Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question
Solved

Looking for Opinions/Suggestions on my gaming rig build!

Last response: in Systems
Share
October 25, 2013 12:17:55 AM

Hi guys, I'm a 14 year old Singaporean student who has been stuck with a really old 7 year old computer (only had it for 2 years but it was second-hand when my parents bought it) and experience lots of difficulties playing most games(lag at 1 FPS/random disconnections) and even watching youtube videos. (stuck when buffering). Got sick of it and I became interested in building my own gaming rig a few months back. I don't play much games, so I would prefer a decent gaming rig that would last about 4 years before needing an upgrade. I just want my gaming rig to be able to play the latest games. :) 

I've put together a build and I hope that you guys can help me. I have a budget of about $900 and if you guys can help me with it, I hope to get the best bang for my buck. ^.^ I would love to hear your opinions of the build and since I spent quite a while putting it together, suggestions to improve it would be well appreciated. Thanks!

http://pcpartpicker.com/user/GrandRex/saved/2EEv

P.S. I'm a beginner at this and although I have done my research, I still need help! After reading many of the other treads, I concluded that this website is probably the best one in my knowledge to ask for opinions and suggestions. This is my first time building a gaming rig so please be nice! >.<''

Best solution

October 25, 2013 12:39:14 AM

Looks OK. I would get a 7950 or a 770 graphics card (which are both more expensive) as they will give you a big boost in gaming performance and make it a little more future proof. On a side note, the storm enforcer is a great case.
Share
October 25, 2013 2:10:47 AM

newfolder7 said:
Looks OK. I would get a 7950 or a 770 graphics card (which are both more expensive) as they will give you a big boost in gaming performance and make it a little more future proof. On a side note, the storm enforcer is a great case.


Hehe, I chose the 6850 because if I chose anything higher, it would've shot over my budget. (nearly $1000++ if I bought the 7950) I also do not play with high-end graphics on games, just some mid-range graphics will do. Thanks for your feedback tho :) 
m
0
l
Related resources
October 25, 2013 2:15:03 AM

Good luck with the build
m
0
l
October 25, 2013 10:17:41 AM

i dont think you'd need 4670K if you don't plan on overclocking?
m
0
l
October 25, 2013 3:59:41 PM

True, but he intends on keeping it for 4 years. its a good thing to have if it feels a little slow towards the end of its life.
m
0
l
October 25, 2013 9:59:20 PM

Razor88 said:
As always I would recommend AMD, especially on a budget, but if you have to go Intel, go for the Powercolor 7870 XT, it's really cheap at the moment, it's even cheaper than the 6850.

http://pcpartpicker.com/part/powercolor-video-card-ax78...


extraeee said:
i dont think you'd need 4670K if you don't plan on overclocking?


Hehe I prefer Intel as always. Would it be still worth if I decided to overclock? I would have to spend that few extra bucks on a better fan since the stock fan wouldn't be able to handle it :/ 
m
0
l
October 25, 2013 11:10:26 PM

I think it is worth it, spending an extra $40 now for a cpu cooler, might save you from needing to upgrade for an extra year.
m
0
l
October 26, 2013 12:18:03 AM

newfolder7 said:
I think it is worth it, spending an extra $40 now for a cpu cooler, might save you from needing to upgrade for an extra year.


I guess I'll just overclock from the start to save me that trouble in the years to come. Have to buy thermal paste with that cooler fan too.

So, any more tips you guys can give me on my build? Or is the build good enough? :o 
m
0
l
!