Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question
Solved

What are the opinions on the best web browser?

Last response: in Applications
Share
November 29, 2013 10:54:05 PM

I have used web browsers starting with Netscape, running Windows 95...in 1996...up to IE10 on my current fastest machine. I am so tired of Google and Internet Explorer I could just...well...ok...let's not get violent here. Can someone please tell me their opinion on the available web browsers?

More about : opinions web browser

Best solution

November 29, 2013 11:09:08 PM

Two words Mozilla Firefox!
Share
November 29, 2013 11:13:15 PM

I've used Google Chrome for the longest time. It's a really easy browser to navigate through, but it hogs SO MUCH MEMORY.
I recently switched over to Firefox and the speed is amazing.

FIREFOX!
m
0
l
Related resources
November 29, 2013 11:16:23 PM

Jessepog said:
Two words Mozilla Firefox!


OK. I've used it before. I first used it when I installed Ubuntu 2 or 3. t is worth revisiting and I ain't skeered to do it. Thank you for the suggestion and if you have any additional info or advice for using Mozilla Firefox I would welcome that info.
m
0
l
November 29, 2013 11:22:36 PM

dopeysaidso said:
I've used Google Chrome for the longest time. It's a really easy browser to navigate through, but it hogs SO MUCH MEMORY.
I recently switched over to Firefox and the speed is amazing.

FIREFOX!


I have used Chrome also. I too found it to be a memory hog. What I really don't like about Google these days is now they are nothing but adware and personal information hogs that want to track you, gear advertising to you based on your searches. I don't need that kind of "friend".
m
0
l
November 30, 2013 6:34:10 PM

i myself prefer chrome.

it may be a memory hog but what isnt nowdays? most systems are rocking 6-8gb of ram so why does it matter so much.

you do realize that you can block ads with adblock or other apps extensions right? i havent seen a single ad for a long time.

sure it might tailor advertising to your searches and while i agree that is a bit creepy at least the advertising might interest you. its not like i'm searching for anything on google which would come up as strange ads so it doesnt really bother me.

the minimalist look, start screen and search http: bar are what keep me coming back. oh and the fact that out of all the browsers it has proven (at least on my machine) to be the fastest. firefox has always been a turtle. even ie was beating it on page loads.
m
0
l
December 2, 2013 1:09:11 AM

Any of the main ones are fine...they all do about the same (although I really don't like IE all that much). I use the torch browser a lot just because it makes downloading videos and torrent files a breeze. So it really all depends what you're looking for.
m
0
l
December 2, 2013 2:55:16 AM

i use google chrome and imo it is working great for me.
m
0
l
December 2, 2013 10:42:55 AM

I too use chrome and I love it. My PC at home has 16 GB memory. If it makes my browsing experience is better, use all the memory you can imo...

Opera is the only other big name I know (besides safari) not mentioned above. I have used Opera and it is good for certain niche tasks (like having tons of tabs and switching between them at phenomenal speeds). But as I said, I prefer chrome.
m
0
l
December 3, 2013 1:33:00 AM

ive used opera too. it is good. My office laptop has firefox.

They are ok ish. not bad but chrome is better.
m
0
l
!