Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question

£750 PC build - opinions and advice appreciated

Last response: in Systems
Share
November 2, 2013 4:46:09 AM

The PC is intended to run modern games, specifically Rome 2 and Shogun 2.

http://www.scan.co.uk/savedbasket/8d1969973a124b93b64d4...

As a novice I am concerned about a few points:
- General compatibility of components
- If the PSU is powerful enough
- Quality of GPU for Total War games - the higher the detail the better
- Is anything missing that I need
- Will everything fit in the case

Many thanks for anyones input. I am open to changes, additions or removals.
November 2, 2013 4:49:30 AM

760GTX needs at least 550W
m
0
l
Related resources
November 2, 2013 5:00:18 AM

You won't have problem with ROME II and Shogun 2 since I am both running on gtx560 on high settings well

However I am worried about the case, micro? The mobo has multi - GPU support so I am not sure if it will fit in that case.

Anyway I don't want to mislead you, wait for other opinions
m
0
l
November 2, 2013 5:04:13 AM

Thanks both.

The 600W corsair is now in the build.

Is the Samsung SSD considerably better than the Crucial? I would like to avoid waiting for it coming into stock.

Thanks for pointing out the case. Would either of you be able to recommend something more suitable?

Thank you.
m
0
l
November 2, 2013 5:05:55 AM

Since you're planning to game I make getting a 500GB+ storage hard drive a higher priority than a 120GB SSD. You'll find that the SSD will fill up relatively quickly. Personally, I run Windows, Office and couple of other small things on my SSD and have a 2TB hard drive for games and other stuff.

Thermal paste - typically required for installing a 3rd party cooler. Except you don't have a 3rd cooler listed, so I have to ask why thermal paste is listed.
m
0
l
November 2, 2013 5:07:16 AM

what resolution? do you have more storage, as 128 might allow you to install those 2 games and not much less. If you can stretch the extra £50 to the GTX770 you'd be much better off, you can save £15 by losing the MX4 (not needed the cooler will have a thermal pad on it and it's good enough for now, buy it when you get a better cooler for OCing), and dropping the blue ray down to a dvd RW. Do you intend to OC?

drop to a cheaper mobo http://www.scan.co.uk/products/asrock-z87m-pro4-intel-z...(x16)-d-sub-dvi-d-hdmi-micro and you'll be able to save another 20, which leaves you £15 shy of the difference to a 770. If you catch the daily deals right you'll get the price down.

http://www.scan.co.uk/products/fractal-design-core-1000...(s this might be a better case and cheaper too.

Yes this is forcing compromises, but they are compromises with little actual loss attached to them so that you can get a lot of benefit.
m
0
l
November 2, 2013 5:08:11 AM

Thank you Paul, I have removed the cooler paste. Will repost the basket if someone is kind enough to recommend a case.

I will look at getting a second harddrive when the initial SSD fills up. I want to minimise the cost initially and will expand with a data HDD at a later date. Thanks for mentioning it though.
m
0
l
November 2, 2013 5:09:40 AM

dave89 said:
Thank you Paul, I have removed the cooler paste. Will repost the basket if someone is kind enough to recommend a case.

I will look at getting a second harddrive when the initial SSD fills up. I want to minimise the cost initially and will expand with a data HDD at a later date. Thanks for mentioning it though.


see above
m
0
l
November 2, 2013 5:19:24 AM

Thank you 13thMonkey. I just missed your post.

The storage amount is something I am ok with at the moment. I have removed the paste, changed Mobo to your suggested one, changed the case, and chosen a GTX770 graphics card (is this a good one?) and downgraded to a DVD drive.

http://www.scan.co.uk/savedbasket/deaad8f2997b462ba8691...

Thank you for your input.

Envy14tpe - Thank you for the case recommendation.
m
0
l
November 2, 2013 5:20:55 AM

Extra info: I will be sticking to 1920 x 1080 for now and no overclocking plans.
m
0
l
November 2, 2013 5:36:05 AM

envy14tpe said:
Good thermal paste is necessary when you plan to overclock.


This is true. Except it also requires a half-decent 3rd party cooler. It's not the sort of thing you do with the stock cooler. As the OP hadn't listed a 3rd party cooler I merely queried why the paste was listed, he might've already had a cooler he planned to use on it. From him removing the paste I assume that he doesn't already have a cooler and that he doesn't plan to overclock.
m
0
l
November 2, 2013 5:37:28 AM

That's correct Paul. Do you think the rest of the build is looking good now?
m
0
l
November 2, 2013 6:00:32 AM

I didn't overclock with cheap thermal paste and would never recommend doing so.

Build looks much better. It's a smaller case so you might want to add some Corsair AF Quiet fans.
m
0
l
November 2, 2013 6:02:05 AM

Thank you envy. Thanks all.
m
0
l
November 2, 2013 6:45:15 AM

when you have a constrained budget (who doesn't) it's all in the compromises, but a 4670 and a 770 will always be good.
m
0
l
November 16, 2013 3:21:16 AM

I just posted a change. Do you really do that much editing? I'd really recommend the 8320 instead.

http://uk.pcpartpicker.com/p/237C8
CPU: AMD FX-8320 3.5GHz 8-Core Processor (£113.99 @ Aria PC)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler (£23.99 @ Amazon UK)
Motherboard: Asus M5A97 R2.0 ATX AM3+ Motherboard (£59.00 @ Amazon UK)
Memory: G.Skill Sniper Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1866 Memory (£72.58 @ Amazon UK)
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive (£46.42 @ CCL Computers)
Video Card: MSI Radeon R9 280X 3GB Video Card (£228.43 @ Dabs)
Case: Corsair 300R ATX Mid Tower Case (£58.98 @ CCL Computers)
Power Supply: Corsair CX 600W 80+ Bronze Certified Semi-Modular ATX Power Supply (£54.61 @ Amazon UK)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 8 (OEM) (64-bit) (£69.99 @ Ebuyer)
Total: £727.99
m
0
l
!