FX-6300 overclock to 4.0 was successful, to 4.2 was not.. Any help?

Danyn

Honorable
Oct 23, 2013
I'm a complete newbie to overclocking but I would like to learn how to do it. I don't really need it but I'm the kind of guy that likes pushing things to the limit and it helps whenever I do play cpu intensive games once in a while. I have a FX-6300 overclocked to 4.2 ghz with a 212 evo keeping it cool. I went into the bios and left all the voltages and stuff at normal. I changed my ram so it's at 1600mhz instead of 1333. I overclocked it by changing my CPU ratio to 21. I left the fsb at 200 and turned off turbo as well. I turned off all power saving features and I'm not exactly sure what to do now. Everything was perfectly fine when I overclocked to 4.0 last night by doing the same thing but when I try and get it to 4.2 I get various errors.

My build is here and I have the latest bios: http://ca.pcpartpicker.com/b/GSE

These are some CPU-Z pictures with everything at idle
Ox60lbG.png

yGB05t8.png

hJgKt1i.png

When I run cinebench everything is fine
j0B3C8V.png

This picture is a before pic I took before running Prime95. Prime95 ran for maybe 10 minutes and then I bsod.
nstgH9n.png

Here's a pic of the errors I got.
NZ8SQSp.png

Danyn

Honorable
Oct 23, 2013

I took a few pictures of my bios, maybe you could guide me through which ones I should change. Ignore the 20 in the first picture, I took the screenshots when I was OC'ing to 4.0. The only thing changed is the 20 in the first picture, it should be a 21.

SLhOa6I.png

2MN2nIX.png

LEZmVcD.png

Danyn

Honorable
Oct 23, 2013

Bear with me, I'm a complete noob. If the label actually said vcore I would probably have less trouble but as is I have no idea which one's vcore. Also, is it better to have it in offset mode or manual?

ok. didn't notice your post, sorry about that. here is where you go.

Set CPU&NB Voltage to Manual
change CPU voltage from Auto to Manual