FX 6300 vs 8350?

dragonborn123

Honorable
Nov 19, 2013
I'm looking to build a budget rig, used exclusively for gaming. My ultimate goal is to build the best cost/performance rig possible, around ~$800 at max. However, if it's worth it, I do have a little more room in my budget.

Here is my build, if that's necessary to make a conclusion: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/26ebM

Basically, I just would like to hear opinions on whether the 8350 is worth the extra $80 compared to the 6300. The 6300 looks to be a great value, and I think it should age fairly well (maybe get me ~2-3 years of decent gaming?). But the 8350 does have quite a performance edge, even if the cost/performance ratio isn't nearly as good. Also, I shouldn't need the extra couple cores for just gaming, so it does seem to be somewhat of a waste.

The X-factor in all of this is Mantle. I'm not a Mantle expert, and I haven't really read up on it as much as I should have, but with support for up to 8 cores, could it leapfrog the 8350 over the 6300 in terms of value? Obviously they would both get a boost, but the 8350 should get a much more substantial one.

Anyway, let me know what you think about getting the most bang for my buck. Thanks in advance for any and all advice!

Solution
I would say more important is to get a Coolermaster 212 Evo or better as you need to overclock the FX CPUs to get the most from them and its a bitch to install one later As for Mantle I don't think anyone knows what impact it will have, it could flop and do nothing or be amazing.

dragonborn123

Honorable
Nov 19, 2013

Yeah, Mantle does seem to be a huge mystery, but with it coming out right around the corner I thought I'd ask and see if anyone knows something specific. But probably not likely.

My plan regarding cooling was to wait until my performance dropped off a bit, and then look to get an aftermarket cooler and start OCing. Is that not advisable?

CplusPlus2

Honorable
Nov 17, 2013