Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question
Solved

Need some opinions on this PSU.

Tags:
  • HIS
  • Components
Last response: in Components
Share
October 24, 2013 9:47:50 AM

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

I was going through the reviews and they were all excellent everybody seems to love it until I got to one guy who said it caused his entire system to blow up. He says it blew up his motherboard and his cpu. Has anyone had any experience with this thing? Im looking for a solid psu to go along with my gtx 650ti boost and I figured the 530 watts should cut it, its modular, has a blue LED which is nice cause I have blue led fans all around my rig, and its only 50 bucks plus I can use the 15% off promo code making it more like 40 bucks. Shipped for free. What do you guys think?

also, should fit/be compatible with my case no problem, correct?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

More about : opinions psu

October 24, 2013 9:55:19 AM

Your PSU is ATX and that you want to buy is ATX also. Will fit well.
m
0
l
October 24, 2013 9:55:45 AM

Don't mess around with cheaper psu's. Just spend a few extra bucks on a name brand. At least just for the peace of mind.
m
0
l
Related resources
October 24, 2013 10:00:18 AM

Troof, would you consider this a cheap psu? I know that I shouldnt cheap out on the PSU, but i was originally gonna go with the corsair cx600 which i can get for 60 bucks but theyre offering a promo making it around 50 bucks. but then i saw this for 50 bucks with the promo code right now for a limited time making it 42$ and change. i thought it might still be considered as a decent PSU. and i like the LED fan haha. so this thing is junk in your opinion? not a reputable brand? it seems nice...
m
0
l
October 24, 2013 10:02:58 AM

Get this unit , and read info below.

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

Power Supply: XFX 550W 80 PLUS Bronze Certified ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply ($44.99 @ NCIX US)
Total: $44.99
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2013-10-24 13:02 EDT-0400)



Tier 5 - Other than the units listed above for any of these brands, NOT RECOMMENDED. Replace ASAP if you have one.

A-TOP Technology
Apevia
APEX (SUPERCASE/ALLIED)
Aspire(Turbo Case)
ATADC
Athena Power
ATRIX
Broadway Com Corp
Coolmax
Deer
Diablotek
Dynapower USA
Dynex
EagleTech
FOXCONN
FSP Everest
HEC Orion
Hiper Type-R
Huntkey
I-Star Computer Co. Ltd
In Win
JPAC COMPUTER
Just PC
Kingwin Inc.
Linkworld Electronics
Logisys Computer
MGE
MSI
NMEDIAPC
Norwood Micro/ CompUSA
NorthQ
NZXT
Okia
Powmax
Q-Tec
Raidmax <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
Rocketfish
Rosewill
SFC
Shuttle
Skyhawk
Spire Coolers
Star Micro
STARTECH
Thermaltake Purepower NP
Thermaltake Purepower RU
Thermaltake TR2 (and TR2-RX)
TOPOWER TOP
Ultra X-Connect
Ultra X2 >greater than 700 watt
Ultra LSP
Wintech
XION
YoungYear
Zebronics
m
0
l
October 24, 2013 10:05:37 AM

heres my system
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboBundleDetails.aspx?I...

i want to add a gtx 650 ti boost 2gb and a power supply. possibly down the road upgrade my psu to a fx6300 and my heatsink and fan to something better. after that im going to be done with it. will a 500w psu suffice? im trying to save $ anywhere i can. if i dont need 600 for what i listed i wanted to do, then id like to just grab a 500w or a 530w. keep throwing what youd recommend at me guys. im going to run an errand then come back and place an order.
m
0
l
October 24, 2013 10:06:38 AM

Get the one i just linked above, it's a great unit made by SEASONIC.
m
0
l
October 24, 2013 10:19:38 AM

The XFX above is an excellent unit. The EVGA's above are good budget units if you are hard pressed on money and better than the Corsair CX series.
m
0
l
October 24, 2013 3:34:58 PM

ive decided im going to go with the EVGA PSU. now I dunno whether to get the 500 or 600. id love to get away only spending 45 bucks rather than 60 if the 500 will suffice. one review on the 500 reads as follows

"has enough power and protection for my build, cables are all sleeved, running a amd 6300 with 8 gigs of ram and a evga 650 ti boot 2 gig 192 bit, cd/dvd drive, i ssd and a 500 gig wd black hd. with 5 120mm led fans. and still have watts/amps to spare. also evga honors there rebates!!!!!!. buy it!"

so thats basically me. I got a fx4300, 8 gigs of ram, 1TB hd instead of 500gig, dvd drive, i only have 2 fans( probably add 1 more for my GPU), and im going to be adding the 650ti boost just like he has! and then itll be done. so will 500 be enough? i believe that GPU is a 450 min. card so is that cutting it too short?
m
0
l
October 24, 2013 3:36:25 PM

500 watts is good for that. The recommended size listed for the GPU is for the whole system so 500 is actually more than the 450watts required.
m
0
l
October 24, 2013 3:40:50 PM

okay cool. you guys rule. thank you very much. this evga PSU has 5 stars across the board everywhere and everybody seems to love it. barely one complaint in the 50 reviews i read.
m
0
l
October 24, 2013 3:43:42 PM

one more thing...500w EVGA PSU > 600w corsair cx600? cause ill pay 45 for the EVGA and with the promo new egg is offering til tomorrow, the cx600 will come out to $50.99. i usually dont bother with rebates.
m
0
l
October 24, 2013 3:46:36 PM

Either both got good rep. I bother with rebates and always get them, little pocket money in 8-10weeks never hurts for a few min work and postage stamp.
m
0
l
October 24, 2013 3:56:05 PM

my PSU sits at the top of my case, with where the fan part would be of the PSU probably up against the top of my case flush. how would that fan even work? O_o every image of a computer i see either PSU in, its sitting at the bottom, with a clear open space for the fan to circulate above it. now im confused again

edit-there is maybe a quarter inch inbetween the psu and the top of my case. i think i feel air coming out of the space too. kind of weird how that is set up.
m
0
l
October 24, 2013 4:01:37 PM

Top mounted PSU you face the fan down into the case, bottom mounted PSU you still face the fan down to suck cool air through the vent in the bottom. On the bottom mount though you can face it up just in case you have the computer on a carpeted floor or for some other reason you do not want to suck up dirt from what ever it is standing on. In that config it might though be competing for air with the GPU depending on case and config.
m
0
l
October 24, 2013 4:04:58 PM

i got a 120mm intake fan, an 80mm exhaust fan, and ill have a top mounted psu with the fan facing down, and im thinking ill throw another 80mm fan on the side of my case to blow at the GPU. that should be it. no good? didnt quite understand that last part.
m
0
l
October 24, 2013 4:15:35 PM

chrisgregory said:
i got a 120mm intake fan, an 80mm exhaust fan, and ill have a top mounted psu with the fan facing down, and im thinking ill throw another 80mm fan on the side of my case to blow at the GPU. that should be it. no good? didnt quite understand that last part.


The last part was about bottom mounted PSU having a fan sucking air out of the same area in the Case as the Graphics card fan is sucking the air from. Not a problem with single GPU but if you have a second card in a low slot it can become an issue.
In any case you have top mounted PSU so no worries.
I would stay away from 80mm fans and try to get more 120mm fans that spin slower and move more air for a more quiet operation.
m
0
l
October 24, 2013 5:19:44 PM

ended up with the cx600 because it came down to the evga 500w for 45 or the cx600 for 50 so i snagged that extra 100 watts just incase i ever need it for 5 bucks. although im kind of regretting it now because having gone over this thread again just now, i forgot you had told me the evga's are better than the cx series. i hope whatever is better isnt too significant. if the 600 watts is what i was after, i really should have just broken down and paid 60 for evga 600w. yeah yeah, i know. shit. oh well. i should be happy either way. the cx600 was initially my gut and ive changed my mind 100 times since and it finally ended up just being the cx600. i think why i wanted it so bad is because ive seen a lot of really impressive builds on youtube using it. im a bit of a noob, but i learn fast. i bought a DIY combo and had a buddy assemble it but i paid attention and im doing everything to it from here on out, and am pretty sure i can assemble one now if i had to. plan on ordering another DIY rig in the hopefully not too distant future and i wanna spend a good amount of money so ill really be taking a risk but i think i got it. of course i can probably get my friend again for help if needed. anyway hope i made a good choice on the psu! really happy to get that stock logysis one out of there either way. thanks for the help. ill be back for more. (help) lol
m
0
l
October 24, 2013 5:22:55 PM

It is not by much both are budget builds. The CX will do fine.
m
0
l
October 24, 2013 6:08:00 PM

Can I ask you a couple other questions? You seem to know a few things. First about overclocking. Do you think I should replace my heatsink and fan if i want to even think about doing it? I'm running an fx-4300 using the stock heatsink and fan that came with it. If so, any recommendations? (any good ones equipped with blue leds!?) And I know in order to OC, replacing my PSU was the first thing Id need to do. Im under the impression that changing my CPU heatsink and fan would also be required. Assuming so, and taking the fact I now have a new PSU coming, is anything else necessary for a safe OC?

My next step is my GPU - the gtx 650ti boost 2gb is what I have in mind. I asked on here and a lot of people told me to go with that when taking what I was looking to spend into consideration. Someone linked me to an EVGA edition but I saw that multiple companies make the same exact card if Im not mistaken. EVGA, MSI, ASUS etc. Does it matter which one I go for?

Anyway so I will be running...GIGABYTE 760G AM3+ MoBo, AMD FX-4300 Quad-Core CPU, CORSAIR XMS 8GB MEM, LG 24X DVD Burner, TOSHIBA 1TB HDD, Corsair CX600 PSU, LOGISYS ATX Case w/ 2 blue led fans. And Im going to grab another 120mm fan for when I have my GPU. After installing the new PSU and installing the GPU, I'm going to be done with the very small exception of wanting to upgrade to the fx-6300 a couple months down the road. Now will that be as simple as taking the 4300 out, replacing it with the 6300 chip, and snapping the heatsink back on and hitting ON and Im good to go? Also, whatever heatsink and fan I buy for my current CPU, will it work on the new 6300 when I decide to buy it? I want to grab the new heatsink a lot sooner than ill be grabbing the new CPU, I just want to know that when I do purchase the new CPU, my nice new heatsink and fan will work with it. If not I will wait until I replace the CPU to upgrade the heatsink.

I realize im kind of all over the place with this sorry about that. If youre uncertain of anything I asked dont worry about it. This is the almighty internet, eventually Ill figure stuff out :)  Thanks again man.

m
0
l

Best solution

October 24, 2013 6:43:47 PM

For overclocking aftermarket fan is a must. Couple of good budget coolers CM Hyper 212 EVO http://pcpartpicker.com/part/cooler-master-cpu-cooler-r... and XigmateK Gaia http://pcpartpicker.com/part/xigmatek-cpu-cooler-gaiasd... neither has leds but the fans can be replaced with led case fans.
Here is another one on a deal with blue led http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
650Ti boost is a good mainstream card and really which brand does not matter as long it is a respectable company like the ones you mention.
You pretty much nailed it with replacing the CPU it is simple. All the Coolers will work on the same socket CPU.
Share
October 24, 2013 7:01:49 PM

rolli59 said:
neither has leds but the fans can be replaced with led case fans.


a regular 80mm case fan?
m
0
l
October 24, 2013 7:14:19 PM

it appears as though the cooler master is better than the Xigmatek out of the two you gave me. A lot better reviews plus I just think it looks a lot better. Plus ive heard of the name, the other I havent. Think I shall grab it. what does 212 evo mean? it says it has something to do with the size. im assuming thats what mostly everybody has.
m
0
l
October 24, 2013 7:31:03 PM

120mm PWM case fams with 4 pin power plug is what they use on those two coolers. The CM 212 is the most popular cooler, I actually have one and a the Xigmatek and I like the latter better since it has better fixing to the board and performs the same.
EVO is the current version last was 212+ and I guess just 212 before that.
m
0
l
October 24, 2013 7:35:30 PM

what does that mean, better fixing to the board? its easier to install? sorry.
m
0
l
October 24, 2013 8:16:05 PM

chrisgregory said:
what does that mean, better fixing to the board? its easier to install? sorry.


Basically the back retention bracket is better but similar to install but if any a little easier.
m
0
l
October 24, 2013 8:20:00 PM

got the cooler master since it managed to keep 5 out of 5 eggs after 8000+ reviews. so im happy, im basically getting rid of all the junk in my rig. after the psu and cpu cooling system upgrade i think ill be in pretty good shape.
m
0
l
October 24, 2013 8:25:26 PM

now what is this i keep reading about thermal paste. the shit that comes with the cooler master isnt any good? whats the benefits of buying an aftermarket tube of thermal paste?
m
0
l
October 24, 2013 9:28:55 PM

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168... any idea if my RAM is low or high profile? im worried now that the cpu fan might interfere with it :( . low and high profile basically means a shorter and taller sticks of ram right? thats what i got out of what i was reading. if theyre high profile theyre tall and wont allow the cpu fan to sit in place. if theyre low, they should be fine. what do you think?
m
0
l
October 24, 2013 10:31:10 PM

You are fine with that ram. It is low.
m
0
l
October 25, 2013 8:20:50 AM

good to know. thanks again. now if only i could figure out whats keeping my CPU usage at 25% at an idle id be thrilled. ive tried asking for help here on the message board but i keep getting told to open my start manager and close whatever is causing the high load. duh!!! ive scanned through all that even using process manager. theres nothing in that list causing it. theres something else going on and for a month old system it drives my OCD crazy. lol. my mothers computer sits nice and low at 0 to 5% at an idle. things ancient. pisses me off.
m
0
l
!