Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question
Solved

Please rate my first build. Need opinions and suggestions on case

Tags:
  • USB3
  • Homebuilt
  • PC gaming
  • Build
  • Motherboards
  • Cases
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
Share
November 7, 2013 3:29:19 AM

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/1YFzl

Full newbie to pc building here. I made this build from information from friends and some forums. Need opinions on it. Only encountered one problem :
"MSI 970A-G43 ATX AM3+ Motherboard has an onboard USB 3.0 header, but the Cooler Master HAF 922 ATX Mid Tower Case does not have front panel USB 3.0 ports."

If i look at the case it does say it has front panel usb 3.0 ports but the Compatibility notes still say it doesn't. Do i need another case ?? \

Please help

More about : rate build opinions suggestions case

a b V Motherboard
November 7, 2013 3:39:43 AM

Pretty solid, you may want to invest in a SSD later on!
m
0
l

Best solution

a b B Homebuilt system
a c 205 V Motherboard
November 7, 2013 3:45:04 AM

OK some changes that I would STRONGLY suggest.

1. Much better RAM at better price too.
2. MUCH better mobo at small cost extra. That MSI G45 is really crappy.
3. That chassis is overpriced and I would not suggest you get it. It also will not allow you to use front panel USB. So added a cheaper one with equal quality. This is something you can personalize obviously :D , but no point in going too expensive.
4. That PSU is not gonna cut it, its too low cost and does not really deliver 500W. So change that to MINIMUM I would suggest.

Sooo my suggestion :

PCPartPicker part list: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/1YG0b
Price breakdown by merchant: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/1YG0b/by_merchant/
Benchmarks: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/1YG0b/benchmarks/

CPU: AMD FX-6300 3.5GHz 6-Core Processor ($117.97 @ SuperBiiz)
Motherboard: Asus M5A97 LE R2.0 ATX AM3+ Motherboard ($69.99 @ Microcenter)
Memory: G.Skill Sniper Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1866 Memory ($68.00 @ Newegg)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($59.99 @ NCIX US)
Video Card: Sapphire Radeon R9 280X 3GB Video Card ($299.99 @ Amazon)
Case: Zalman Z11 Plus ATX Mid Tower Case ($49.99 @ Microcenter)
Power Supply: XFX 550W 80 PLUS Bronze Certified ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply ($55.98 @ Newegg)
Monitor: Asus VS239H-P 23.0" Monitor ($164.95 @ B&H)
Keyboard: Microsoft SIDEWINDER X4 Wired Gaming Keyboard ($49.99 @ Newegg)
Mouse: Gigabyte GM-M6900 Wired Optical Mouse ($19.99 @ Microcenter)
Total: $956.84
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2013-11-07 06:43 EST-0500)

Some things to consider. If you want to overclock, you need a cooler.
If you want to get a second 280X, then you need a 990FX chipset board.
Share
Related resources
a b B Homebuilt system
a c 205 V Motherboard
November 7, 2013 4:07:16 AM

+1 tot the above if you can afford it :D 
m
0
l
November 7, 2013 4:18:54 AM

Wow thank you guys. I really appreciate this.I like the changes you made but i dislike the case because of the blue leds. Already got a red mouse and a red backlit keyboard. If you have a suggestion for a reasonably prices Black or maybe red led case it would be perfect.
m
0
l
November 7, 2013 4:28:43 AM

Novuake said:
OK some changes that I would STRONGLY suggest.

1. Much better RAM at better price too.
2. MUCH better mobo at small cost extra. That MSI G45 is really crappy.
3. That chassis is overpriced and I would not suggest you get it. It also will not allow you to use front panel USB. So added a cheaper one with equal quality. This is something you can personalize obviously :D , but no point in going too expensive.
4. That PSU is not gonna cut it, its too low cost and does not really deliver 500W. So change that to MINIMUM I would suggest.

Sooo my suggestion :

PCPartPicker part list: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/1YG0b
Price breakdown by merchant: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/1YG0b/by_merchant/
Benchmarks: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/1YG0b/benchmarks/

CPU: AMD FX-6300 3.5GHz 6-Core Processor ($117.97 @ SuperBiiz)
Motherboard: Asus M5A97 LE R2.0 ATX AM3+ Motherboard ($69.99 @ Microcenter)
Memory: G.Skill Sniper Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1866 Memory ($68.00 @ Newegg)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($59.99 @ NCIX US)
Video Card: Sapphire Radeon R9 280X 3GB Video Card ($299.99 @ Amazon)
Case: Zalman Z11 Plus ATX Mid Tower Case ($49.99 @ Microcenter)
Power Supply: XFX 550W 80 PLUS Bronze Certified ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply ($55.98 @ Newegg)
Monitor: Asus VS239H-P 23.0" Monitor ($164.95 @ B&H)
Keyboard: Microsoft SIDEWINDER X4 Wired Gaming Keyboard ($49.99 @ Newegg)
Mouse: Gigabyte GM-M6900 Wired Optical Mouse ($19.99 @ Microcenter)
Total: $956.84
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2013-11-07 06:43 EST-0500)

Some things to consider. If you want to overclock, you need a cooler.
If you want to get a second 280X, then you need a 990FX chipset board.





About the 990FX chipboard. I would consider this so if in the future i want a second graphics card. Do you have any suggestions?
m
0
l
November 7, 2013 4:56:04 AM

Novuake said:
http://pcpartpicker.com/part/asus-motherboard-m5a99fxpr...

That one. Keep in mind you will need to get at least a quality 750W PSU for 2 280X aswell. But worry about that later.


Thank you. Just one more question :)  Will the price of a cpu cooler be reasonable to what overclocking will bring me=

m
0
l
a b B Homebuilt system
a c 205 V Motherboard
November 7, 2013 4:57:36 AM

It depends on how much you want to OC, a decent Hyper 212 EVO costs only like 30$. If you want to OC a bit more then you need to spend 70$.
:) 

Again, this can all be added in time when you feel the CPU starts lacking and you need that extra boost.
m
0
l
November 7, 2013 5:11:27 AM

Novuake said:
It depends on how much you want to OC, a decent Hyper 212 EVO costs only like 30$. If you want to OC a bit more then you need to spend 70$.
:) 

Again, this can all be added in time when you feel the CPU starts lacking and you need that extra boost.



Huh so i got this currently :
http://pcpartpicker.com/p/1YGAu

but i'm still getting the error message for the USB3:
Asus M5A99FX PRO R2.0 ATX AM3+ Motherboard has an onboard USB 3.0 header, but the Cooler Master HAF 912 ATX Mid Tower Case does not have front panel USB 3.0 ports.

m
0
l
a b B Homebuilt system
a c 205 V Motherboard
November 7, 2013 5:17:50 AM

Like I said, that HAF case does not have front panel USBs, you can still use the backpanel though.

There are adapters that you can add to the case that will allow you to use front panel USB3 headers if youu REALLY like that case. Otherwise change to a case with front panel USB3.
m
0
l
!