i7 965 Extreme Edition Overclock Help

Steven Clowry

Honorable
Mar 27, 2013
Hey, I'm completely new to overclocking but I know a lot about computers, I can't seem to find anything properly about overclock settings from the BIOS?

Could someone please tell me the settings for overclocking? It would help a lot.

My rig is;

Asus P6T SE Mobo
i7 965 Extreme Edition

Prety sure that is all you need?

Thanks a lot for looking :)

Jake Wenta

Honorable
Mar 13, 2013
You will NEVER get numbers to enter in the BIOS. It does not work that way. A 3770k will hit 5.2 ghz, and another 3770k will hit 4.8ghz. Different hardware and chips overclock differently. Just because it's the same model, does not mean they are the same. With that said, overclocking is taken in baby steps. You can't just throw in numbers and expect it to work, even if it worked for another person.
There are plenty of guides, do's and don'ts on this site and other where searching and reading stickies will be sufficient enough to inform you with all you need. There are also plenty of youtube tutorials.

try this to begin with..

http://lifehacker.com/5580998/a-beginners-guide-to-overclocking-your-intel-processor

with out specs of your system im sure alot of people would be hesitate to make calls that may or may not help you like I got a chevy my engine wont run that all the info you need your going to get a standard answer what kind made when whats in it ect ect. I dont like to make wild turkey calls on very little info.

Jake Wenta

Honorable
Mar 13, 2013

Seriously? He said i7 965 and Asus Motherboard...in the title and post. As for programs, OpenHardwareMonitor is a good one. For system information, all he needs to do is open msinfo32 or device manager.

seriously have you helped him oc yet? did you give him any insight or details ? you got a nice little oc on your rig.