Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question
Solved

I need a CPU expert's opinion on this

Last response: in CPUs
Share
October 29, 2013 9:51:04 AM

ok so I'm in the process of building my first budget gaming PC and I'm currently stuck on which budget CPU I should get. I wanted a Phenom II X4 965 but it's discontinued. I can't find it anywhere, and I don't really want such basic component of my rig to be second hand. I don't want to get any of the FX series because those are way wayy out of my budget and the cheapest ones are still more expensive yet weaker than the Phenom, so it's a nono.
On the other hand is the Athlon II X4 750k which is a really nice budget CPU but two things about it really worry me. First one is it's a FM2 socket CPU. I really want an AM3+ motherboard so I can switch to FX series once their price decreases significantly. The other thing that worries me is that the Athlon doesn't have a L3 cache. Some people are telling me it won't make that much of a difference when gaming and others are saying the exact opposite, so what am I supposed to believe?
Games I'm willing to play are GTA IV, GTA V (once it's out for PC), Battlefield 3 and 4 and Watch Dogs. My graphics card is HD 7770. Resolution will be either 1336x768 or 1440x900 and I have no problems toning down a couple of settings in exchange for better performance. My goal is to keep my gameplay above 30fps on the games I mentioned above. Is this going to be possible If I decide to go with the Athlon II 750k?

More about : cpu expert opinion

October 29, 2013 9:58:11 AM

There are plenty of AMD3 Socket CPU/s. I personally use the AMD Phenom II X4 980 and it's everywhere at a good price. I built this system three years ago and it's got plenty of gaming power and video editing is a snap. My WEI for this machine is at the bottom of this post. (it cost me $675.00 to build this machine three years ago)

OCZ Solid State Drive - 240GB, SATA II
Corsair Hydro H60 CPU Liquid Cooling
Ultra X-Blaster ATX Black Mid-Tower Case with Clear Side
Ultra ULT40135 Performance 120mm Case Fan
Asus M4A88T-V EVO USB3 Motherboard
AMD Phenom II X4 980 HDZ980FBGMBOX Black Edition Processor
Transcend TX2000KLN-8GK aXeRam Overclocking Memory Kit 16GB
Corsair CMPSU-650TXV2 Enthusiast Series
PNY GeForce GTX 460 1GB GDDR5 PCI-e VCGGTX4601XPB

m
0
l
Related resources
a b 4 Gaming
a c 103 à CPUs
October 29, 2013 10:00:27 AM

Pay the extra and get the FX6300, socket FM2 soon to die for FM2+, with AM3+ my well follow after, but you will have a better upgrade path.

FX better at gaming than the Athlon II, which might just struggle with latest games.
m
0
l
October 29, 2013 10:22:01 AM

I can't afford a FX-6300. I might have been a little vague but my original inquiry was whether the lack of L3 cache on the Athlon II 750k will reduce performance significantly and if it's safe to get a FM2 motherboard.

@Teachmelee
I have been looking for a Phenom II X4 965 for a couple of days and it is discontinued in every store I have come across. If you don't mind I would appreciate a link to a website that still sells them
m
0
l
a c 272 4 Gaming
a c 850 à CPUs
October 29, 2013 10:24:57 AM

The 750K is a valid choice on low budget with an FM2 board. It will work well with HD7770.
m
0
l
a b 4 Gaming
a c 684 à CPUs
October 29, 2013 10:29:22 AM

What is total budget and what parts do you still need to buy with that budget?
m
0
l
October 29, 2013 10:41:15 AM

Total budget is €390:
Before I found out Phenoms were discontinued the components I had in mind were:

GIGABYTE 78LMT-S2
Phenom II X4 965
HD 7770
2x2GB 1600MHz RAM
500GB HDD
Corsair 550W VS
CM Elite 343

and those perfectly fit my budget, however I'll most likely have to change the motherboard and CPU now
m
0
l
a b 4 Gaming
a c 103 à CPUs
October 29, 2013 10:42:02 AM

Lack of L3 cache does hurt performance.
m
0
l
a b 4 Gaming
a c 684 à CPUs
October 29, 2013 10:44:25 AM

Hris112 said:
Total budget is €390:
Before I found out Phenoms were discontinued the components I had in mind were:

GIGABYTE 78LMT-S2
Phenom II X4 965
HD 7770
2x2GB 1600MHz RAM
500GB HDD
Corsair 550W VS
CM Elite 343

and those perfectly fit my budget, however I'll most likely have to change the motherboard and CPU now


What are the prices of the FX 4300 in your area? It has roughly the same performance at stock clocks as a PhII 965.
m
0
l
October 29, 2013 11:01:08 AM

logainofhades said:


What are the prices of the FX 4300 in your area? It has roughly the same performance at stock clocks as a PhII 965.


Well, in euro the difference is about €25 but convert that to my currency and the difference becomes 50 which is a little bit too much for me.
I've read that the FX-4300 is not a true 4 core CPU, not sure about that tho

also, how much can the lack of L3 cache damage performance? Because everything near or above 30 fps is completely playable for me
m
0
l
October 29, 2013 11:05:41 AM

das_stig said:
Lack of L3 cache does hurt performance.


Not enough to be noticed IMO

m
0
l

Best solution

a b 4 Gaming
a c 684 à CPUs
October 29, 2013 11:06:49 AM

Read this. It should help you out on your questions regarding L3 cache.
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/piledriver-k10-cpu-...

Should you decide to go with a 750/760k, I would try to get an FM2+ motherboard so you are capable of upgrading the CPU at a later date when Kaveri comes out. 760k is the best you will ever get with FM2.
Share
October 29, 2013 11:15:29 AM

logainofhades said:
Read this. It should help you out on your questions regarding L3 cache.
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/piledriver-k10-cpu-...

Should you decide to go with a 750/760k, I would try to get an FM2+ motherboard so you are capable of upgrading the CPU at a later date when Kaveri comes out.


Thanks for the article. I don't think I have much choice but to go with the 750k for now, I'm just not sure how long the FM2 will last me. Are there any upcoming gaming CPUs for that socket?
m
0
l
a b 4 Gaming
a c 684 à CPUs
October 29, 2013 11:20:57 AM

There chances that there will be any new CPU's for that socket is pretty much 0. FM2+ CPU's will be out early next year. That is why I recommended on trying to get an FM2+ board if you get a 750k. FM2+ is backwards compatible with FM2 CPU's.
m
0
l
October 29, 2013 11:25:18 AM

well, will an FM2 CPU work in a FM2+ socket? If that's so, then I'll be getting a FM2+ motherboard

ah ok, sorry. Didn't notice your edit
thanks for the help everybody
m
0
l
!