Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question
Solved

Opinion on First Gaming PC Build

Last response: in Systems
Share
November 16, 2013 2:32:18 PM

Hello, I've finally put together all the parts for my first gaming pc (virtually, I still need a good bit of money).
My questions for you are the following: 1.What is your overall opinion of my build? 2.Are all these parts compatible and do they fit together (ex:D oes the ram fit with the cpu cooler, does the cpu cooler fit the case etc). 3. How reputable are the vendors that pcpartpicker chose? I understand they are the lowest prices, but I would like to know if any of them have bad return policies or other negatives.

That's all I can think of for now. Thanks!

http://pcpartpicker.com/user/Lagiacrus/saved/2Q3Q

More about : opinion gaming build

a c 391 4 Gaming
a c 144 V Motherboard
a b } Memory
a c 118 U Graphics card
November 16, 2013 3:20:13 PM

For gaming this build needs some work.

Get an i5 not an i7. They perform identical in games. The i7 is a waste of money.
You should go with Haswell simply because it is a newer non-dead socket.
You don't need a full tower. It will just be noisy and huge. A regular mid-tower will be perfect. The Phantom 410 is awesome.
The PSU is overkill. The 650w verion would be more than enough.
USe all the saved money to get a better GPU possibly.
m
0
l
November 17, 2013 12:43:21 PM

The case and psu can be used for later builds, the processor is overkill a bit, but I'm willing in that area. Does anyone else have an opinion, or an answer to the other questions? Thanks.
m
0
l
Related resources
November 17, 2013 1:09:00 PM

I read before that Haswell wasn't very suited for pc gaming, more for laptops.
m
0
l
a b 4 Gaming
November 17, 2013 1:15:46 PM

Lagiacrus said:
I read before that Haswell wasn't very suited for pc gaming, more for laptops.


Don't think there is any truth to that. Out of the box Haswell is about 10% faster than ivy-bridge.
m
0
l

Best solution

November 17, 2013 1:19:39 PM

Don't believe everything you read, haha. The 4670k gets the job done for me. No extra transistors for graphics, (Theyre mute in a rig with a decent graphics card) and four, beefy physical cores. Other than that, you picked a solid cooler, case, drives, RAM, etc... but I wouldnt go with a 770 either. Probably one of the new 290s from AMD. And windows 8 is a nightmare for gaming, imo.
Share
a b 4 Gaming
a b U Graphics card
November 17, 2013 1:33:56 PM

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i5-4670K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor ($225.99 @ NCIX US)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($29.98 @ OutletPC)
Motherboard: ASRock Z87 Extreme4 ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($119.99 @ Microcenter)
Memory: Patriot Viper 3 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($77.98 @ Amazon)
Storage: Samsung 840 EVO 120GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($99.00 @ Amazon)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($59.94 @ Amazon)
Video Card: Asus GeForce GTX 780 3GB Video Card ($499.99 @ Amazon)
Case: Corsair 400R ATX Mid Tower Case ($69.99 @ Newegg)
Case Fan: Corsair Air Series SP120 High Performance Edition (2-Pack) 62.7 CFM 120mm Fans ($24.99 @ Newegg)
Case Fan: Corsair Air Series SP120 High Performance Edition (2-Pack) 62.7 CFM 120mm Fans ($24.99 @ Newegg)
Power Supply: Corsair Enthusiast 750W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply ($69.99 @ Newegg)
Optical Drive: Asus DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS DVD/CD Writer ($18.98 @ OutletPC)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 8.1 - OEM (64-bit) ($97.98 @ OutletPC)
Total: $1419.79
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2013-11-17 16:39 EST-0500)

buy this one not that one its much better gaming focused rig.
m
0
l
November 17, 2013 2:55:56 PM

As this post on another thread points out "sure there's a new socket, but you're not looking to upgrade within a year or two right? so "future proof" goes out the window because 3 or 4 years down the road, Intel will definitely have a new socket again. so regardless of whether you buy Haswell or Ivy bridge, that CPU and Mobo are going out the window when you upgrade down the road. Also, even if the socket stays the same, it doesn't mean you'll get all the new features of a new chipset. for instance when Sandy upgraded to Ivy on socket 1155, you only got PCIe 3.0 support if you also bought an Ivy bridge CPU. so yeah, don't worry about the sockets."

I don't want to upgrade my mobo in a year, so I think the cheaper Ivy-bridge would be better. Feel free to point out anything wrong with that.

Besides the Haswell mobo/cpu, is the gpu the only other problem you guys picked out? I kinda piecemealed this virtual build over 5 months, so I chose my gpu before the whole price lowering fiasco. Anyway, help is appreciated, thank you. :) 
m
0
l
November 18, 2013 3:41:14 PM

Is the gpu the only part I really need to update, and if so, can anyone guide me through the new events with amd and nvidia cards?
Thanks.
m
0
l
November 18, 2013 8:51:08 PM

Well, after looking at the dropped prices cards a little, I think I'll go with nvidia, I don't really want to deal with the heat issues on the r9 290/290x (unless there is a better cooled version out there).

Question time: here are 4 cards that I've found after 5 mins of browsing. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

P.S. What's the difference between the two gigabyte cards?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

Gracias. :) 
m
0
l
!