modeling - Thoughts and Opinions?

Tags:
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
Share
October 23, 2013 9:03:23 AM

Hi guys,
This is my first build, and I was wondering if anyone could give me any notes or edits. It's a workstation for rendering and other graphic programs:
-3DS Max w. VRAY
-CS6
-Rhinoceros
-AutoCad
-Revit

I had a tight budget of $850, but cheated a bit. So we'll say the new budget is $900 (note: I'm actually saving $27 on the CPU by picking it up locally, so I am right at $900).


CPU Intel Core i5-4670K 3.4GHz Quad-Core $227.48 (-27.00)
CPU Cooler Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing $29.98
Motherboard Asus B85-PLUS ATX LGA1150 $99.46
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB) DDR3-1333 $124.99
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM $59.98
Video Card Asus GeForce GTX 660 2GB $179.98
Case NZXT Source 210 Elite (White) ATX Mid Tower $42.98
Power Supply Corsair 650W ATX12V / EPS12V $56.50
Optical Drive Lite-On iHAS124-04 DVD/CD Writer $14.99

Operating System Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 (OEM) (64-bit) $87.98

Total: $897.32

http://pcpartpicker.com/user/maninthedark21/saved/2DP2



Thanks!

More about : budget build rendering architectural modeling thoughts opinions

October 23, 2013 9:08:00 AM

You want an I7. Rendering utilizes HT.
m
0
l
October 23, 2013 9:43:10 AM

I considered it, but the cheapest i7 puts me at nearly 120% of original budget. Seeing as it is a budget build, I'm willing to sacrifice speed for time being.

Would you consider it a must?

thanks
m
0
l
Related resources
October 23, 2013 9:47:59 AM

maninthedark21 said:
I considered it, but the cheapest i7 puts me at nearly 120% of original budget. Seeing as it is a budget build, I'm willing to sacrifice speed for time being.

Would you consider it a must?

thanks


Yeah, it's a must for the stuff that you are doing. Why don't you ditch the OS and get a bootleg? (I'll teach you how to install a bootleg properly. ) (I've never bough OS in my life)

Then you'll have $88 to add to I7 purchase.
m
0
l

Best solution

October 23, 2013 9:54:45 AM

And Don't get that ram. 1600Mhz at least. and 2x8GB

So it will look something like this
http://pcpartpicker.com/p/1Sh9D

BTW you can't SLI with that MOBO if you care.
Share
October 23, 2013 9:56:56 AM

WarWolverineWarrior said:
maninthedark21 said:
I considered it, but the cheapest i7 puts me at nearly 120% of original budget. Seeing as it is a budget build, I'm willing to sacrifice speed for time being.

Would you consider it a must?

thanks


Yeah, it's a must for the stuff that you are doing. Why don't you ditch the OS and get a bootleg? (I'll teach you how to install a bootleg properly. ) (I've never bough OS in my life)

Then you'll have $88 to add to I7 purchase.


Bootleg is generally my method of choice, but sometimes programs are fineky, so it makes me super paranoid when I'm dealing with an OS. But if you have a proven method, I might just have to take you up on that offer.
m
0
l
October 23, 2013 10:17:28 AM

WarWolverineWarrior said:
And Don't get that ram. 1600Mhz at least. and 2x8GB

So it will look something like this
http://pcpartpicker.com/p/1Sh9D

BTW you can't SLI with that MOBO if you care.



From what I know, SLI will never really apply for my use. Thanks a ton for the advice.
m
0
l
October 23, 2013 10:18:48 AM

maninthedark21 said:
WarWolverineWarrior said:
And Don't get that ram. 1600Mhz at least. and 2x8GB

So it will look something like this
http://pcpartpicker.com/p/1Sh9D

BTW you can't SLI with that MOBO if you care.



From what I know, SLI will never really apply for my use. Thanks a ton for the advice.


No Problem :) 
m
0
l
October 23, 2013 12:58:30 PM

WarWolverineWarrior said:
And Don't get that ram. 1600Mhz at least. and 2x8GB

So it will look something like this
http://pcpartpicker.com/p/1Sh9D

BTW you can't SLI with that MOBO if you care.


Not to mention that RAM is triple channel meant for older X58 systems, it won't work on a dual channel Z87. I would also get a different motherboard if you're planning to use a 4670K, B85 does not allow access to the multiplier, which defeats the purpose of owning a 4670K.
m
0
l
October 23, 2013 1:14:38 PM

g-unit1111 said:
WarWolverineWarrior said:
And Don't get that ram. 1600Mhz at least. and 2x8GB

So it will look something like this
http://pcpartpicker.com/p/1Sh9D

BTW you can't SLI with that MOBO if you care.


Not to mention that RAM is triple channel meant for older X58 systems, it won't work on a dual channel Z87. I would also get a different motherboard if you're planning to use a 4670K, B85 does not allow access to the multiplier, which defeats the purpose of owning a 4670K.


Thnx. I overlooked that.
m
0
l
October 23, 2013 10:38:43 PM

Thanks guys.
m
0
l
!