~1000$ (CAD) PC gaming rig, specific questions about multiple components (RAM, GPU, CPU)

Corrupted-Sanity

Honorable
Dec 1, 2013
I found the template thread so I'll just use that. Should make it easier to organize my thoughts, because I'm getting a little confused with the various parts. I'm new at this, never built a computer before.
EDIT: And I suppose I should specify that I'm looking for suggestions on what parts to use. I have no idea what to look for in things like the power supply, hard drive, motherboard and the... Uhh, part where you put disks into in a finished computer, the name of which I do not know.

I have a few ideas on what parts I might use, which I guess I'll list at the bottom.

Approximate Purchase Date: Probably in the next week (I'm hoping I might catch some sales with cyber monday and all that)

Budget Range: 800-1000$

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, I might watch a movie or something occasionally

Are you buying a monitor: No

Do you need to buy OS: Yes

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: I was looking at the local Futureshop sites, but it looks like sites like Newegg.ca and Amazon.ca have better prices for some things.

Parts Preferences: Nothing in particular. I've been looking at Intel CPUs and the Nvidia graphics cards the most since their numbering systems have been easier to understand than AMD's.

Overclocking: Probably not.

SLI or Crossfire: I don't know if I understand this - is it being able to have multiple graphics cards? If so, probably not.

Your Monitor Resolution: 1366x768

Additional Comments: I'd like to be able to run things on high/highish graphics, but I certainly don't need ultra-powerful everything. I've heard that noise level of the parts is important to some people; I don't really care as long as it's not screeching and drowning everything out.